We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Point Villa

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
(16 km past Galle City) | Kathaluwa, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Special Price
35% Off on Villa Rental
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
South Point Villa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
South Point Villa
Share an Experience

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
73
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (116)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Needing a couple of days relaxation before flying back after a college re-union in Colombo, we stayed at the Chalet for 2 nights. Using the Highway, this is achieved in an hour. The Chalet is a walled 2 bed bungalow, 50 meters from the beach and across the road from the fabulous villa. After my family loved the villa, i... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tours, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a great time at sth point from 27 th feb to 06 March 2015. Villa was fully staffed. Wonderful spot with basically a private beach to yourselves. Staff were genuinely friendly and discrete. The villa has 3 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms. Galle is only 20 mins away by tuk tuk which the kids loved. The booking went smoothly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in the chalet of Southpoint Villa, it was really Paradise! We have been there before one year ago so we knew what to expect. In the garden we loved to stay in the pool and lay at the sunbeds. The house is wonderfull, it has two huge bedrooms with both perfect bathrooms with rainshower and a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the chalet for 10 night Feb 2015. A family of five with children age 9. 6. and nearly 2. The chalet is a delightful building set back quietly off the road opposite the beach. You simply walk a few metres then cross the road to the beach. The swimming pool is great and cleaned daily as is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We were booked into the chalet for the end of a two week tour of the tourist triangle. On arrival we were shown around to what was a lovely property, the only downside was that we were at the opposite side of the busy road to the beach,after a welcome drink we were asked if we would like to view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

South Point Villa is beautifully situated right on the beach, so that you can swim within metres of the Villa. We felt so lucky to have the sound of the ocean lull us to sleep each night! The Villa provided everything we needed during our 2 night stay. Air con kept us comfortable when it was really hot, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The Chalet. A truly awful experience. We had booked one week here after an idyllic week at another villa nearer Galle which cost $250 per day. The Chalet was $400 per day (Peak Christmas period) so we expected something pretty good. Arrived to find the Chalet, filthy, broken and totally unprepared for guests. We spent the WHOLE of the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this review

If there were any short comings at the Chalet may we apologize for the inconvenience you seem to have undergone at the chalet. We own few properties. All have highly trained domestic and maintenance staff who maintain it throughout the year. This is the first time we had guests who did not wish any staff at the Chalet during their... More 

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This was a return trip to Sri Lanka, and to South Point. We were greeted by Upali our driver at the airport, for our journey to South Point. It was our third trip to South Point - we booked the Chalet. It was lovely to be met by all the staff that would be looking after us, and to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drammen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just touched down home after 15 amazing days at the Abbey! Upali, the driver met us at the airport and provided a comfortable and safe (trust me, you need it) ride back to the villa. The staff was amazing. Discret, yet attentitive and professional. This beats a hotel 10 times! Location is set perfect on a sandy beach. The Chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at the Chalet and it couldn't have been more perfect!!! the staff, the location, the accommodation, perfect perfect perfect !! A once in a life time holiday. If your looking for a truly unforgettable holiday you can't go past a week at the Chalet. A massive thank you to all the staff. A fabulous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (116)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question