We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Phalaborwa B&Bs / inns

Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Sefapane Lodge and Safaris to your Saves list
Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
84%
Ranked #5 of 21 Phalaborwa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Lars A Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Overview
  • Reviews (97)
  • Photos (118)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
44
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed 5 nights in order to explore the Kruger National Parc. We had a nice rondavel overlooking a small lake. Room and bathroom were OK and clean, but rather old. The nearby cobber mine had a lot of heavy truck traffic, night and day, which meant we had an awful lot of noise. Breakfast buffet and restaurant were good,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited here on business recently and thought it a great pity that I could not stay longer as it is on the doorstep of the Kruger Park. The single rondawels are comfortable and set in a park-like area with enough space for privacy. The bar menu was good - and the salad I chose enormous. Just one warning - take... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Tranchie-Tess, Thank you for taking the time to review Sefapane Lodge & Safaris on Trip Advisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much and hope that you may have the opportunity to return again in the future when a longer stay might enable you to enjoy the Park and the region. Safari greetings The Sefapane... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I came here expecting your typical "lodge" and was totally blown away. Firstly the size of this place is a surprise. The lodge is ideally situated next to the Kruger National Park and it boasts a spar, swimming pool and a bar by the pool. My lodgings were acceptable. The bed is too huge though, made me wish I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear kgosanad, Thank you for taking the time to post a review on our lodge on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Tusk Bar is indeed a lovely little hangout and although Misava Masages is not a full service spa, they do offer a fantastic massage after a long day on safari! We... More

Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

The hotel is good and very well located as it is only 1 km from the entrance of the Kruger Park. They didn't have internet en the bungalow we rented and that was very disappointing. Very useful for big groups as the houses can accommodate easily 8 people. The safari they organised for us was ok aswell

Was this review helpful? Yes
IzelleBarnard, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Sarmiento26, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you had in your Rondavel relating to the internet connection during you stay. We are constantly working to improve this area of the guest experience. Phalaborwa is a big town, but definitely not up to standard with high-speed, reliable internet connections yet.... More

netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

As frequent visitors of sefapane we came to know about the new place they have. It is in a gorgeous turn of the Olifants river and is small with 5 rondavels sleeping a maximum of 10 people. It is in every sense a gem. Rooms are great, food delicious and most of all the views are beyond spectacular. The game... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is well-located and reasonably priced; however, the first room we were given had dirty sheets and there was a large gecko in the room. We requested a new room and the friendly hotel staff obliged. The wifi didn't work in either of our rooms and the signal strength was poor at the lobby as well - this may... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Mike M, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. Firstly, please accept our sincere apology for the less than satisfactory experience you had with dirty sheets in your room. We are however pleased to see that the staff rectified this immediately. Sefapane Lodge is unique in our grading in that... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This place was perfect! It's close to Phalaborwa Kruger gate. We stayed in a chalet, it was spacious.... They had everything we needed from the free wifi to the DSTV which had all the channels. The kitchen was fulky stocked with crockery, cultray and utensals! It was very practical for large families! The decor is beautiful.mSefapane is reasonably priced and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Kogoshoko, Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the lodge in the not too distant future. Warm regards from all of us at Sefapane Lodge & Safaris! More

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Do not expect 5 star luxury at Sefapane, however it is most certainly worth the money. Our rondavel was neat and tidy, and all was in working order. If you do require a more luxurious stay, rather book one of the safari houses. We made use of the morning safari. Our guide Patrick was knowledgeable about the animals and plants... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, Thank you for your review of Sefapane Lodge on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear about the mix up with your booking, we have also set the wheels in motion from our side to investigate the fact that the online travel agent you used did not pull the booking through to our system and perhaps we can... More

Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is superb. From Sefapane you enter Kruger park in a couple of minutes. Distance from Hans Merensky golf is close. Sefapane offers you a perfect stay for recreation or adventure. At the desk you can register for several activities in the park. Restaurant and bar are good. Swimmingpool connects with the bar.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Wil-P, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for the compliment on our location and facilities. The lodge is indeed well positioned to offer a fantastic base from which to explore Kruger and the region. We will also pass your positive comments regarding the restaurant and bar to our staff who work in... More

Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Sefapane Lodge is located very near to one of the Kruger gates. The staff is very friendly. The accommodation is wonderful. Really, Sefapane Lodge is the best choice you can make! When you like birds, Sefapane Lodge is the best accommodation to stay, since there are more than 100 species on the lodge. Especially during the breeding season, it's very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Izelle N, Public Relations Manager at Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, responded to this review

Dear Marguerite, Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the variety of birds that call our landscaped gardens and dams their home. We are indeed spoilt for choice in the breeding season. Thank you for the selection of images you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Sefapane Lodge and Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Sefapane Lodge and Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefapane Lodge and Safaris

Address: Koper Road | Off R71, Phalaborwa 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Phalaborwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefapane Lodge and Safaris 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sefapane Lodge and Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefapane Lodge And Safaris Hotel Phalaborwa

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (94)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
1:47
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
At only 1km from the Kruger Park, Sefapane is a green oasis with large indigenous trees and beautiful tropical gardens, offering thatched rondavels and luxurious self catering Safari houses, an excellent a la carte restaurant and swimming pool with sunken bar. Full day, evening, walking and river safari are organised by the lodge either in the Kruger Park or their Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger National Park. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer