We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coquetvale Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE657QJ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Coquetvale Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    216
    201
    48
    14
    12
See reviews for
52
344
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (491)
  • Mar-May only
    (153)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After are hosts at the bed and breakfast we were staying at recommended the restaurant we walked through the torrential rain to get there to be told sorry they were only catering for residents. Very dissapointing

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bourne, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Coquetvale Hotel. The room was very pleasant and the bed was very comfortable. The meals were also very good. Wevwill be back in Rothbury next year and will probably choose the Coquetvale Hotel again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bundaberg, Australia
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a comfortable and very clean loft room. Yes the hotel is a little dated but it is being refurbished. The staff were helpful and cheerful. I would go back. The kitchen was being upgraded when we visited but we were told beforehand and the hotel provided a Continental breakfast which was lovely and more than adequate.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Due to renovation the services were restricted when we stayed which affected our enjoyment of our short break. It was also not as clean as it could be and had a 'Fawlty Towers' feeling to it. Breakfast however was good and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harpenden, England
Level Contributor
124 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were fine but the exterior needs some work and it feels disorganised. An over-running kitchen refurbishment meant a relatively meagre 'continental' breakfast - finally laid out in full at 8.30am. Whilst we were given a generous £10 reduction per person and notified before our arrival (endless emails from different people) the over-run seemed symptomatic of wider problems.The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well, what can I say other than it was a pleasure to have stayed at this hotel for a few nights last week. My self and my partner had a few days off together and decided to book this hotel after reading all of the excellent reviews. We were greeted with a warm welcome and instantly felt at home. All... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel after visiting Cragside, Hotel was clean and room was plenty big enough and comfortable. Used the wifi extensively. Only complaint was that restaurant and kitchen were closed for refurbishment. This was disappointing because we had wanted to try the restaurant which had good reviews. Also meant we didn't get cooked breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steven I'm so glad that you were pleased with your stay. I'm sure that someone explained that a 3 day kitchen refurb ended uo taking two weeks. We will be in touch with you regarding this over the next week. Regards Lee More 

Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a triple room which was very nice and had very nice features (good quality tea cups and biscuits). Which was slightly undone by the lack of a working shower. The hotel is getting refurbished as we speak so it could be worth revisiting in a few months.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi ELriley I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thought that the rooms were to a good standard. We are about to install the new shower into the triple room, as its the only one without. We really hope to see you again at the Coquetvale. Best Regards Lee More 

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a party of 25 plus 2 babies, all thoroughly enjoyed the weekend. Thanks to Tyrone, his under manager and all the staff. All very friendly, helpful and very very accommodating. Top Floor rooms are very nice, well kitted out and beautifully decorated. Superior rooms especially the bed in Room 1 are stunning, light and airy. Mine was a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sandra I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your celebration, and that the hotel was OK for you. We certainly are upgrading the one bathroom that does not have a overhead shower. The pressure to the lofts has now been sorted with the introduction of two new pressure generators. I will let Tyrone & James know you... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Service was very good Nice room not very clean Furniture and decoration ancient The location and view from the room was very pleasant Paintwork and paper in bathroom very shabby Tiles around rubbish bin dirty

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Bobsouthern Thank you for letting us know your thoughts on your stay. I'm pleased that you thought the service was good and the room was nice. I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the bathroom. This is our next project, the bathrooms I can assure you are very clean, however this room is one of our priorities. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
10.7 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#4 of 4 in Alnwick
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#3 of 3 in Bamburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 601 reviews
12.0 mi away
Otterburn Castle Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay