We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Phalaborwa hotels

Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sefapane Lodge and Safaris to your Saves list
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
85%
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Phalaborwa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
xavierfrance Paris
  • Overview
  • Reviews (100)
  • Photos (120)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (9)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    42
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
31
45
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is extremely convenient, close from the entrance of the Kruger park and an alternative if you did not find accommodation in the park (at least for a first night). Price is still reasonable at international standard. Bungalows are ok, but need renovation. Despite the "lodge" aspect of the site, do not expect a peaceful night. The lodge is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The lodge is located near Phalaborwa gate. We had a huge chalet but stayed only one night, therefore we could not use the offered safari packages. We had no issues during our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was o.k.. Before booking that hotel, you should be aware, that from the gate to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Wulf Thank you for taking the time to write a review, the lodge has a lot to offer, from our Main pool and the Pool side bar to the Estate pool and child friendly play area at the 2 lakes on our property. On your next visit we do hope you take the opportunity to go on a Safari... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Sefapane Lodge is the place to go for a long term Krugerpark stay. About 2 km from the Krugerpark gate, it has 20 fantastic family houses and 30 hotel rooms "rondavels". There is a kids club, 2 swimming pools, beautiful gardens and a great restaurant and spa.They offer a fantastic range of safaris and cultural trips. It is the place... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sharon B, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Arnold Thank you for your positive review with regards to Sefapane Lodge & Safaris, our focus is to accommodate couples, groups and mostly families here at our Lodge. We have many activities to keep the whole family entertained and occupied form Safaris, Cultural tours, BlydeRiver Canyon tours and Animal rehab tours, all to make your stay with us even... More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed 5 nights in order to explore the Kruger National Parc. We had a nice rondavel overlooking a small lake. Room and bathroom were OK and clean, but rather old. The nearby cobber mine had a lot of heavy truck traffic, night and day, which meant we had an awful lot of noise. Breakfast buffet and restaurant were good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Visited here on business recently and thought it a great pity that I could not stay longer as it is on the doorstep of the Kruger Park. The single rondawels are comfortable and set in a park-like area with enough space for privacy. The bar menu was good - and the salad I chose enormous. Just one warning - take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Tranchie-Tess, Thank you for taking the time to review Sefapane Lodge & Safaris on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you may have the opportunity to return again in the future when a longer stay might enable you to enjoy the Park and the region. Safari greetings The Sefapane... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I came here expecting your typical "lodge" and was totally blown away. Firstly the size of this place is a surprise. The lodge is ideally situated next to the Kruger National Park and it boasts a spar, swimming pool and a bar by the pool. My lodgings were acceptable. The bed is too huge though, made me wish I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear kgosanad, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our lodge on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Tusk Bar is indeed a lovely little hangout and although Misava Masages is not a full service spa, they do offer a fantastic massage after a long day on safari! We... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is good and very well located as it is only 1 km from the entrance of the Kruger Park. They didn't have internet en the bungalow we rented and that was very disappointing. Very useful for big groups as the houses can accommodate easily 8 people. The safari they organised for us was ok aswell

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Sarmiento26, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you had in your Rondavel relating to the internet connection during you stay. We are constantly working to improve this area of the guest experience. Phalaborwa is a big town, but definitely not up to standard with high-speed, reliable internet connections yet.... More

netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As frequent visitors of sefapane we came to know about the new place they have. It is in a gorgeous turn of the Olifants river and is small with 5 rondavels sleeping a maximum of 10 people. It is in every sense a gem. Rooms are great, food delicious and most of all the views are beyond spectacular. The game... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is well-located and reasonably priced; however, the first room we were given had dirty sheets and there was a large gecko in the room. We requested a new room and the friendly hotel staff obliged. The wifi didn't work in either of our rooms and the signal strength was poor at the lobby as well - this may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. Firstly, please accept our sincere apology for the less than satisfactory experience you had with dirty sheets in your room. We are however pleased to see that the staff rectified this immediately. Sefapane Lodge is unique in our grading in that... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place was perfect! It's close to Phalaborwa Kruger gate. We stayed in a chalet, it was spacious.... They had everything we needed from the free wifi to the DSTV which had all the channels. The kitchen was fulky stocked with crockery, cultray and utensals! It was very practical for large families! The decor is beautiful.mSefapane is reasonably priced and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Kogoshoko, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the lodge in the not too distant future. Warm regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodge & Safaris! More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sefapane Lodge and Safaris staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer