We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

#18 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Offers & Announcements
Free Wi-Fi + Free ABF
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
What travelers say:
Very good
(13)
Club room
(6)
Pool area
(6)
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    452
    134
    57
    33
See reviews for
319
660
24
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1285)
  • Mar-May only
    (314)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (369)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (342)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (260)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

On first impression's the hotel looked lovely.The rooms were a little tired and not 5 star.Although the food was excellent it was very expensive with service charge and taxes,but plenty of places to eat outside the hotel.It was about half an hour walk to the nightlife and many taxi drivers trying to rip you off but they is a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear 5101969, Thank you for sharing your review. We’re delighted that had a great holiday. Readers of this forum will benefit from your taxi advice. We generally suggest that guests take advantage of the songtaews (covered trucks with benches in the back) to travel to central Chaweng –if they don’t feel like walking. Thank you also for the compliment on... More 

Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel presents very impressively with a colonial type appearance, expansive lobby and beautifully tended gardens. However the rooms, we had a deluxe ocean facing room, are tired and dated. The bathroom is in need of an update and the room is in need of maintenance. On arrival our room wasn't ready but this was not a problem as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Chris S., Thank you for reviewing your stay. We’re disappointed that you weren't happier with the experience, but thank you for your candid observations. Warm regards, Joe More 

jaipur,
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had little issue of the rooms allotment. we were four couples three were given on one side of the hotel... tower 1 and one room on the extreme other side..tower 8. ( the distance from tower 1 to tower 8 is almost 300 meters). they did not made any effort to get us rooms together. make sure you get... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Sanjaykala, Thank you for sharing your review. We want to clarify for other readers that the resort is actually comprised of 8 buildings. They aren't towers as such at 3 floors. Also, I'm sorry that you were given the impression that our Reception team did not want to help- locate your group together. The fact is when the resort... More 

Orange, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is pleasant enough. The bathrooms could do with an update and are not cleaned each day. Pool area is nice, we had no trouble getting sun beds. Staff are very friendly. The main problem we found was the location it takes at least 20 min to walk to the centre of things and when you are staying for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Michelle B., Thank you for sharing your review. It’s good of you to mention the appeal of the pool and the service of our staff. Your comment on location though gave us pause. We find the vast majority of reviewers on this forum suggest that our location makes accessing the shops and restaurants a breeze. Still, on a hot... More 

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have never been the backpacker type who likes to wing it nor one of those left-wing liberal types fleeced of Baht day-in-and-day-out while soul searching in the Thai countryside. For us, after a day of activity under the sun and an evening of bucolic festivity and gastronomia, we need an isolated, comfortable, quiet and relaxing environment with reliable service.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear LaceyL723, Thank you for sharing your detailed review. It’s very kind of you to recall the names of staff members who were especially helpful. We’ve posted your review on the staff board so that the whole team can read it. You certainly covered all the bases and I personally think your suggestion to have HoeGaarden on tap at the... More 

Port Elizabeth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I and our two children (7 & 5) stayed in a pool suite in April 2015 for 9 nights. The position of the hotel is perfect, right on Chaweng beach. Most of the hotel facilities were very good, the pool was magnificent and the new resturant "The Coast" was fantastic. The staff were very friendly and overall... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear David C., Thank you for sharing your review. It’s gratifying to learn that our location, staff and facilities all got high marks. We thank you also for your constructive observations on other aspects of your stay. Hopefully we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming your family back again. Kind regards, Joe More 

United, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 night in May 2014, almost a year a go! Just have time to leave review. We had a pleasant stay in Centara Grand Samui as we had in any other of Centara properties. The room is ok size with full quality of amenity, our room and all areas in the hotel were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear BelAmore, Thank you for sharing your review…better late than never! It’s so nice that your experience was nice enough to create lasting memories. We passed your kind mention on to Tiew –she was thrilled that you remembered her. We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Joe More 

UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from the Centara Grand, it was our second visit the first being in 2012. I'm sorry to say that whilst the location, size of grounds, pool area and the beach always make this a 5* resort the hotel itself is sadly lacking. On check in we noticed other guests were given a drink and a cold towel, we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Lindaho1, Thank you for sharing your review and observations of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to see that overall you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our location. We thank you for your constructive observations. Apart from the points that you rightfully mentioned, we hope that we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for the first time at this resort for four nights with my Thai partner in a typical standard room We found management and staff extremely friendly, courteous and obliging at all times. The resort is close to the airport, with a fixed cost of taxi transfer at 500 Baht which is prepaid at the airport counter. (Feel free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Ian A., Thank you for sharing your review of your recent holiday with us. We thank you for your candor and useful observations. Readers of this forum are well-served with this kind of information. We do hope that if you find yourself headed to Koh Samui again that you’ll stay with us. Sincerely, Joe More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just back from another very great time in Thailand and with stay Centara as we did last year, and yet again the hotel and the staff made it a fabulous stay we requested our room we stayed in last time but as the hotel was fully booked we was unable to have it but three days into this holiday they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Joe C, Quality Manager at Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui, responded to this review

Dear Graham S., Thank you for reviewing your return visit to our resort. We’re delighted that it was ‘another great holiday’. Its nice that you eventually got ‘your room’ You know we do our very best to accommodate this type of request, but it can be tight. Thank you also for the great feedback on Coast. You say that you’ll... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,369 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (911)
Viewed
Room/suite (117)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (257)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (218)
Viewed
Dining (59)
Viewed
View from room (55)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (178)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (79)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Ocean Facing Room (34)
Viewed
Deluxe Pool Suite (50)
Viewed
Jacuzzi (5)
Viewed
Pool (34)
Viewed
Premium Deluxe Ocean Facing Room (45)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (34)
Viewed
The Hotel (63)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (104)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (61)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question