We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

South Point Villa

(16 km past Galle City) | Kathaluwa, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Point Villa
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
South Point Villa
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
71
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (113)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the chalet for 10 night Feb 2015. A family of five with children age 9. 6. and nearly 2. The chalet is a delightful building set back quietly off the road opposite the beach. You simply walk a few metres then cross the road to the beach. The swimming pool is great and cleaned daily as is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were booked into the chalet for the end of a two week tour of the tourist triangle. On arrival we were shown around to what was a lovely property, the only downside was that we were at the opposite side of the busy road to the beach,after a welcome drink we were asked if we would like to view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015 via mobile

South Point Villa is beautifully situated right on the beach, so that you can swim within metres of the Villa. We felt so lucky to have the sound of the ocean lull us to sleep each night! The Villa provided everything we needed during our 2 night stay. Air con kept us comfortable when it was really hot, and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The Chalet. A truly awful experience. We had booked one week here after an idyllic week at another villa nearer Galle which cost $250 per day. The Chalet was $400 per day (Peak Christmas period) so we expected something pretty good. Arrived to find the Chalet, filthy, broken and totally unprepared for guests. We spent the WHOLE of the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Southpoint, Owner at South Point Villa, responded to this review

If there were any short comings at the Chalet may we apologize for the inconvenience you seem to have undergone at the chalet. We own few properties. All have highly trained domestic and maintenance staff who maintain it throughout the year. This is the first time we had guests who did not wish any staff at the Chalet during their... More 

London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This was a return trip to Sri Lanka, and to South Point. We were greeted by Upali our driver at the airport, for our journey to South Point. It was our third trip to South Point - we booked the Chalet. It was lovely to be met by all the staff that would be looking after us, and to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Drammen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Just touched down home after 15 amazing days at the Abbey! Upali, the driver met us at the airport and provided a comfortable and safe (trust me, you need it) ride back to the villa. The staff was amazing. Discret, yet attentitive and professional. This beats a hotel 10 times! Location is set perfect on a sandy beach. The Chef... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at the Chalet and it couldn't have been more perfect!!! the staff, the location, the accommodation, perfect perfect perfect !! A once in a life time holiday. If your looking for a truly unforgettable holiday you can't go past a week at the Chalet. A massive thank you to all the staff. A fabulous... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
chennai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We rented both south point villas and had a wonderful trip. We were 14 ladies.. South point villa is very well located on the beach.. Both villas have lovely swimming pools.. Service is excellent and staff very attentive and helpful.. Food was outstanding.. Will definitely stay there again..and highly recommend it to all my friends..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

South Point Abbey was just wonderful. After over a week touring through Sri-Lanka in a bus our group of 7 arrived at South Point Abbey for six days of unashamed luxury. Everything is right about this place. The location, the accommodation, the restauration and above all the attention of the staff. Never have we been so wholly satisfied on holiday... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Asia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a lovely place to relaxe of course a bid to big for one person but the service is impeccable easy to reach and simply fantastic Thank you for looking after Luke so well is not easy to find such a lovely spot

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to South Point Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Point Villa

Address: (16 km past Galle City) | Kathaluwa, Ahangama, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Ahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your South Point Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Point Villa Hotel Ahangama

143 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (106)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay