We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

4.0 of 5 Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Queens Head
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Queens Head
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    64
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
113
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (42)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely little pub with an old fashioned, friendly bar with good staff. There was a band playing for someone’s birthday and they were really good, we thoroughly enjoyed listening to them and they made the place really lively. We did try to eat in the restaurant, which looked lovely and quite posh (compared to the bar) but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Sorry you could not get into the restaurant, it was very busy on Saturday night, the Band were called Ma Kellys Boys and they are a local band they where terrific we thoroughly enjoyed it ourselves.... Thanks for the review. Teresa More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed just for one night through a Living Social deal while on a road trip to Northumberland. Our previous two night stay further north in another hotel had not gone well and we were a little apprehensive on our arrival at the Queens Head. As others have stated it is a little quirky but our room was well decorated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay especially after your disappointment with previous place, would hate you to have a bad impression of our lovely county. Will keep in touch and let you know of any off season offers we do. Teresa More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a regular visitor to the Queens Head, I can thoroughly recommend this hotel as a base for touring Northumberland. Comfortable rooms (pity that bedside cabinet in room 16 didn't contain any proper drawers), large breakfasts and reasonably priced evening meals (large portions too). The beer is top quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a very pleasant stay here and would consider re-visiting. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was of a high standard with lovely presentation. Gina the manager was very friendly and helpful always with a big smile too. This was our first stay on a road trip to Northumberland and it is recommended if you are looking for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving a review for us, its really appreciated, I will pass on your comments to Gina, Thanks again. Teresa More

Crook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

For the price we paid it was a great overnight stop. A little old fashioned but quaint in its own way. The dining rom was nice and spacious. The staff overall were very helpful. The hotel suited our purpose as we were visiting nearby Cragside House

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to leave a review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Teresa More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

This hotel is comfortable enough but it is not an inspiring place, It suited our purpose well of being somewhere to stay while walking the St. Oswald's Way. The food was also OK but unspectacular, it wasa bit pricey for what we got.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello John W, Thanks for the review, I was not aware that we were expected to be inspiring, hahahaha, I would have thought that walking The St. Oswalds Way would be inspiring enough, and everything in life is subjective, another review from our online booking agent eviivo from a couple who stayed with us for 4 days recently whilst walking... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

We only stayed for one night ( a Friday) on our way up from further down South and decided to stay here using the voucher. The hotel is obviously very old and the rooms obviously cannot be changed to upgrade to a newish type hotel but I thought it was very comfortable. We had a room which faced the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IRELAND
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Stayed here for one night in August. Our Room 15 was large enough, but the pillows weren't very nice, so it was difficult to get comfortable. The room could do with a bit of an upgrade though and the bathroom wasn't great. The room that we were in is definitely not worth £80, in my opinion. The star of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving a review, its much appreciated. As with the previous review, we are very busy decorating, I am sure you can appreciate what a bit job that is, we are getting around to the rooms one floor at a time. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, not so your pillows,,,,, I will check them out and replace... More

Egham
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
89 hotel reviews
424 helpful votes 424 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very disappointed. The room (number 3) is extremely small. The door did not open fully as one of the single beds was behind it and against the wall and was in the way. By the time our cases were on the floor we could not get to the dressing table and stool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, The reason that the corridors where in a bit of disarray was because we are decorating, you could not have missed that, in fact the room you stayed in has been totally redecorated since you left. If you had asked for another room we would gladly have moved you or found you more suitable accommodation elsewhere in the village.... More

northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Lovely clean friendly refurbished hotel.stayed with a living social deal which was excellent value for b&b alone never mind the free bottle of wine when we had a meal.the food was fresh and very tasty.Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the lovely review, I sometimes think I am running two different pubs on parallel time zones then I am reminded that we do a good job and I feel rejuvinated.... Thanks Teresa More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay