We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Four Mile Beach Inn

1528 Bay St Lawrence Road, Dingwall, Nova Scotia B0C 1G0, Canada
Four Mile Beach Inn
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    37
    12
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
39
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (68)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (23)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights at the Four Mile Beach Inn and had a nice time there. Janet was a great host and we appreciated her sharing the history of this 1887 Inn. What is offered is great -- clean spacious room and linens and spotless bathroom with good water pressure in the shower. Do not expect shampoo or shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The web site looks great but I was quite disappointed with the cleanliness of the place. I am not fastidious but I expect to see some signs of hygiene where I stay for 133.00 per night. The bathmat in our room was disgusting . No soap or shampoo was provided and the soap dispenser was empty in our bathroom. the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
JanetCSugarloaf, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, Lori. I hope you were able to have some enjoyment in your room... on the rainy day that it was.You only mentioned your washroom so I assume you did get some rest and enjoyment during your stay with us. I do wish you had come to us directly to ask for more soap in your... More 

Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stopped at the Four Mile Beach Inn during our 2 week road trip of Nova Scotia. The Inn has so much character and history that it makes it very interesting to see. The location was perfect, not too far from the main Cabot Trail road. It's a great place to relax in peace and quiet and only a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cantley, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Oh sure, those chairs on the front porch were comfortable and the set up on the back deck was inviting. But I opted for kayaking on the bay (water access right on the property) and a long walk along the beach (access across the bay by kayak or just down the road from the provincial park). There are a number... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

We stayed here one night as part of a four week trip to the Maritime Provinces; we have traveled extensively both in the USA, Canada and Europe. I can't understand the amazing reviews! There is a huge difference between quaint and rustic and unkept and dirty. I should have been warned when the owner wanted to take my charge card... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
JanetCSugarloaf, Owner at Four Mile Beach Inn, responded to this review

It is sometimes difficult to understand a guest's motivation in writing a review like this four months after our season has closed. We are sad that she felt compelled to do so. Overall we are hurt by what appears to us to be mean-spirited comments and can only say that we are a Cape Breton heritage style inn with plank... More 

Juba, South Sudan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

My brother and I stayed here for two nights during the Celtic Colours Festival. The Four Mile Beach Inn was the perfect location to stay ... we went to a fiddle concert just down the road, a community dinner in Bay of St. Lawrence, drove out to Meat Cover (amazing scenery), went whale watching, visited the St. Paul Lighthouse museum... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

We had a lovely two nights here with Janet and John who are the most helpful and personable of hosts. Our attic room was very spacious and well equipped. We also liked the breakfasts they provide. They are not cooked breakfasts but you certainly won't go away disappointed - there are fruits, cereals, eggs, home made breads, and a superb... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

A wonderful place to stay! Run by a local couple, the atmosphere and service is very friendly. Excellent location for travellers exploring Cape Bretton and the Cabot Trail. Located in an old General Store. Beautiful old building. Would recommend this to anyone who is not only looking for a place to sleep but to dive into the Cape Breton history... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Haddonfield, Nj
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

Stayed three nights here, at this pleasant, bit rustic B&B, on quiet road off the Cabot Trail. It's a former trading post, as evidenced by all the memorabilia in the front room. Antiques in the parlor are interesting to look at but not so comfortable to sit on. Delightful little game room; wish we had had the time to play... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is one of the most interesting places we have ever stayed in. The old general store was fun to look around in as were the other common rooms. I like the fact that much of the house is true to the period. The hosts are friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was wonderful out on the deck, with freshly baked scones... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dingwall
14.9 mi away
Seascape Coastal Retreat
56.0 mi away
Silver Dart Lodge
Silver Dart Lodge
#2 of 6 in Baddeck
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
17.0 mi away
Keltic Lodge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Skyline Cabins
Skyline Cabins
#3 of 7 in Ingonish
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
14.4 mi away
The Mountain View Motel & Cottages
8.5 mi away
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
Burton's Sunset Oasis Motel
#1 of 1 in Bay St. Lawrence
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities