We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

Certificate of Excellence
Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Queens Head
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

244 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on a two night Living Social deal. Clean rooms, excellent breakfasts and friendly, efficient staff, While some of the room furniture is in need of updating the rooms themselves were thankfully very warm from the moment we arrived and the showers were nice and hot. Good range of excellent ale too. We will certainly visit again,

Helpful?
Thank rokers19
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for leaving us a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again, keep in touch for our own special deals. Teresa More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the 31st Dec` 20015, along with friends stayed at The Queen`s in Rothbury. We had a most enjoyable meal, had fun with other diners an d the waiting on staff , who were attentive without being intrusive. The piper at midnight, banter and conviviality were second to none. After a good nights sleep in the excellent accommodation, and a... More 

Helpful?
Thank George S
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello George, Thank you for leaving us your review and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Teresa More 

Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Queens Head restaurant is one of my favourite places to eat since moving to Rothbury 8 years ago. Great food with a friendly service, and a good selection of wines! Rothbury is known for its live music scene and the Queens has been a long-term supporter of this with Rothbury Roots, a monthly live music night with an eclectic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were given 2 night's bed & breakfast as a Christmas gift . We enjoyed the short break. The weather was mild but wet but nobody's spirits were the least bit dampened in Rothbury or in the hotel. The staff were all lovely, very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was hearty and meant we only wanted a small snack at... More 

Helpful?
Thank VCI59
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Valerie, So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Rothbury, the weather was shocking though. I hope you will come back to visit when the sun eventually comes back. Teresa More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Six of us stayed over for a one night break between Christmas and New Year. Our room was on the top floor, comfortable, clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were very pleasant, welcoming and helpful.This is a quaint hotel with traditional charm and a lovely warm atmosphere.We will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank brown_j47
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

So pleased you enjoyed your stay, hope you can come and stay again soon. Terry More 

Leeds
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and it was very cheap as we did it through Living Social. It was such a mixed visit so will be as honest and fair as possible. The village is lovely and we travelled all over Northumberland from it. Our greeting was warm and welcoming and we were shown to our room. It was... More 

Helpful?
Thank helenh13Leeds
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Helen, I am so sorry you did not enjoy your meal, there really is no excuse and your comments are very helpful. As you said we usually have really good reviews for our food so this makes it doubly disappointing for you and me so thank you for your candid review, we will certainly be looking into this. I... More 

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015 via mobile

Just spent two nights here. Stayed in room three which was very clean and comfortable. Friendly staff. Breakfasts good. Had one evening meal which was tasty. Would definitely recommend a visit if you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank sarah6624
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Sarah So pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the food, I do hope you will come and stay with us again Thank you Teresa More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Went last weekend for an overnight stay and what should of taken an hour journey lasted twice as long due to the storm Desmond . When we got there we had a lovely meal in the restaurant and a live band was on so we went into the bar area afterwards rooms a bit dated but was absolutely spotless great... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank julie w
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Julie, Thank you for your lovely review, we appreciate it when people take the time to say nice things, lol. The weather was appalling we got soaked two or three times over the weekend, such a shame it spoiled the Christmas Festival as well. We hope to see you again in better circumstances. Teresa More 

Co Durham
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2015

Our room was a good size and very comfortable and clean. Staff were outstanding and made us feel very welcome. We had dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the food, good sized portions and excellent quality. Breakfast on the morning was cooked to perfection. It is situated in an ideal location for visiting various places in Northumberland and the village... More 

Helpful?
Thank CoDurhamAnn
missytiger, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Sorry for the delay in responding, thank you so much for your lovely review Ann, we hope you will come and stay with us again soon. Teresa More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

Just got back from a 3 night stay here for our anniversary, lovely hotel a little bit old fashioned and tired in some places. Ate in the restaurant twice and could not fault the food, the service on the Sunday was a little poor.. One of the girls seemed like she really didn't want to be there. Other than that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenny B
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello Jenny, Thank you for taking to time to review your stay with us. I am a little concerned that you said you had very little choice for breakfast... we offer cereals, yoghurts, juice, fresh fruit, toast, porridge, and 5 cooked breakfasts . If you were not offered all of these please let me know. Thanks again Teresa More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.8 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
10.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#11 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#9 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay