We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 62 Chaweng B&Bs / inns

Moby Dick Guesthouse

168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moby Dick Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ranked #50 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lucie B Newquay
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    5
    7
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The guest house in it self is an average place with big rooms. The ground floor is a party bar with high music all night. We booked it for sleeping last night, and we were so tired we made it. But we did awake 4-5 times during the night because of the loud music. We had the top floor room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I read the reviews that this was in a loud street, but oh my god! It is impossible to sleep here! The bed actually vibrates from the bass from the nightclub underneath, that pumps music until 7am! The rooms are about 30degrees and there's no hot water. The staff are lovely, maybe the only plus side. This is the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Couldn't wait to get out! Good if you want to party all night and sleep through the day, but we had a whole day of travelling so wanted a good night sleep so we could explore the following day. Got woke up at stupid o'clock by very loud music! But whatever, it's cheap! I also had to wake the lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

the room is simple but adequate and the hotel is in the center of all nightlife. the problem is that the room is DIRECTLY ABOVE and i mean right on top of an all night crazy loud music bar!!!!!! the owner tony is hilarious but do not stay here unless you want to drink all night and then collapse unconscious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Koh Samui without checking out any accommodation and not read any reviews, so we were happy to find a clean triple room just off of the main road at a decent price. The aircon worked very well and it all seemed good. However when we returned to our room later we realised that we had failed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with 5 other friends. It is in a perfect location if you are here to party. Unfortunately we had just come from none stop partying at the full moon party on Koh Phangan so we were actually looking for a chill out and the other reviews about the noise are right but if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loud place. Manager pestering us to write a review while our breakfast was going cold. Toasty with chips, No sign of the chips and the side salad it was supposed to come with was a half an onion... On a plus could do the three S's at the same time the wet room which was so small. Either fall into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry to hear your stay in Moby Dick wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that I disturbed you while your where getting your food. You could have complained me in person if you were not satisfied with what you ordered. We could have fixed there and then instead of you writing about your bad memories of toasty... More 

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wow.The loudest and dirtiest place we've stayed in Thailand for sure.Ringing in at 900 baht a night we guessed we'd get a decent guesthouse but boy were we mistaken.Dont get me wrong i wasn't expecting a five or hell even a 2 star pad but common.First of all we were given a key for a room someone else was staying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a nightmare stay in our guesthouse. You had a awful time the minute you put your foot into Moby Dick Guesthouse. Did you not read all the information about the location of our guesthouse. We are located in the middle of the busiest part of Chaweng in the Green Mango which is... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

3 girls travelling around Thailand, were used to hostels but this was the most expensive place we stayed and the worst. Although it was only £24 for 3 of us per night it was still the most expensive place we stayed. Read reviews before about the music and it didn't bother us because we were playing on going out and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's cheap and you get what you pay for. Staff was friendly enough when we asked to change to an air con room. Though the room we got changed to balcony door wouldn't shut which did make us (as 2 girls) feel rather unsafe. saying this we reported it to the night staff and it was fixed the next day.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Moby Dick Guesthouse

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby