We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kahangama hotels

Ratnaloka Tour Inn

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kosgala, Kahagama, Ratnapura, Kahangama, Sri Lanka
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Ratnaloka offer
Save Saved
You added Ratnaloka Tour Inn to your Saves list
Ratnaloka Tour Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
28%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kahangama
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (48)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    2
    12
See reviews for
3
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I personally have stayed at the Hilton,Cinnamon Grand,etc. But this place was simply spectacular! We were welcomed with happiness!!! The waiter was very kind and informed us about Rathnapura. The rooms were not the best quality( Doors had problems, toilet looks tacky, Shower curtain torn,etc.) . But we could ask for anything and it was brought without hesitation(unlike the Hilton... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest We thank you for staying at Ratnaloka Tour Inns,and for comments given. Management More

Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had not much expectation when we booke din after readin many bad reviwes, but we had a very nice stay at the hotel in Jauay 2013 after all. It is true that the hotel is a bit outdated and slighly shabby, the rooms need an upgrade and the pool chairs are grey. We had a room with tile floors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest We thank you for staying with us.And we thank you for your good comments given to us.and the shortcomings will be rectified son,since we are upgrading the hotel now. Once again we thank you and we look forward in having you as our valued guest in the near future. Thank you The Management More

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is truly dreadful and a health hazard to their guests. Whilst the reception area and restaurant are reasonable, the bedrooms are probably the worst in Sri Lanka. This hotel should be closed down by the Sri Lanka Tourist Authority until the bedrooms, corridors, bathrooms and toilets have been completely rebuilt. The management of this hotel should also be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest i am sorry to hear that you stay with us was not a pleasant stay.as the owners now we have taken the engagement of hotel and now it s being renovated. once again we apologize for the problems that you had to face during your stay, please be our guest and explore the Brand new Ratnaloka Tour inns... More

Travelers are raving about these Kahangama hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

To add to what has been said already, the fabric of the building showed water penetration, as there was mould growing in various places in the corridors. The bedroom blocks had clearly had no maintenance on them since the day they were built, about 15 to 20 years ago. There are also dangerous steps on staircases such that two of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest We thank you for your stay in Ratnaloka Tour Inns,and we greatly apologize that your stay with us was not a pleasant stay. As the owners we have taken up the management of the property and now it is being upgraded. and the upgrading will be completed by end of October 2014. In the mean time we would... More

England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived for one night (thank goodness) at this hotel as part of a group. I cannot imagine what our tour organiser (Naturetrek) was thinking when they booked this for us. As has been said elsewhere, the façade is amazing. But looks can be deceiving. The room was terrible. The bath enamel looked badly stained but this turned out to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ratnaloka, General Manager at Ratnaloka Tour Inn, responded to this review

Sorry for our late reply on the above complain. The clients arrived to the hotel and wanted have a discount and we offered them a discount. and next Morning they complained saying that they could not sleep the previous night and they refused pay the bill.and the clients wanted to leave the hotel without paying the bill.and then we had... More

Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Approaching this hotel the reception areas seem to herald a modern luxury hotel but below stairs oh dear! The room I was allocated smelt damp and was dirty. The sink was not attached to the wall and wobbled dangerously, The stylish floor mounted lamp would have worked better if t had had a plug fitted, The bed had been made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest Sorry for my late reply to your coomments on the tripadvisor.i am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasent stay.As the owners we we have taken up the managment of the property and now we are under a refurbishedment of the hotel ,once again again i regreat very much that your stay with... More

UK
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
90 hotel reviews
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Your first impression of this hotel could be very positive as the public rooms are well-appointed and stylish, and the staff charming and helpful, but when you look at the bedrooms it's an entirely different story. The first room I was allocated was in the basement, with damp walls, a scruffy, dirty, torn carpet, blocked sink and dirty bathroom with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Management response:

Dear,Guest. i am Sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasent one.As owners we have taken over the mamagment to ur hands now and the hotel is being refurbished now,and we look forward in giving you a better product by the end of october 2014. After going through your review,as the owner i have decided to... More

Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

What is it that makes some trip advisors want to condemn it? I might suggest that despite really charming and helpful staff, very attractive reception areas, a lovely approach, this hotel is simply dreadful. So I agree with previous comments. The manager needs replacing very quickly, the rooms are a total health hazard, if you are not electrocuted, repelled by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest Sorry for our late reply to your comments,we are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not a pleasent stay.As the woners we have take up the management of the property now and now the hotel is being refurbished and will be completed by end october 2014. To have you as our valued guest ,we would... More

Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had stayed at this resort on a previous trip some years ago. This is a large resort set among tea plantations and close to gem mines. We were given a drink on arrival. After check-in we were taken to a large room on the first floor with a view over the river and a neighbouring tea plantation. The ensuite... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Management response:

Dear,Valued Guest We thank you very much for your positive comments given to us,with regard to your stay at our hotel.we thank you very much and look forward in having you as our valued guest in the near future. Once again thank you so much Management More

London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Set in a rural (but not necessary quiet) location well outside Ratnapura. We had a very big room with a big balcony looking out over the river. Everything was OK but the whole place was rather faded and in need of some investment (e.g. the bath was large but scratched, and the white plastic pool chairs were rather grey). The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Ratnaloka Tour Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Ratnaloka Tour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ratnaloka Tour Inn

Address: Kosgala, Kahagama, Ratnapura, Kahangama, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kahangama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ratnaloka Tour Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Ratnaloka Tour Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ratnaloka Tour Inn Sri Lanka/Kahangama

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ratnaloka Tour Inns hotel in Sri Lanka is a star classified resort property established amidst lush paradise of tea garden where tranquility lies like a way of life; in the famous city of Gems and Ratnapura is a close proximity to unique Shrine dedicated to local deity Saman the tutelary deity of Adams Peak. We are at close proximity to The Sinharaja rain forest a world heritage site and the Udawalawe Elephant sanctuary.The hotel features 53 rooms with 11 deluxe rooms provided with air conditioning, Mini bar, attached bathroom provided with hot and cold water. Surrounded 50 acres of land with tea cultivation, trees of tropical fruits, number of herbs provides the luxury to each and every guest to breath with fresh air to soothe their body and mind from the morning they walk-up. The picturesque swimming pool shaded by an array of cardamom trees provides with an invigorating swim. Some of the other facilities are the main restaurant facing the tea estate, the air conditioned Orchid restaurant, bar etc..Other facilities include ID, Fax, Internet, email, Laundry and restaurant bar, Doctor on call, Foreign currency exchange and all other essential necessities. There are many places of interest that one could visit from Ratnaloka Tour Inns, Adam's peak, Sinharaja, Bentota cave, Pothgul rajamaha viharaya, Gemological museum, National museum and Udawalawe national park are some of the attractions. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ratnaloka Tour Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer