We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Matamata B&Bs / inns

Matamata Central Motel

42 Waharoa Rd W, Matamata, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Matamata Central Motel to your Saves list
Matamata Central Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
91%
Ranked #2 of 4 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014
189helen Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
  • Reviews (45)
  • Photos (16)
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    13
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don't waste your money! They deserve to be shut down. There was no one there when we arrived at a perfectly reasonable time in the evening. No keys, no note, no phone number, NOTHING! We slept in the car, and in the morning, the owner called me a bitc&h in front of my husband and acted like it was our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
matamatajohn, Owner at Matamata Central Motel, responded to this review

In reply to this review from Dec last year, we would like to say we had definitely not skipped out for the night but were in fact in bed asleep. The guests arrived as they said approx. 1am. Our office hours are clearly written on the booking form , The office closes at 9pm and we have an after hours... More

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nicely decorated and immaculately clean unit. Great location with easy walk to town and handy to supermarket. Only negative would be the quality of the pillows - can make huge difference between a good and bad nights sleep! Also cold Waikato mornings might be better suited to cosier bed linen, although there was an extra blanket in the cupboard and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathurst
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The rooms are a great size. Mini kitchen cooktop,toaster, microwave and all the eating utensils. The only downside was the terrible instant coffee that was provided!!! Very clean and very quiet location. Easy walk into town centre for meals etc. Supermarket directly across the road over the railway line.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The service provided by the Owners is very friendly and thoughtful, yet discreet and unobtrusive. The suite we stayed in, is located above the motel's conference room and we found it in a state of perfection, - the bedding was spotless, new clean and comfortable, the bed itself was ample and comfortable and there were spare pillows and blankets if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We found this motel very clean and friendly. The hosts were super nice and helpful and we would stay here again anytime. The rooms are like brand new, very pleased with everything. the motel is very handy to everything and a few mins walk to town. thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, four adults and one toddler. john and sue were very friendly. the rooms were clean and bright. all that you need when your away! location is great. close to all you need , eating, hobbiton only 20 mins away by car. overall would stay here again if we ever pass by this way!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed overnight here on route to Hobbiton the next day and were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The accomodation was very clean and spacious, with modern furnishings and a small kitchen area, complete with ground coffee and cafetiere. Perfect for a short break. There is a supermarket just over the road where you can pick up a couple... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was fabulous. Great attention to detail and could not have been more comfortable, with tasteful furnishings and fittings and a great shower. We loved the place and will stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Stayed for one night before a visit to Hobbiton. The lady we dealt with was very friendly and helpful making a great recommendation for somewhere to eat in town. The unit was immaculate, very modern, well appointed with an amazingly good bed. We didn't cook in the unit, but the facilities looked perfectly adequate for preparing a simple meal and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This motel is new and its rooms are modern, well-decorated and clean. The bed is hard but very comfortable. The bathroom is wonderful with a large shower and a heating system above the shower that can be turned on/off. Strangely, we were not given any toiletries, not even soap. The cooking facilities are ok, but the supply of cutlery and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Matamata Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Matamata Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamata Central Motel

Address: 42 Waharoa Rd W, Matamata, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Matamata Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer