We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 61 Chaweng B&Bs / inns

Moby Dick Guesthouse

168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Hotel amenities
Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Moby Dick Guesthouse to your Saves list
37%
Ranked #47 of 61 Chaweng B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014
mad-m0nk13 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (29)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (6)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
70 hotel reviews
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

the room is simple but adequate and the hotel is in the center of all nightlife. the problem is that the room is DIRECTLY ABOVE and i mean right on top of an all night crazy loud music bar!!!!!! the owner tony is hilarious but do not stay here unless you want to drink all night and then collapse unconscious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We arrived in Koh Samui without checking out any accommodation and not read any reviews, so we were happy to find a clean triple room just off of the main road at a decent price. The aircon worked very well and it all seemed good. However when we returned to our room later we realised that we had failed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here for two nights with 5 other friends. It is in a perfect location if you are here to party. Unfortunately we had just come from none stop partying at the full moon party on Koh Phangan so we were actually looking for a chill out and the other reviews about the noise are right but if you are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Loud place. Manager pestering us to write a review while our breakfast was going cold. Toasty with chips, No sign of the chips and the side salad it was supposed to come with was a half an onion... On a plus could do the three S's at the same time the wet room which was so small. Either fall into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi! Sorry to hear your stay in Moby Dick wasn't a good one. I am also sorry that I disturbed you while your where getting your food. You could have complained me in person if you were not satisfied with what you ordered. We could have fixed there and then instead of you writing about your bad memories of toasty... More

Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Wow.The loudest and dirtiest place we've stayed in Thailand for sure.Ringing in at 900 baht a night we guessed we'd get a decent guesthouse but boy were we mistaken.Dont get me wrong i wasn't expecting a five or hell even a 2 star pad but common.First of all we were given a key for a room someone else was staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you had a nightmare stay in our guesthouse. You had a awful time the minute you put your foot into Moby Dick Guesthouse. Did you not read all the information about the location of our guesthouse. We are located in the middle of the busiest part of Chaweng in the Green Mango which is... More

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

3 girls travelling around Thailand, were used to hostels but this was the most expensive place we stayed and the worst. Although it was only £24 for 3 of us per night it was still the most expensive place we stayed. Read reviews before about the music and it didn't bother us because we were playing on going out and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It's cheap and you get what you pay for. Staff was friendly enough when we asked to change to an air con room. Though the room we got changed to balcony door wouldn't shut which did make us (as 2 girls) feel rather unsafe. saying this we reported it to the night staff and it was fixed the next day.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very good food and helpful staff would do anything that was needed sun cream money changed trips booked all in all best irish pub in the world including ireland And great food staff the best of fun Conor Peter Jason Larry peter

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow - I consider myself young and I listen to loud music but this is something else! In all honesty we booked this to be close the airport for an early transfer the next day - this isnt what Moby Dick was built for! If you are looking for a central hotel were you can party all night and sleep... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Having a substantial amount of US dollars stolen from my room was far from ideal; the perpetrator being a member of staff from this place. I had to compromise on price, thus overlooking the repugnant bar girls they have to offer, coupled with a club next door playing music until 6am. Had a great little disco in and around Chaweng,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review

I am sad to read this review about our guesthouse. Managment was not contacted by you about this matter money gone missing from your room. I would have liked to look into this matter personally to try to find out who had entered your room. We have free safetyboxes and lockers for customers to put their valuables. My staff are... More

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.