We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grove House

Certificate of Excellence
Main Street, Connel, Oban PA37 1PA, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grove House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Grove House
Grove House
Grove House
Add Photo Write a Review

437 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    340
    64
    20
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
218
28
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (437)
  • Mar-May only
    (110)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (155)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (128)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Made very welcome accommodation is wonderful very classy and very comfortable.Breakfast was fab great range of choices .Even provided an icebreaker for our wine .Only ten minutes to On an so nice and easy to catch a ferry.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your Grove House stay while en route to Mull. Your kind comments are much appreciated. May I say that it was a delight to meet you both, and to chat to you during your brief stay with us. I do hope that you enjoyed your island break , and we look forward... More 

Paddock
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From the warm and friendly reception, to the delicious breakfast the next day, we could not fault Grove House. Carolyn was a wonderful hostess - nothing was too much trouble for her. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The tasty breakfast, with Karen in attendance, was outstanding and beautifully presented. Attention to detail was excellent and Grove... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Grove House, and for choosing to stay with us. I shall pass your kind comments onto Carolyn. She takes great pride in the running of our place, and always looks forward to welcoming guests to stay. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the gourmet breakfast , and... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday and was not disapointed at all. We were both impressed with the decor and the property as a whole. The rooms were of an excellent standard and the staff were very friendly, and very helpful with advise for places to go and see. The choices for breakfast was very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time you review your stay at Grove House while celebrating your husbands 50th birthday. We would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us for what was a special few days for you both. It was super to read your lovely comments. May I say that it was a delight to meet you... More 

Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is great!! you couldnt wish for a warmer welcome from two of the most friendly and quirky women. we laughed and smiled from the minute we walked in the door. The accomodation is homely and bursting with comfort. The rooms are fabulous, bright and fully equipped even down to the little touches ( own fresh water bottle). Guests... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us while en route to the islands. I am delighted to read that you found both Carolyn and myself to be friendly. We are both in a most fortunate position where we love what we do , and each day we always look forward to welcoming guests to stay... More 

Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here with friends as a 60th birthday present from them to my husband while visiting Oban and area. It was our first time in a guest house/B&B as opposed to a hotel and we were more than delighted with the accommodation. We were given a very friendly welcome by Carolyn who showed us to our rooms which are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Grove House while celebrating your husbands 60th birthday. It was so lovely to read you comments about our place. Cleanliness is one of the many areas that we pay particular attention to throughout the entire property. Visit Scotland awarded us 100% for this on their recent visit.... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our trip up to Skye. Lovely place to stay staff cheerful, friendly and helpful. First experience of scottish hospitality. The room was clean, neat and tidy and the breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from. Nothing was too much trouble. Would definately stay again and recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you fro reviewing your overnight stay at Grove House while en route to Skye. It was so lovely to read your comments, they are very much appreciated. I do hope that you enjoyed your time up north, and perhaps one day we will be able to welcome you both back to Grove House for another stay. More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a night at Grove House as a treat for our friends 60th birthday while visiting Oban. Having never stayed in a guest house in Scotland I wasn't sure what to expect but we most certainly were not disappointed. We were made so welcome by Carolyn, a lovely lady, so friendly. The bedrooms are lovely, exactly as shown on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us at Grove House. I was delighted to read that you liked the design and style of our place, and that you were able to enjoy many of the little extras that we like our guests to sample during a stay, from the drinks machine offering hot chocolates,... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on a trip for our first anniversary for two nights and very much enjoyed our stay. Both staff members we met were lovely and were very easy to speak to. Our first night was accompanied by some high gales and terrible weather, so it was nice to sit in the conservatory whilst the wind was picking up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 night stay at Grove House while celebrating your wedding anniversary. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our extensive gourmet breakfast each morning. You mentioned about the possibility of using our outdoor hot tub during your stay. We say in our guest information folder, and on our web site... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My sister, friend and I have just spent the night here. We were at a concert in Oban. We were met with friendly smiles, checked our bags in a bit early and served an excellent breakfast in the morning. Thank you for allowing us to 'recover' in the lounge while we waited for our train. The relaxed hospitality and warmth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Craig, Thank you for taking the time to review your brief stay with us . May I say that it was not a problem for you all to drop your bags off early before you went to the concert. We are always happy to meet guests requirements when possible. It was lovely to read that you all enjoyed the gourmet... More 

North West England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

I stayed here in October 2014 with 2 friends, we each had a double room for single occ. We were welcomed by the lovely Helen quite late in the evening after travelling by rail - be warned Connel Station is pitch black at night so we missed the short cut path from the station down to the B&B and did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KarenOby, Owner at Grove House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Grove House. I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay. May I say that it was a delight to meet you, and I do hope that you enjoyed the rest of your Scotland adventure. Should you be back visiting again , I do hope that you will stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

134 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay