We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moby Dick Guesthouse

168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #51 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    7
    8
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (35)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we first found this place, we were shocked that it would only be 500 baht for a double bed, air conditioned room. The room was bright and beautiful, with a fridge, balcony and SO clean. It was a great location during the day, but as soon as the night came.. Oh my god. I know reviews have mentioned the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whenever i think of my stay here i laugh and shake my head... First time in Chaweng so we knew very little and we wanted somewhere cheap to lay our heads... The room was basic, stuffy and the bathroom was small. I think we got a complimentary bottle of water each which was probably the only good thing about it.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok so we didn't have any lizards or cockroaches here but my god the music is loud.. You know when something's so loud your throat hurts? And we were on 3rd floor! Room was ok though so nothing to do with cleanliness! On the day of checking out went down stairs and the music still blaring from last night ,absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

The guest house in it self is an average place with big rooms. The ground floor is a party bar with high music all night. We booked it for sleeping last night, and we were so tired we made it. But we did awake 4-5 times during the night because of the loud music. We had the top floor room,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

I read the reviews that this was in a loud street, but oh my god! It is impossible to sleep here! The bed actually vibrates from the bass from the nightclub underneath, that pumps music until 7am! The rooms are about 30degrees and there's no hot water. The staff are lovely, maybe the only plus side. This is the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newquay
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015 via mobile

Couldn't wait to get out! Good if you want to party all night and sleep through the day, but we had a whole day of travelling so wanted a good night sleep so we could explore the following day. Got woke up at stupid o'clock by very loud music! But whatever, it's cheap! I also had to wake the lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

the room is simple but adequate and the hotel is in the center of all nightlife. the problem is that the room is DIRECTLY ABOVE and i mean right on top of an all night crazy loud music bar!!!!!! the owner tony is hilarious but do not stay here unless you want to drink all night and then collapse unconscious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Koh Samui without checking out any accommodation and not read any reviews, so we were happy to find a clean triple room just off of the main road at a decent price. The aircon worked very well and it all seemed good. However when we returned to our room later we realised that we had failed to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with 5 other friends. It is in a perfect location if you are here to party. Unfortunately we had just come from none stop partying at the full moon party on Koh Phangan so we were actually looking for a chill out and the other reviews about the noise are right but if you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loud place. Manager pestering us to write a review while our breakfast was going cold. Toasty with chips, No sign of the chips and the side salad it was supposed to come with was a half an onion... On a plus could do the three S's at the same time the wet room which was so small. Either fall into... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry to hear your stay in Moby Dick wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that I disturbed you while your where getting your food. You could have complained me in person if you were not satisfied with what you ordered. We could have fixed there and then instead of you writing about your bad memories of toasty... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question