We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Matamata B&Bs / inns

Matamata Central Motel

42 Waharoa Rd W, Matamata, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Matamata Central Motel to your Saves list
Matamata Central Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
91%
Ranked #2 of 4 Matamata B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
DougieNZ1
  • Overview
  • Reviews (50)
  • Photos (16)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (14)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a great place to stay with excellent modern facilities. The room I was in had a separate lounge and bedroom and was the pick of the rooms I stayed in during my week long business trip. I can highly recommend this motel whether for business or pleasure. The room design has been well thought out to provide flexibility... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very modern motel with very clean rooms, very friendly and helpful host. Good bed so hence a great night sleep, no noise from nearby main road. Only drawback that we found was the slow heat pump in the room, took some time to start up and warm the room, but once it was going, room was lovely and warm and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and helpful. Sue & John got us out of a bind as we had no motel booked. Beautiful clean room. Everything you need & more. Had a restless night sleep due to noise from room next door. Units are not sound proof from adjoining rooms. No road noise at all though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed five nights for business recently and was impressed with facilities and service. On the very cold mornings I was offered a bucket of warmed water for the car and nothing was too much trouble. The only downside is no restaurant but there are plenty of options in town a short distance away. Would definitely stay again for personal purposes... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

To be honest I had called the other motels that ranked ahead of this one in Trip Advisor but they didn't have any vacancies. It was getting late and I was parked outside a motel that looked like the "Desperation Drive-thru" in a huge truck and trailer unit when I phoned. They only had the family suite left and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Don't waste your money! They deserve to be shut down. There was no one there when we arrived at a perfectly reasonable time in the evening. No keys, no note, no phone number, NOTHING! We slept in the car, and in the morning, the owner called me a bitc&h in front of my husband and acted like it was our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
matamatajohn, Owner at Matamata Central Motel, responded to this review

In reply to this review from Dec last year, we would like to say we had definitely not skipped out for the night but were in fact in bed asleep. The guests arrived as they said approx. 1am. Our office hours are clearly written on the booking form , The office closes at 9pm and we have an after hours... More

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nicely decorated and immaculately clean unit. Great location with easy walk to town and handy to supermarket. Only negative would be the quality of the pillows - can make huge difference between a good and bad nights sleep! Also cold Waikato mornings might be better suited to cosier bed linen, although there was an extra blanket in the cupboard and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bathurst
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

The rooms are a great size. Mini kitchen cooktop,toaster, microwave and all the eating utensils. The only downside was the terrible instant coffee that was provided!!! Very clean and very quiet location. Easy walk into town centre for meals etc. Supermarket directly across the road over the railway line.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The service provided by the Owners is very friendly and thoughtful, yet discreet and unobtrusive. The suite we stayed in, is located above the motel's conference room and we found it in a state of perfection, - the bedding was spotless, new clean and comfortable, the bed itself was ample and comfortable and there were spare pillows and blankets if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We found this motel very clean and friendly. The hosts were super nice and helpful and we would stay here again anytime. The rooms are like brand new, very pleased with everything. the motel is very handy to everything and a few mins walk to town. thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Matamata Central Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Matamata Central Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matamata Central Motel

Address: 42 Waharoa Rd W, Matamata, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Matamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Matamata Central Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Matamata with
any amenities

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Matamata Central Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer