We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

4.0 of 5 Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Queens Head
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Queens Head
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    70
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
16
128
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (195)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (50)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed with my husband on Friday 23/1/15, one night stay on Living social deal. We found the staff all very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Warm, clean room with comfortable beds. Good food and great conversation in bar with bar staff and other couples staying there. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely meal here last night., I recommend the giant fish cake. Staff very friendly, food gorgeous. Going tomorrow for Sunday carvery which we've had many times and never been disappointed..marvelous!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
north east
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Family weekend away purchased a Groupon voucher, great value as Saturdays were included, would have given it 5 but the mattress in the room was so hard I hardly slept, did complain the next morning and was told they were new beds but she would check it out. apart from that no complaints Staff great, food excellent, would definitely come... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for the lovely review, sorry you found the mattress too hard, they were really expensive with 2000 pocket springs but are quite firm. I do hope you come and stay again, we have mattress toppers, so just ask.. Thanks again Teresa More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night only on New Years eve with my husband. Lovely room, had three course meal, delicious and service perfect! Made to feel welcome, all staff very friendly, (especially Gina in bar!). Thankyou all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, and your first so double thanks, Gina is a gem, and I will be sure to pass on your comments, do come and stay again. Teresa More 

York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the queens Head and had a very enjoyable time. The room we had had been recently redecorated to a high standard and a large on suite bathroom. Both were very clean. we went for a drink after checking in and the staff were friendly and helpful and the bar had a very nice atmosphere. We dined... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
46 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you believe the old adage "actions speak louder than words" then all I need say is that we've just returned from our 3rd visit to the Queen's Head, this year. We just love it. Lovely comfortable rooms, way above average pub grub and the friendliest staff you can hope to encounter. We were fortunate enough to catch a musical... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the lovely review, its really appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Teresa More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner recently spent a night here. The room we were put in was bare, cold and uninspiring. Unfortunately the bottom before sheet wad stained and our bed was made by putting 2 singles together making a rather uncomfortable gap between us. The room was clean but that's all it had going for it we were away from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, I am sorry you were not happy with your room. As I don't know who you are I can only say that we tried to accommodate everyone who wanted a double room on a weekend and informed everyone that the room you stayed in was a twin but could be made up as a king size with a mattress... More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Yes the hotel is old but it is warm,friendly and has character. We stayed one night via a Living Social deal . Staff very welcoming .Bar has character with a wood burning stove. We had a meal in the restaurant with a complementary bottle of wine. Food was very good including the full English breakfast the next day. There are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

Myself and my partner have just returned from a one night stay here using a Livingsocial voucher. Wow! So much better than we were expecting! When we emailed to book a room, there were no doubles available, however we were offered a twin which they could make into a double for us. The room was very clean and cosy and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

HI Vanessa, Thanks for leaving a review its really lovely of you to take the time to leave your comments, we look forward to seeing you again. Teresa More 

Glasgow
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2014

From the warm welcome we received as we checked-in to the pleasant greeting as we checked-out two days later we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We use a Living Social deal for our first night and the server very quickly brought us our complimentary bottle of preferred wine to go with our meal. The restaurant was quiet so we opted to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving us a review and your recommendation, its lovely for us to hear you enjoyed your stay. Teresa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay