We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Kumarakom accommodations

Manor Backwater Resort

Cheepunkal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Manor Backwater Resort to your Saves list
Manor Backwater Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
61%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Surojit G Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    13
    9
    13
See reviews for
42
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (88)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The property was no doubt beautiful but lack of staff and facilities made it a complete failure. We stayed for 2 nights, the food was ok but the presentation , cleanliness, lighting in the dining were not upto the mark. Most of the staff couldn't understand English or Hindi so it was difficult to converse with them. There was huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property was part of our package through Paradise Holidays. Exceptionally well maintained property with amenities like table tennis, gym, swimming pool, badminton. This property has a great view of the canal from balcony. We stayed in this resort for 1 night. Food was good and the staff were cordial and helpful. Wi-fi only in the reception area. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were a little apprehensive as we were ushered into the entrance of the hotel. It looked very run down and in need of a few good gardeners, painters and cleaners! The room itself was charming and also had a small fridge. But upon closer inspection, towels are a tired shade of yellow and stained which is the same for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The resort was in a good location. excellent view of the backwaters and the boats passing by and it stops there. The hotel lobby need a serious face lift. The front desk is so run down and the floor is sinking with broken tiles and all. The night staffs (north indians) who manage the front desk do not understand englist... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

During our stay the service of the hotel was excellent and beyond our expectations. The front office was polite and extended all support for our sight seeing. The house keeping and room service was prompt in attending to our needs. The large rooms, the classic furniture and excellent service had made our stay unforgettable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Manor Backwater resort is located at an excellent location and view is wonderful. Rooms are also nice but these are the only good notes of the resort and rest is terrible/horrible. We have stayed there for 2 days in Aug'14 and faced issues in food, room lock and even electricity. No room service given on time and once I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manorhotels, Director of Sales at Manor Backwater Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for staying in our Resort. We understood that lock was defective during your stay and immediately we offered an alternative room. However the Guest refused to shift another room. Further more the guest at the time of check –in ask for complementary dinner and we politely informed him it was not possible. More

Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Three members of our family stayed at Manor backwater resort, two days back and had a wonderful stay in a resort where we had peace and tranquility. The rooms were large, well furnished and elegant. The service was above expectation and staff friendly. Overall an excellent stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel as it looks on the website it is not as it is, it is very poorly managed very worn out and tired hotel lobby till the room, it needs deep cleaning and maintenance, room was of poor quality and the view was terrible, though it was over looking the back waters, all the garbage was accumulated in front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good front office service followed by good and fast room service. Good homely food. House keeping was very good. Enjoyed the weekend here in backwater Rooms were big and comfortable. Excellent interiors

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed in this resort in Kumarakom for 1 day during our visit in Kerala in August. Property is old and needs maintenance. Rooms are big and location is quite good for nature lover. Rooms are not cleaned properly. Bed linen, comforter all are of poor quality and dirty. Towels provided in the room were unclean and even after repeated... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Manor Backwater Resort?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Manor Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Backwater Resort

Address: Cheepunkal, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Manor Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (57)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Near Manor Backwater Resort

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby