We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Backwater Retreat Theme House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Aymanam, Near Pulikuttissery Bridge, (7km from Kottayam) | Kottayam, Kumarakom 686015, India
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Backwater Retreat Theme House
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    127
    95
    22
    4
    11
See reviews for
91
110
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (63)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had the booking at this place through a package taken on traveltriangle.com This place is well off the main road and even the road leading to it is broken. On reaching there had to ask the hotel staff couple of times to pull off the luggage from the cab. As we were vegetarians, hotel staff at first responded to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurian K, Manager at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review. We are extremely sorry that we could not meet up with your expectations. We are highly concerned and will take necessary corrective measures wherever possible. Thanks and regards More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the view from the balcony and the delicious food. But there is nothing much to do in the homestay. And yes there is no wifi .. So if you are planning to go sight seeing during the day and relax in evening this is a nice place. The house provided by Mr Kurian is excellent. Loved the food!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please note that WiFi is available in our resort May be you did not ask for the password. Main attraction here is Backwater water cruise. Minimum 3 hours required and the boat is available from our property itself. I did not tell you regarding the backwater cruise only because you were already a booked our... More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had to chose a good family (2 bedroom) houseboat and as usual started with tripadvisor ratings and reviews. I should say the main reason I chose backwater retreat theme house was because the way Mr. Kurien handled the query. To me out of all the other managers/ owners I have spoke to Mr. Kurien is really genuine. He claimed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our House Boat and it gives immense pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the whole trip. Looking forward to see you again with your friends and realatives. Thanks and regards, Kurian 09349526615 More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Very peaceful with natural surroundings ..Great food and courtious staff.I came across this property just by random search online to stay in kumarakom.when we reached the place looked beautiful ...They have river view rooms

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our property and it gives immense pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the stay, food and service. We hope to see you again in the near future and we would look forward to welcome you back at our Backwater Retreat. Thanks and regards, Kurian More 

Munnar, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Had been to this place with my Family and had a very good experience. Very clean and neat place. Friends and family can enjoy here. Food provided is also very good. There are very good points to cover neaby and that makes it a perfect place to stay in Kumarakom/Alleppy

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our property and it gives immense pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the stay, food and service. We hope to see you again in the near future and we would look forward to welcome you back at our Backwater Retreat. Thanks and regards, Kurian More 

Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

I stayed in Backwater Retreat with my family for 1 night. It was a beautiful experience, the view from the corridor is awesome which face the lake. Mr Kurian the owner, was very nice and helpful, as we didn't know much about the places he guided us very well. I would highly recommend this place to stay if you want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2015

During my visit to Kerala stayed at Backwater Retreat Theme House for one night and experienced the homestay like experience. There are 6 rooms (4 on first floor and 2 on ground floor). Food facility is available which is quite expensive with limited choice. Scenic beauty and the calm atmosphere are the main attractions. One has to travel a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

I stayed here with my family and relatives . It is 12kms away from Kumarkom. We booked 3 rooms on the first floor. The stay at backwater retreat was relaxing. The rooms were clean and good. The food was as per our expectation. Mr Kurian the owner, is a nice person. He also helped us to find a houseboat in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Bijoy, Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to write the review. I am so happy to understand that you have enjoyed the stay with us and House boat trip. On you next visit I am sure we can do more better service and make your stay more memorable. Thanks and regards, Kurian 09349526615 or 04812518866 backwaterretreat@yahoo.com More 

Udaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2015

Though the owner, Mr. Kurien doesn't live there, however the experience is similar to a homestay. It's 6 room property on the serene stream of backwater. Mr. Kurien is a kind man and tries to do his best to make our stay comfortable. Unexpectedly, he also has a free wifi facility. The chef is a local guy with fair culinary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kurian K, Owner at Backwater Retreat Theme House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for being with us. On your next visit I am sure we can do more better service and make your stay more memorable. Thanks and regards, Kurian 09349526615 or 04812518866 backwaterretreat@yahoo.com More 

National Capital Territory of Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

I had a wonderful time at Backwater Retreat and I have enjoyed each and every seconds of it. There was never a trouble I felt and right from Check in to Check out the stay was safe, secure and Homely. The hotel is limited in its facilities for amenities but what ever they have in place is well managed. Being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (105)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resorts
Paradise Resorts
#7 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
#4 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#13 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lakesong Kumarakom
Lakesong Kumarakom
#8 of 25 in Kumarakom
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#18 of 25 in Kumarakom
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#1 of 25 in Kumarakom
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay