We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strumhor

Certificate of Excellence
Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Connel
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Strumhor
Add a photo
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

This was my first trip to the Oban area and Strumhor B&B, although my partner had visited the area before, . We received a very warm welcome, which was more than can be said for the weather at that point, from our hosts. The double room itself was fantastic with a separate shower/bath/toilet and a small sitting area with TV.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KenH2968
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this. It was a pity about the weather but that is, of course, out of our control! Glad you were happy here anyway. You were most welcome! More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2015

My wife and I, along with my 76 year old father-in-law, have just enjoyed a wonderful 3 night stay at Strumhor. From the ample parking at the rear of the property there are a few easily climbed steps (my father-in-law has mobility problems)into a large hallway that also serves as the breakfast room, both of our rooms lead of of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this, Nigel. Your visit was good fun and we look forward to welcoming you again. More 

Nairn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2015

We have just had the most amazing visit to Olga and Tony's B&B. The rooms were spotless, extremely comfortable beds and the facilities were truly excellent. The breakfast choices were amazing and so incredibly tasty. I loved every single thing about our three nights except having to leave! Nothing was too much trouble and we cannot wait to go back... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gina H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much. It was a complete pleasure to have you all here and I'm looking forward to Hogmanay with you. Let's hope for better weather! More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2015

We spent 2 nights at Strumhor, and honestly, we were a bit disappointed, all the more since the reviews on Tripadvisor are very positive. We had the Morvern room, and it clearly needs renovation : the paint is flaking and the furniture is quite old. Another problem is that the room directly communicate with the lobby, which means you'll hear... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank CapablancaTraveller
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

I am shocked and disappointed by this review and do apologise for the non-cleaning of the toilet. The little bit of bubbling on one wall is due to a new damp proof course being put in mid-season when we have been unable to repaint the room due to constant flow of guests. It will be dealt with as soon as... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2015

This B&B enjoys a slightly elevated position just south of the main road to Oban and overlooks Loch Etive and the tidal Falls of Lora. There is sufficient and easy parking to the rear. The room was immaculately clean and a reasonable size. Our en suite room had a small snug off with additional comfortable seating, TV, tea, coffee, wine... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonard m
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

How very kind. I found your stay very enjoyable too! More 

Pompano Beach, FL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2015

Olga makes her B&B a very comfortable home away from home, but the best part of your stay will be Olga herself. She is an engaging hostess and goes out of her way to make your stay the best it can be. Her beds are very comfortable and the location of her B&B is perfect. Every detail is seen to... More 

Helpful?
Thank n1125
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much. We were very pleased to have you to stay. More 

Oro Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2015

We really felt comfortable in this charming house with very nice accommodations and a delightful proprietor who was helpful and warm. Perfect spot for our overnight near Oban. Great books everywhere and comfortable chairs and beds and a perfect bathtub. The views were especially nice from the bedroom and the communal sunroom.

Helpful?
Thank FamilyStack
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

You were most welcome - thank you very much. Nice to meet you. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015 via mobile

Literally like a home from home. Great warm friendly welcome from the owners who go out there way each time to make you feel welcome. Rooms are always spotless and well equipped. Travel on the ferries from Oban at quite often erratic times and are always accommodating. Home made / conferred food is AMAZING too!

Helpful?
Thank Steve H
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this, Steve. You are always most welcome. Because we live so near to the ferries, it's really important that we can be flexible. More 

Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

This is in Connel, a short distance from Oban. I didn't want to stay in Oban proper and chose the Strumhor for that reason. Excellent choice. Olga was a very welcoming and gracious hostess. Eveything is very modern. The room, Lorn, was spacious to say the least. Nice bedroom with a basin, sitting/TV room and a separate bathroom all IN... More 

Helpful?
Thank Speckul8r
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Very many thanks for the nice review. I'm always relieved to hear that American guests find our room, Lorn, spacious as we are very conscious that rooms in the US are bigger on average than ours. More 

East Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

We had a nice time here. The chocolate torte Olga served with afternoon tea was very good. The view from the conservatory made it even better. The bedroom was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Tony and Olga are excellent hosts. We recommend staying here to tour this side of the isle.

Helpful?
Thank John B
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, which are greatly appreciated. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Connel
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grove House
Grove House
#2 of 9 in Connel
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#3 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities