We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queens Head

4.0 of 5 Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
#6 of 11 Hotels in Rothbury
172 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Queens Head
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
112
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crook, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For the price we paid it was a great overnight stop. A little old fashioned but quaint in its own way. The dining rom was nice and spacious. The staff overall were very helpful. The hotel suited our purpose as we were visiting nearby Cragside House

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Thanks for taking to time to leave a review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Teresa More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is comfortable enough but it is not an inspiring place, It suited our purpose well of being somewhere to stay while walking the St. Oswald's Way. The food was also OK but unspectacular, it wasa bit pricey for what we got.

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello John W, Thanks for the review, I was not aware that we were expected to be inspiring, hahahaha, I would have thought that walking The St. Oswalds Way would be inspiring enough, and everything in life is subjective, another review from our online booking agent eviivo from a couple who stayed with us for 4 days recently whilst walking... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night ( a Friday) on our way up from further down South and decided to stay here using the voucher. The hotel is obviously very old and the rooms obviously cannot be changed to upgrade to a newish type hotel but I thought it was very comfortable. We had a room which faced the main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IRELAND
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night in August. Our Room 15 was large enough, but the pillows weren't very nice, so it was difficult to get comfortable. The room could do with a bit of an upgrade though and the bathroom wasn't great. The room that we were in is definitely not worth £80, in my opinion. The star of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for leaving a review, its much appreciated. As with the previous review, we are very busy decorating, I am sure you can appreciate what a bit job that is, we are getting around to the rooms one floor at a time. So pleased you enjoyed your breakfast, not so your pillows,,,,, I will check them out and replace... More

Egham
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
81 hotel reviews
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very disappointed. The room (number 3) is extremely small. The door did not open fully as one of the single beds was behind it and against the wall and was in the way. By the time our cases were on the floor we could not get to the dressing table and stool.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, The reason that the corridors where in a bit of disarray was because we are decorating, you could not have missed that, in fact the room you stayed in has been totally redecorated since you left. If you had asked for another room we would gladly have moved you or found you more suitable accommodation elsewhere in the village.... More

northumberland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely clean friendly refurbished hotel.stayed with a living social deal which was excellent value for b&b alone never mind the free bottle of wine when we had a meal.the food was fresh and very tasty.Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for the lovely review, I sometimes think I am running two different pubs on parallel time zones then I am reminded that we do a good job and I feel rejuvinated.... Thanks Teresa More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for 5 nights. Very comfortable room and very quiet. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant and bar was extremely good quality and very reasonably priced. The service was 10/10. Great breakfast with a fab Northumberland full monty. This is a great place to stay and I would recommend it very highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Wow, thanks for the lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we loved having you, please come again.... I will keep you informed of our off season deals if you can get away from Ipswich you will be more than welcome. Teresa More

Newton Aryncliffe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I have just spent the night at The Queens Head. We had a lovely newly refurbished room, finished just 2 days ago. The staff were very friendly. The evening meal was excellent. It was the best selection we have ever had for breakfast and again excellent. We would certainly stay again .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger55, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, you stayed in the refurbished room that the folk above gave a very poor review to, its confusing as the room had already been redecorated a week before they left their review. Hope you will be able to come and stay with us again. Teresa More

Washington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a night here after doing tour of Northumberland. The room was lovely freshly decorated staff very friendly. The evening meals fab pays to book in advance very busy . The breakfast choice excellent .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thanks for your fab review, so pleased you enjoyed your short stay. If you left us your email address I will keep you informed of any off season deals so hopefully you will be able to stay a bit longer next time. Teresa More

Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 1 night on 16.8.14 for Simple Minds concert at Alnwick Castle. Welcomed by a very friendly chap who took us up to room 15 which is at the front of the hotel overlooking a nice high street. The room was large with a very comfy bed and was well equipped with everything we needed. We did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for the lovely review, so pleased you got a good cab company to get you back from the concert, I thought they sounded wonderful, but you never can tell. Hope you can come back and visit us again. Teresa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Queens Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Northumberland/Rothbury

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Rothbury with
any amenities