We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mountain View B&B

7 Talcennau Road, Port Talbot SA13 1SH, Wales
Save
You added Mountain View B&B to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.

31 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    10
    9
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (10)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (11)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two night s before a local cycle ride. Friendly owners, clean comfortable rooms and a shared well equipped kitchen. Add to this fantastic value for money and it is an ideal place to stay in the area. I will stay again if ever in the area

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed with a group of friends in the garden house , ideal for our needs and very cheap perfect if you like us where riding the dragon ride or similar . We would all stay at mountain view again .Advertised as a b&b which it isn't, so bring food and make the most of the kitchen as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Hi Adam. We're very glad we were able to provide you with a comfortable place to stay for the Dragon Ride. At the time of booking, we did inform you that the stay would be "room only" and that you were welcome to bring your own food and use the kitchen or walk five minutes down to Wetherspoons or other... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed two nights for the Dragon Ride this year. The room was clean & very comfortable and we had secure bike parking in an outdoor shed. Friendly owners and lovely dogs. Fantastic value for money - glad we chose to stay here and would definitely stay again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Hi there Matt. Thank you so much for your kind words. We're so glad we are able to provide you with a comfortable place and bike storage. We'll look forward to seeing you again next year. eli More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

I stayed here in a group of 5 whilst on a mountain biking weekend at Afan Forest. After reading the reviews I was very sceptical about booking and the recent "Hotel Inspector" episode also didn't fill me with confidence. On arrival we were greeted by the dogs (very friendly) and the owner. We went into the main house which did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
jonahlewie, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It's a shame that you were disappointed in not having breakfast with us. Our cost cutting measures for guests were clearly explained to you beforehand and you were okay with that when you made your booking. As you said, a kitchen was provided for you. You had very good value for your £20 per person,... More 

worcestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

had booked a one night stay,wanted dog friendly and it most certainly was! Greeted at the gate by a friendly face and 2 over friendly dogs, abit of a mission to just get through the gate let alone into the b&b. Was firstly asked if our dog shed hair...not sure if we would have been turned away if we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 81
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

What a shame this couple did not enjoy their 10 minutes here. As it turned out, our dogs did happen to be out when they arrived and they were greeted with excitement as they had a dog with them. Our dogs were quickly brought into the property so their entrance would be quieter. They were asked if their dog shed... More 

Travelers are raving about these Port Talbot hotels

Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

We came to Port Talbot to visit friends and stayed at this lovely American style B&B in the middle of Wales. The owners, Eli and Lisa, were so helpful and friendly and they have the most adorable new puppy and beautiful older dog, both of whom greeted us with affection. We had a limited budget and this B&B provided us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

i visited it with my 2 boys 1 of which has special needs staying in the garden house and was politely asked to leave due to them being loud and crying would definately not recommend to anyone with children

Was this review helpful? Yes 98
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

We were very distressed to have to request that this mother and her two children leave the B&B. They were in the Garden House, so when the other guests in that house came to me hesitantly to ask for help as the children were running up and down the stairs, bouncing balls against the other guests doors, banging and screaming... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

looks like an average family home from the outside so we decided would be nice and cosy. on arrival we were invited into the hallway, where the absolutly appauling smell of dog and fousty air was enough to make us leave again. I cannot explain how bad the smell was wouldn't want to sleep lety alone eat there. Avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 69
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

We have just read this review which has taken our breathe away. We have not had any guests arrive and leave. We question the validity of this review. If the reviewer or Trip Advisor would like to get in touch with us directly, we would be happy to discuss this situation with them. I hope people know enough not to... More 

Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in the town house of Mountain View for 7 nights in late October 2013, so I can give an accurate impression of this poor establishment. I cannot comment on the main house or the beach house. On arriving Eli informed me that the previous guests had broken the spine of the bed and to go easy on it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 85
elizie65, Owner at Mountain View B&B, responded to this review

I am so sorry that Chris did not enjoy his stay at our Town House. Upon calling us to enquire about booking, he, like all others, was given a number of options of different types of accommodation we offer. All are clearly described. Chris chose our cheapest option and was made aware that the property had a shared kitchenette and... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Three of us stayed here for a weekend trip to Afan Forest mountain biking... Upon arrival we were met by Eli and her 2 huge dogs and welcomed into her main house to check in and pay for our room. We were given a tick sheet for selecting our breakfast for the next morning (Full Welsh, American etc) and told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Amenities