We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Strumhor

Certificate of Excellence
Connel, Oban PA37 1PJ, Scotland
Strumhor
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (80)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (19)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Strumhor. It cannot be bettered! Olga & Tony cannot do enough for you. The room Lorn is lovely with a delightful view over Loch Etive. Breakfasts are exceptional with a good menu and a 'special' on most mornings. If you are lucky you might get to sample Olga's Gorse Fudge.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

We stayed one night when in the area for a family christening. Lovely welcome, homely but fresh, clean, and uncluttered. Tea and home baking in front of the wood burner on arrival was unexpected but a lovely welcome to the B&B. Beds comfy, rooms fantastic. Breakfast first class. Will be staying here again when we visit family. Thanks to Olga... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

So sorry it has taken me so long to thank you for this nice review. We enjoyed your visit and would be very happy to see you again. Best wishes, Olga More 

England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Having stayed previously at the beginning of September we knew something of what to expect. We went up for the Hogmanay Escape and were really looking forward to it. We were not disappointed! Prior to arriving our host Olga had a nasty motor bike accident and was nursing a broken shoulder blade and broken ribs. Olga would have been well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thank you very much for this. It was good to see you again. Just one thing for other guests: the big room is called Lorn! More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Yet another stay at Strumhor. My friend and I stayed in the single rooms, we were so looking forward to going back as we knew what to expect. We were greeted like old friends, the rooms were luxurious, with fabulous views, the beds heavenly and the breakfast unbeatable. Also, available were books, dvds, a comfortable sitting room and a large... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

And thank you again for your lovely review! More 

England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

My wife and I tried to get in to the Ronebhal guest house in Connel but unfortunately they were closed. However they were kind enough to recommend Strumhor and oh boy, what a find. Olga was very welcoming with tea and gorgeous lemon drizzle cake after a very arduous journey. The view from the front room is worth the fee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

How very kind of you. It was nice to meet you and I hope we'll see you again. More 

Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights very restful, looking out of our window to the river. Great breakfast, lovely clean spacious room, with small sitting area. Relaxed watching a few DVDs in the evening. Close enough to walk to local pub or restauant for dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

It was a great pleasure to have you here and I'm so glad you found it restful More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Had a night in Strumhor recently combined with a bit of paddling on the sea with Tony Hammock's Seafreedom Kayak. I stayed in the single 'Appin' room, it was spotlessly clean with breathtaking views across the Falls of Lora and Connel bridge. The service was fantastic, Tony and Olga are superb hosts. The lounge has a log burning stove, piano,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

This is very kind of you. You know you are always a welcome guest. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed for a few nights and i could have stayed for weeks. Our room was so comfy with the most stunning view of the water. Olga is the most amazing hostess. She was kind, and very knowledgeable of the area and available tours with good suggestions on the best way to see the puffins (a truly magical experience). we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

What a lovely review! I enjoyed your stay so much and would be very happy to see you again. More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and our recently graduated daughter. The moment we walked in, we loved it! The well appointed cozy rooms, the gorgeous views of Falls of Lora, the sunny conservatory, the residents lounge - all perfect! Olga, our host, made our stay extremely comfortable...welcomed us with afternoon tea and chocolate brittle. The following day, she... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Thanks very much for this warm review. We very much enjoyed your stay too! More 

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Such a warm, friendly and homely place that we were tempted to go to breakfast in our PJ's! Olga is the consummate B&B host - interested and interesting, present - while not being intrusive, a fabulous cook and extremely generous in her sharing of home appliances (putting paid to the looming crisis of the unwashed 'knickers'). In fact the only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
joanna53, Owner at Strumhor, responded to this review

Well, yes that would be something! Your stay was as good fun as your review! Do come again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities