We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backwater Retreat Theme House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel website
Aymanam, Near Pulikuttissery Bridge, (7km from Kottayam) | Kottayam, Kumarakom 686015, India
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

if u r looking for budgeted hotel in Kumarakom area, do not break u r head to search anymore. this is the very good hotel. Though location is little odd but its surrouned by trees and canal. For is it was a pleasant stay.Awesome food and very co-operative staffs..

Helpful?
Thank gireesh2016
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm shocked that people have given this place brilliant reviews. I'm not a "5 star" kind of traveler and usually look for off beat quaint places. With this in mind I chose Backwater retreat. On arrival, the place was uninhabitable and the service was terrible. We arrived on a blistering hot day, and they didn't even have cold water or... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jubilee1976
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and I was expecting this from you. We do not have liquor permit. You were asking for alcohol and we did not able to serve you. We arranged an auto for you to go a bar hotel and after you came back you were misbehaved to our staff which we could not tolerate........ More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was on boat called Kartika. It was very clean. No smelly pesticides. Excellent deck furniture and room also. And the boat staff made excellent coffee. I had vegetarian food which was delicious. I was recommended this by a friend and I will definately recommend this to anyone seeking a houseboat in backwaters.

Helpful?
Thank aniieeee
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Backwater Retreat Theme House!!!! Thank you for sharing your experiance at our House Boat . We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwataer Retreat House Boat . More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We liked our stay at backwater retreat. Unfortunately we only had one night here, but it was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and accomodating preparing tasty meals for us. The owner kindly organised a boat trip in a small motorised boat despite peak time and general unavaialability of boats and even dropped us free of charge at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Enjoyed our stay here for a night! The complete hotel has wooden finishings which makes you feel different from other hotels. The food here is homely, but breakfast is limited! For first timers, locating this hotel would be little difficult, since Google maps show us wrong routing, would recommend to call the hotel staff.

Helpful?
Thank Govinda1989
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Greetings from Backwater Retreat; Thank you for sharing your experiance at Backwater Retreat. We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwater Retreat. More 

Vasai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2015

This hotel is just adjacent to the backwater. A little far from the city and bit difficult to locate for first timer. Hotel is constructed as per traditional kerala style. Greenery around. But only flip side is limited choice for food which is also expensive.

Helpful?
Thank Vivek A
horwich
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

Stayed 2 nights here on our Kerala trip. Place is a little isolated but very relaxed and peaceful. Great staff and the young guy cooks really nice home style food. Loved the butter chicken. Glad we stayed here and would return. Thanks guys

Helpful?
Thank peteandkaren
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Greetings from Backwater Retreat; Thank you for sharing your experiance at Backwater Retreat. We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwater Retreat. More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2015

i had a lovely stay at the Backwaters Retreat. Upon arriving I was greeted by Mr. Kurian and Mr. Navil, who both bent over backwards to accommodate me during my stay. I was offered my choice of rooms, and the A/C was blessedly powerful. My room had teak wood floors and wifi. The bathroom was basic but with a western... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTrails2069
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Greetings from Backwater Retreat; Thank you for sharing your experiance at Backwater Retreat. We are delighted to know that the services rendered were up to your expectations. Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Backwater Retreat. More 

Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2015

Nice hospitality nd roomsMust stay at this hotel 🏩 for backwater boat lover..mr Kurian is highly supporting. Rooms are clean, tasty north Indian Breakfast nd all visiting places are nearby...peaceful place to njjy... Thnnxxxx Mr.Kurian a lot fr ur guidance..Wish to visit again....

Helpful?
Thank SamVarghese
Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

We actually booked and paid advance for 2 days directly to Mr. Kurian (owner) himself and confirmed back the booking and acknowledgement of payment, but on check in, we were informed that room is only available for 1 night and offered some compensation by way of discount for the inconvenience caused and to compensate the mistake on his part. On... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank nd251015
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review.I have informed you that 2nd day we can give 1 room on the 1st floor and one room on the ground floor. That they did not like it and asked me to find another property for the 2nd day. I had arranged another property and they stayed there. Now what type compensation he... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

133 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (109)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#12 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#13 of 25 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#8 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
#5 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 875 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay