We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Insight

2.0 of 5 Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Insight
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Insight
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    31
    16
    14
    11
See reviews for
17
23
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

Insight is a 3 star property located in the small coastal town of Ahangama (about 20 minutes from Galle. The property is located on Galle road and easy to find. If you are looking for Luxury then this is not the place for you but it is a good, clean and comfortable 3 star property. When we checked in we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you Ma’am, for your comments on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your spot on comments of our correct 3* standard and guiding the potential guests not to have a high level of expectation. Happy to see your comments about the beautiful view from the room. With our expansion which is to commence on 20th April 2015, all rooms will... More 

Sydney
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Biryani was very ordinary. The chicken was revolting and not fit for a dog. We sent it back and never got a replacement or an apology. The rooms were clean albeit basic. They are misleading on their website about food and need to address inadequacies in this area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

Friendly and responsive staff who try their best to make guests happy. The restaurant caters for the usual coverage expected at a beach hotel. The bar is well equipped with wifi and they make nice cocktails with the local Arrack (Rum). We stayed for 3 nights and did not see any prawn dishes in the buffet (plenty of fish and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Sir, for your excellent comments. Yes we have the friendly village folks that we regularly train in our team. We take pleasure in commenting that the range of Arrack Cocktails are absolutely our own inventions and personally mixed and tasted by one of our very senior members of the team. When the hotel closes for the... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Gloomy corrugated steel roof hotel right off noisy highway. Food is terrible and rooms basic with worn-off furniture and bedding.avoid this mass market place displayed on all tour operators selection. Beach in front is nice though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Gloomy corrugated steel roof – I wonder if the guest is referring to the very hotel “The Insight Resort” or any other as the roof of our resort is of timber and roofing sheets (not steel). For sure the Resort is by the main Galle-Matara Road, but it is not a highway nor have other guests commented about the noise.... More 

Colombo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

Good 3 star property by the sea. Great beach and good for sea swims as the reef is closer to the shore.Can spend hours in the water and the water is clear and nice. Staff are very friends and obliging. Rooms are nice and clean. Good value for money and a place to relax. Basic good three star property. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent comments of 18th December 2014. Pleased to note that you recommend it as a good 3* product. That’s exactly what our rating is and even the pricing is based on competitive 3*. We look forward to serving you again. More 

Bath
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We arrived at this hotel to meet up with a small group destined for whale watching and leopard filming in Yala National Park. Our expectations were not met, although if you are looking for a very basic 2/3 star hotel without any frills and you get it at the right price, then this might be fine for you. Room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Regret gentleman that your expectations were not met. We are glad that you have realized Insight Insight is a 2* / 3* property and if you look at our website we promote this hotel as a 3* property as it is much better than a 2* property and our pricing also is accordingly the same which you might be able... More 

Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2014 after some serious trekking around the Island to take some time out to relax and would highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. You could not get a better setting as it sits right on the most beautiful sandy beach, great for swimming or just chilling... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, The Management at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you Sir/Madam for your brilliant helpful comments on Trip Advisor “Highly Recommended”. Appreciate your comments about where you say that it is great for swimming. This is absolutely right Sir/Madam, September is one of the most rough times in the south west coast and as in this period you recommend the beautiful sandy beach and great for swimming and... More 

colombo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We found this when all hotels were full, small place room was clean and large i think we got the best room in the hotel lovely view from the room. Pool very small and had few stray dogs coming and drinking water.beach was nice and clean. We had breskfast and for the price we paid good selection was there.resident manager... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Happy you got one of the best rooms in the hotel and are appreciating the quality, view and the facilities. Sorry about the stray dogs. We try our level best to get rid of them and soon we have taken the decision to relocate them elsewhere. Regrettably it is our own clients who don’t allow us to chase them away... More 

Bagshot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Under new management. Great location right by the beach. Rooms are big and those with sea views have seating in the window. Staff were really friendly and very helpful, always with a smile. Had fish that we bought cooked for us, cooked omelettes on request, any problems were fixed immediately. Try it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about the improvements in the hotel under the new management. Happy to note that our staff were very friendly and helpful to you. We enjoy and have a passion and strongly believe in assisting you by cooking what you bring for a nominal fee. Glad to know that if there had been any minor issues that... More 

Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

One of our worst hotel experience in Sri Lanka. Even if well located along the beach, the rooms are simple but noisy. Also not really clean. We had booked two rooms with ocean view and due to extreme noisy air con from the other rooms we accept downgrade to a standard room (according them, there was no other room available),... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Sorry to note that it was one of your worst hotel experiences in Sri Lanka. I believe the heavy rains that we had during the time would have contributed to it as well. Appreciate your comments about the good location. Regret as I understand your room had an issue due to a noisy air conditioner which is extremely unusual to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Insight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Insight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay