We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Ahangama hotels

Insight

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Insight to your Saves list
Insight
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
53%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ahangama
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
planetjim Atlanta, Georgia
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    22
    12
    9
    10
See reviews for
9
15
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here two nights while on an Exodus group tour. I enjoyed this hotel very much because the setting, right on a beautiful beach, was so pretty and relaxing. Rooms a bit plain, no TV, great AC, plenty of hot water. Buffet meals very good, a la carte meal one night, crumb fried fish, was only fair. Great open... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were concerned on arrival by the busy road outside the gates, but at night it was OK. The beach was lovely, as was the pool. The open sided dining room/bar was a good feature, food was simple but quite reasonable, although many items on the menu were not available. Rooms were basic but fine, only niggle was the faulty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ahangama itself is a bit scruffy but the hotel, which is about five minutes out of town, opposite the post office, is set in an idyllic location. The reception, bar, and dining room areas are open to the elements but are sheltered by a high roof. A nicely sculpted swimming pool with plenty of shade is beyond that and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Immediately after the comment appeared under the name of thevelvetcrab we came on Tripadvisor to put a comment that we would investigate and get back. Due to absolutely high occupancy and the work load regret that though the investigation was done immediately reaching to TripAdvisor took time. We have investigated the complaint of "thevelvetcrab" and no customer who has stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chatton
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
48 hotel reviews
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have visited this hotel on various occasions whilst on business in the south of Sri Lanka and would describe it as a friendly 'basic' hotel positioned in a very good beach-side location. It is a nice place to stop for a drink or food if you are travelling along the south coast road. Rooms are fairly basic but clean.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights and was thoroughly disappointed. The hotel was totally devoid of any atmosphere whatsoever and is isolated on the main Galle road with nothing but other large hotels nearby. It appears to cater for tour groups or package deals. As the place was so grim I went into Unawatuna (a very long journey in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Very sorry to hear this story about the gate been locked and having to jump over the wall. As we have two security guards at night. Complied is on investigation we will further report after the inquiry. Appreciates if we can know whether you complain this to the hotel next day morning and to whom. Would also like to know... More

Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is right on a beautiful beach. Sadly we were served possibly the worst seafood meal I have ever tasted. Each of the three fish dishes was over cooked and then cooked some more. Rubbery, calamari, dried seer fish and prawns with the texture of cardboard. We returned the lot. I was here on an organised tour. I'd never... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Ahangama, Managing Director at Insight, responded to this review

We could see the disappointment of Mr. Nicolas Williams, due to the sea food platter provided not being to his taste... Unfortunately the Resident Manager has failed in his duty to organize a BBQ for the group of 12 pax where Mr Williams was in, as the hotel policy when organizing a private BBQ is that there must be a... More

Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of an Exodus tour of Sri Lanka. The intention was to allow us to relax after a fairly hectic tour, and the hotel and setting allowed us to do just that. There were games of cricket, pool volleyball, beach walks, and a relaxing atmosphere. We took a boat trip on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

We thank you for all your positive comments about us. It certainly is an endorsement for all those who wish to make a booking to our Resort in the future. More

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

"Dear Readers We responded with quick action to a complaint from a guest who had got his foot injured in the pool at our resort. We promised to do a complete overhaul in the month of October to ensure that there are no further mishaps or accidents. The attached pictures will tell you how true we are to our promises... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent for those who love to walk around the beach at any odd hour of the day or night. One can enjoy the waves from the windows of the room or may look at the blue water while having breakfast. We stayed for one night only but might have stayed for another night if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ahangama, Manager at Insight, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great comments and endorsing the Insight Resort. Further at a time when just one in isolation has condemned our food quality as bad, you are praising it. Appreciate your comments about the limited breakfast choice – we shall look into that to further improve. More

Been to Insight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insight

Also Known As:
Insight Hotel
Insight Hotel Ahangama
Address: Galle Road, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahangama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Insight 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a place to relax, rejuvenate, and experience heritage, culture, nature and the way of life in the remote south of Sri Lanka. A resort located in an area where you can also surf and dive. From the lush green garden walk on to the golden sandy beach where you can see the natural reef breaking the blue water to a gentle wave which transforms to a tiny bubbly ripple. Swaying and whispering palms blended with the sound of waves on the quiet beach takes you through a journey of serenity. The long lonely stretch of beach offers you peace in abundance and a dip in the warm Indian Ocean is rejuvenating. Lie under a palm tree and relax on this unpolluted stretch of beach. Learn the art of stilt fishing – a mastery passed down from generation to generation and enjoy the only village of stilt fishing in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz and Otel so you can book your Insight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Insight, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.