We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Paraparaumu B&Bs / inns

Wrights by the Sea Motel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   387 - 389 Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu 5252, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wrights by the Sea Motel to your Saves list
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
61%
Ranked #4 of 6 Paraparaumu B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014
Lee O
  • Reviews (36)
  • Photos (10)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
15
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were in Paraparaumu due to a family bereavement and needed somewhere nearby to stay for 2 nights. I travel with work so am used to staying away. The room (12) was spacious and light, decor seemed a little tired but I can see they are doing a refurb on another unit so maybe this is due for a facelift.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very conveniently located in a street leading to the waterfront. The room was comfortable, and well equipped. Service wouldn't be termed particularly warm, and we weren't given any steer on what restaurants were open or any other local info. As it was during the Christmas period the town was pretty much shut and there wasn't much choice around. Good access... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

This motel is passed its use by date given the price paid. Staff were very unfriendly and off hand. Room was not comfortable and had NOT been properly cleaned (Yuk!). Road noise was annoying and parking spaces were minimal. NOT Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wozza16, Owner at Wrights by the Sea Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you feel this way , we certainly would have addressed any concerns that you had , had you made it known to us at the time. We love to provide friendly & quality clean accommodation for our guests, and we cannot fathom how you would be saying this. We have great cleaners that clean to... More

Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We had always wanted to visit Kapiti Island and this seemed a convenient place to stay. It's a typically Kiwi Motel style, run by a nice family. The price was right, the room was comfortable, the breakfast was nice and (most importantly) the hosts were friendly and efficient. An enjoyable stay only minutes walk from the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
68 hotel reviews
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Business brought us to Paraparam, otherwise there seems little reason to visit this neck of the woods. Some of the accommodation here is not too flash and really Wrights by the Sea was a compromise. The publicity of this palace presents new and clean but in reality it is a little congested and worn. Its not bad mind. It is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is not a flash motel, at all. The rooms are very basic and in need of a spruce up and the driveway will tear up the underside of your car as you drive out. What is good is the location and the price. I was also impressed that we could book in a few hours earlier than normal. So,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Masterton, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent 3 great nights at Wrights by the Sea. The room was very clean and comfortable and was serviced each day with clean towels, bathroom and kitchen supplies etc. Even though we were in a studio unit it had a nice 2 seater couch which is a real bonus and a little balcony also. Altho the Motel is not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
North Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a business trip in September. My room was on the lower level behind a staircase. There was not a lot of natural light coming in so it felt a bit dingy. It was very dated and run down. My room was a bit dusty, so I found myself using a lot of travel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kiriat Ono, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Wrights by the Sea in early 2013. The proprietors were very friendly and helpful, answering all our questions and fulfilling all our requests. The room was very comfortable and the location is excellent. We will certainly stay there again when next in Paraparaumu.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just around the corner from the beach, with views across to Kapiti Island, this was a lovely location. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance. The staff were friendly, and the place was clean, and included a microwave, sink, and some crockery and cutlery, but it was a little bit dated. I found the bed a bit lumpy -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wrights by the Sea Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Wrights by the Sea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrights by the Sea Motel

Address: 387 - 389 Kapiti Road, Paraparaumu 5252, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paraparaumu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrights by the Sea Motel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Wrights by the Sea Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrights By The Sea Motel Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
14

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer