We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Takaka hotels

The Rocks Chalets

2086 Takaka Valley Hwy, Takaka, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
The Rocks Chalets
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Rocks Chalets to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
405michelle Westport
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
60
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Westport
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An amazing place to stay, really beautiful and a great place to relax, gorgeous luxury chalets with all the comforts of home, also we felt so spoilt to be staying in such a flash place, the outside candlelit bath ending our evening perfectly, amazing rocks throughout the place very unique and picturesque. Beautiful Grounds, love the huge weeping willow trees... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bideford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Rocks ( we were supposed to be staying for 3 nights, but unfortunately the weather took a turn for the worse and we left a day early!) We stayed in the Pukeko chalet and it was extremely comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and had an excellent meal. We would thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Just about an hour after you left the sun came out and we had another beutiful day in paradise More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 days to recover from hectic touring. Excellent chalets in an idyllic setting, looked after by very pleasant people. We ate every night in the restaurant, which was the highlight of our stay. Menu was good, supplemented by unusual fish as available, and the food was superb. The whole dining experience was most enjoyable. Could not recommend highly enough.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant and chalets hope to see you back soon More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed for 2 nights last week (in the Keruru suite) which was very spacious with a nice bathroom. Great hosts Pat and Chris are happy to chat about local attractions. Great place to explore the Golden Bay attractions We ate in the restaurant, and that was very nice too. Happy to go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed the chalets and the restaurant see you soon More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our 3 nights at The Rocks Chalet. Very spacious & private accommodation in peaceful garden setting. Our hosts Pat & Chris were friendly & helpful suggesting many local attractions to visit and have created a great environment. We couldn't resist dining in the Eatery all 3 nights, the food was so good & the local wines great!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation we hope to see you soon More 

St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We greatly enjoyed our time at The Rocks. Like others we found the accommodation excellent and good value for money. Relaxing in the peaceful chalet surrounds and eating in the high class on-site restaurant made for a perfect overnight stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed our chalets and restaurant and hope to see you back some time. More 

Robe, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We loved our stay at the Rocks Chalets. Our accommadation was so comfortable and secluded and we enjoyed watching all the different birds outside our chalet. Pat was very helpful with advice about where to go during our five days stay. We could recommend this to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Pat has planted special trees and shrubs to attract as many different types of birds as possible and she knows Golden Bay very well. Hope you got lots of photos. More 

fremantle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow - totally impressed by the standard of accommodation at this lovely Motel - an amazing outdoor bath - totally private, in a wee rocky haven. Unfortuantely didn't get to try the Eatery on the Rock - a few minutes walk away - but good friends love it! Really close to town but you wouldn't know it. Thanks so much,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we will have to try the bath ourselves, and hope you get to try the restaurant next time. More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Spacious well appointed chalet set in well established garden. An ideal base to explore Golden Bay. Restaurant on site and close to Takaka. We had 4 very comfortable nights and would be happy to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments we are very lucky to live in paradise. More 

Napier, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

we were on holiday and had two meals here,both times the meal was excellent. The staff were very friendly and the setting was really good. I had steak both nights and can't recommend them more highly. We stayed three nights at the Rocks Chalets,they were good, but a few little things needed to be fixed,such as the shower head that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at The Rocks Chalets, responded to this review

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and dinners with us and thanks for mentioning the shower head iI am on to it. Chris More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Rocks Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rocks Chalets

Address: 2086 Takaka Valley Hwy, Takaka, New Zealand (Formerly Eatery on the Rock Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Rocks Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eatery On The Rock Hotel Takaka
The Rocks Chalets Takaka, Golden Bay, New Zealand

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay