We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Ahangama hotels

Insight

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Insight
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Insight to your Saves list
52%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ahangama
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
j s Crawley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
13
19
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (10)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for a couple of nights in August 2014 after some serious trekking around the Island to take some time out to relax and would highly recommend this hotel as a great place to stay. You could not get a better setting as it sits right on the most beautiful sandy beach, great for swimming or just chilling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, The Management at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you Sir/Madam for your brilliant helpful comments on Trip Advisor “Highly Recommended”. Appreciate your comments about where you say that it is great for swimming. This is absolutely right Sir/Madam, September is one of the most rough times in the south west coast and as in this period you recommend the beautiful sandy beach and great for swimming and... More

colombo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

We found this when all hotels were full, small place room was clean and large i think we got the best room in the hotel lovely view from the room. Pool very small and had few stray dogs coming and drinking water.beach was nice and clean. We had breskfast and for the price we paid good selection was there.resident manager... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Happy you got one of the best rooms in the hotel and are appreciating the quality, view and the facilities. Sorry about the stray dogs. We try our level best to get rid of them and soon we have taken the decision to relocate them elsewhere. Regrettably it is our own clients who don’t allow us to chase them away... More

Bagshot, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Under new management. Great location right by the beach. Rooms are big and those with sea views have seating in the window. Staff were really friendly and very helpful, always with a smile. Had fish that we bought cooked for us, cooked omelettes on request, any problems were fixed immediately. Try it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments about the improvements in the hotel under the new management. Happy to note that our staff were very friendly and helpful to you. We enjoy and have a passion and strongly believe in assisting you by cooking what you bring for a nominal fee. Glad to know that if there had been any minor issues that... More

Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

One of our worst hotel experience in Sri Lanka. Even if well located along the beach, the rooms are simple but noisy. Also not really clean. We had booked two rooms with ocean view and due to extreme noisy air con from the other rooms we accept downgrade to a standard room (according them, there was no other room available),... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Sorry to note that it was one of your worst hotel experiences in Sri Lanka. I believe the heavy rains that we had during the time would have contributed to it as well. Appreciate your comments about the good location. Regret as I understand your room had an issue due to a noisy air conditioner which is extremely unusual to... More

Veendam, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel needs an urgent upgrade. The pool edges are very rough and serveral people hurt themselves during our stay. I myself got an electric shock on one of wall sockets in the restaurant when I tried to recharge my laptop. The location is fine, close to the beach and nice views. The garden is nice as well. The rooms... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Appreciate the comments on Trip Advisor. Last year (2013) a similar situation cropped up in the month of August and at that stage we checked with our pool maintenance company and tried to resolve the issues of feet getting cut by grouting the swimming pool. If one would go back to the Trip Advisor comments you would see that the... More

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were moved here by our tour company after staying at the Palace Hotel in Mirissa. This hotel is OK, nothing special but we were relieved to get some sleep - see review of Palace. We had various problems with door locks, in room phone not working, wake up calls not received and a leaking air con unit. We changed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Appreciate the comments of Suzanne H of Dorchester, UK As they had been moved from one hotel to another, perhaps her expectations levels would also have been different. However appreciate her final note saying “it is good value” – this satisfies us that we are providing good quality for the value paid. Regret to note she had issues with the... More

Bratislava Region, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Valeu for money - the rooms are huge, clean (ok, co-lived with a gekko and spider, but they don't disturbs us), nice view to the ocean, smiling staff, excellent food. Yes, the hotel is little bit older, but you see it only on details - mean-looking paintings and furniture, or only vintage style :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Dear Sir / Madam Appreciate your comments and we value your recommendation. We fumigate the rooms in the hotel every month to prevent insects getting into the room. However Considering our tropical weather it is a bit hard to totally eradicate gekkos and small spiders although they are very harmless. Yes the hotel was built in 1983 but we continue... More

Chernivtsi, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

charming hotel, espcially for those who travel to exotic countries at first time. The rooms are cozy and sweet! 10 days there was my bag on the chair with money in it and nobody took it. we were leaving laptop, camera and jewelery it the room, and we weren't disappointed - there were where we left them. the stuff is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Senior Management at Insight, responded to this review

We appreciate the strong recommendations of our valuable customers. We are also happy to acknowledge having such trustworthy staff at Insight. Yet, we will recommend all guests to make use of the safety lockers provided in the rooms to avoid temptation of economically not too sound staff. More

hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here for last three nights of a tour. Decent location but sadly food and service let this hotel down. We had eaten in some fantastic locations across Sri Lanka and when we asked if we could order from a l a carte menu we were told no due to there being only one chef because of the new year... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Appreciate your good comments about the location. Regret if the food and service levels were not to your expectation during your stay. We do apologize for it. We also acknowledge the fact that during the Hindu & Sinhala New Year for about 4 days things do slow down in all parts of Sri Lanka like during the Chinese New Year... More

Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is situated ina nice location, close to the main road.Parking facility is very limited.very nice from some rooms and food quality is ok. Rooms need some urgent upgrade and charges are moderate. Its good for the budget travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

We appreciate the good comments about the location. Happy to note that you are satisfied with the good quality. However, we are not sure of the upgrading you are suggesting for the rooms. Sorry we offer only 3* quality and provide that quality to the best of our understanding. We provide everything in the room including a telephone, air conditioning,... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Insight?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Insight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight

Address: Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Insight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insight Hotel Ahangama

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay