We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 24 Kumarakom hotels

Backwater Ripples

3.0 of 5 Spa   |   Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Backwater Ripples to your Saves list
Backwater Ripples
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
77%
Ranked #13 of 24 hotels in Kumarakom
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
dandelichalet Dandeli, India
  • Overview
  • Reviews (224)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (200)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (75)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    102
    31
    16
    8
See reviews for
89
92
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dandeli, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This resort is in very good location with scenic view of backwater. Really one can remember Kerala very well staying here. Swimming pool is just next to backwater in excellent place. There is big place to sit and relax next to swimming pool where one can enjoy watching houseboats and boats. Restaurant is big and variety food in Buffet choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Liked the place very much. Every thing was good.Room was well designed with a really beautiful view from sit-out. Food quality, was good. Ayurveda service was also good.Overall service and the attitude to take care of guests impressed us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

They say 13 Lake View rooms but there is actually only one. Unless you specify the room from the picture you will not have a view of the lake. The lake view rooms according to the listing have many things and definitely do not include bath robes, slippers, sky view bathroom or a bathtub and separate shower. Room 117 is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed with the resort last month with my family, was a decent stay food can be better and the co ordination among the staff could be better. other wise all together a good stay with some good time in the pool my baby enjoyed a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good rooms - very helpful with a 6month baby in tow. The ayurvedic spa was great; food at the restaurant was very nice with a great selection. Had a thoroughyl enjoyable 3 day stay at Backwater Ripples

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

we recently traveled to kumarakom and as suggested by chrison holidays we have selected backwater ripples resort. This resort is just facing towards the vast backwaters of Kerala. The location was amazing and so beautiful. We can just jump into the backwater like that only the resort located. Even though the food was very expensive, we enjoyed it. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The resort is set beside the Vembanad Lake and it has a very relaxing and laid-back surroundings. The garden is well-maintained and the restaurant staff try their best to assist although they can be a little confused at times. However, the rooms are not very well cleaned and maintained. On our first night of arrival, we were desperate for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Vadodara, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed in hotel with my family for 2 days. The resort is located at the bank of backwaters. The ambiance of the resort is very peaceful and natural. All the rooms are surrounded by nice gardens. Resort have all the necessary amenities as well as facilities such as cycling, swimming pool, heath club, table tennis room, carom, etc. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for opting to stay with us and reviewing our resort We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the ambiance, food and the other services provided during the stay. Your good words are definitely a motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples. Please note that we compelled to end the sunset cruise at 06pm... More

Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in Nov13. It is a very peaceful and calm resort with clean environment and helpful staff. Lake facing rooms are excellent and have very good views. Food is nice. Spa and Ayurvedic doctor is nice. Don't miss full body massage, its very relaxing. Complimentary sunset cruise is also OK. We did not stayed in House... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for opting to stay with us on your recent visit to Kumarakom and reviewing our resort. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed the ambiance, and other services. Your good words will be a great motivation for all of us in Backwater Ripples Kumarakom. As guest feedback goes a long way in... More

Trivandrum
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Location is pretty good near to the lake but the rooms are poorly maintained and service is also poor. It seems the resort is interested in attending to the banquet guests and have not much interest in other guests. There were some big events going on in the banqueting area during that time. The Lake view cottage which we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kumarakomIndia, Guest Relations Manager at Backwater Ripples, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying with us and taking time to review our resort. However we regret that your expectations were not meet in some areas and you did not had the perfect stay experience. Kindly accept my unconditional and sincere apology for the same.. We had already initiated steps to avoid such incidents in future and... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Backwater Ripples, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Kumarakom with
any amenities

Been to Backwater Ripples? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backwater Ripples

Address: Kumarakom PO, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Backwater Ripples 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Backwater Ripples reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kumarakom
Backwater Ripples Hotel Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kottayam
Backwater Ripples Kumarakom, Kerala

200 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (155)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (29)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
2:39
Videos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#10 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backwater Ripples offers 34 luxury independent cottages in a variety of styles to cater various requirements. The accommodation is spacious, private and superbly appointed with state of the art designer amenities and personalized services. The resort has wide range of facilities to make sure a comfort and memorable stay in our resort. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
34

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer