We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Takaka hotels

The Rocks Chalets

2086 Takaka Valley Hwy | Tasman, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
The Rocks Chalets
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rocks Chalets to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
jeanpeters Paris, France
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
63
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (90)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Paris, France
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We had been looking forward to our stay at The Rocks Chalets only to discover that I had booked for March instead of February and the chalets were fully booked. The owners immediately suggested a good alternative in Takaka. We returned that night and enjoyed a lovely meal at the Rocks restaurant. We had an absolutely delicious Kervella goat cheese... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chefie007, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

All rooms are small private (and very secluded) huts, nestled within a wonderful setting of rocks and plants. Sitting in the outdoor bathtub (which our room had) is a great relaxing experience, and the restaurant offers great food as well. Very clean, with friendly owners and free wifi. Only minor negative I could find is that our room was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chefie007, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are glad you liked our place our units are primarily designed for couples but you will be glad to know we are opening at least one maybe two family units soon. More 

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Great location, interesting gardens and has it's own Restaurant. The rooms are big and clean and each has its own private veranda onto the garden. Walking distance to Takaka village where there are shops and cafes, restaurants. A great place to stay in a handy central spot to visit all the other fantastic places in Golden Bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chefie007, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed our garden as well as the local attractions More 

Oxford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Stayed here for Christmas and loved it. Really nice rooms with plenty of space between each and lovely owners. Each has its own private BBQ which we made full use of. No cooking facilities in the room but scrambled eggs taste just as good when done on a BBQ so it was no problem to us. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

If you are ever looking for a chefs job give me a call every thing you cooked smelt great, thanks for your review. More 

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We spent 5 nights as a family of 4 (two children, 9 and 14) in one of the chalets and loved every hour of it: 1-the rooms are spacious, beautifully appointed, quiet as can be, overlooking a well crafted garden, 2-the restaurant is incredibly creative and delicious, although priced just like all other good ones in the area, 3-people are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we enjoyed having you here, we hope you make it back some time. More 

Westport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

An amazing place to stay, really beautiful and a great place to relax, gorgeous luxury chalets with all the comforts of home, also we felt so spoilt to be staying in such a flash place, the outside candlelit bath ending our evening perfectly, amazing rocks throughout the place very unique and picturesque. Beautiful Grounds, love the huge weeping willow trees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are luck to live in paradise, thank you for taking the time to review our place. More 

Bideford
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Rocks ( we were supposed to be staying for 3 nights, but unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse and we left a day early!) We stayed in the Pukeko chalet and it was extremely comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. We would thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Just about an hour after you left the sun came out and we had another beutiful day in paradise More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

Stayed 3 days to recover from hectic touring. Excellent chalets in an idyllic setting, looked after by very pleasant people. We ate every night in the restaurant, which was the highlight of our stay. Menu was good, supplemented by unusual fish as available, and the food was superb. The whole dining experience was most enjoyable. Could not recommend highly enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant and chalets hope to see you back soon More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights last week (in the Keruru suite) which was very spacious with a nice bathroom. Great hosts Pat and Chris are happy to chat about local attractions. Great place to explore the Golden Bay attractions We ate in the restaurant, and that was very nice too. Happy to go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the chalets and the restaurant see you soon More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at The Rocks Chalet. Very spacious & private accommodation in peaceful garden setting. Our hosts Pat & Chris were friendly & helpful suggesting many local attractions to visit and have created a great environment. We couldn't resist dining in the Eatery all 3 nights, the food was so good & the local wines great!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation we hope to see you soon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Hwy | Tasman, Takaka 7110, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay