We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Rothbury B&Bs / inns

The Coquetvale Hotel

Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE657QJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Coquetvale Hotel to your Saves list
The Coquetvale Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
87%
Ranked #6 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Toonster970 Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (391)
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (96)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    178
    164
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
276
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here and was impressed with our room, all Stag furniture, huge bed. Nice big room. Bathroom was huge with a Jacuzzi style corner bath and a walk in shower. Breakfast was very nice and although we only stayed for one night, i would definitely return for a longer stay. We didn't use the restaurant below but i have been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a little gem, the service and food was great, lovely Italian restaurant. nice room. very curtious and helpful staff. we enjoyed our stay very much.after the car park has been re-surfaced,this hotel is ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited with my mum for a treat and the hotel is lovely, very clean and elegant. Afternoon tea was good value and plentiful for two people. Only downfall for my mum was the stairs as even the restaurant was up 1 1/2 flights of stairs if you have any mobility problems then would not be ideal. I will be visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Shona Its great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Since you stayed we have now introduced some great new outdoor furniture, and have introduced an outdoor waiting service. We totally agree we are not well designed for anyone who has difficulty with stairs. We do however try and warn people on the booking page, but... More

Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Outside of the hotel a little run down but don't be put off, the inside is decorated to a high standard and is very clean throughout. Staff are available and helpful, our room (7) was large, clean and comfortable with good in-room information and access to wifi, the room was above the kitchens though and therefore really warm, even with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kerry Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. With regards to the front of the building we are having that all sorted over the next week, so the next time you visit we should have a far more attractive frontage. Or if you join us on Facebook or Twitter, we are keeping everyone up to... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We happened upon this by chance & needed a place to stay while doing some radio show interviews in the area . First impression was a little worrying as the entrance / car park looked a little run down but what a nice surprise inside. The room was very comfortable & all the usual touches around . The evening meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Paul Thanks so much for the feedback and positive comment. We are currently looking at the exterior of the hotel at the moment, with the new decked area and comfy rattan furniture, and the gardens are getting completed over the next few weeks. I will pass you comments onto the team. Best Regards Lee More

North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A truly disappointing stay after a supposed refurbishment. Room ok but en-suite had broken basin and dripping toilet. During the night we were awakened every 15 mins by either the fan or cistern droning very loudly. Breakfast service was terrible with no staff around to take orders or clean and reset tables. Won't be staying again

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just stayed for 3 nights in a lovely spacious room (room 1). I cannot praise the staff enough, definitely the best service I have ever had in a hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. The large chains should come and learn! Rothbury is a great base for Alnick, Cragside and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lynn Thanks so much for the positive feedback, and we are so pleased that you had a great stay. I have passed your comments onto the team and they were very appreciated. We will look forward to seeing you all again soon. Take care Lee More

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked a weekend away to see family in the North East and booked the Coquetvale due to its location. Stayed in room 2 and as has been described in earlier posts its a truly massive room with ensuite bathroom. Firstly the equally massive bed turned out to be two single mattress's pushed together to make a super king/king sized bed.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Avatar2501 Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback. I'm sorry that we felt things were not perfect with your stay, and we are doing everything to put these things right. Without your comments it makes our mission to improve things a lot harder. With regards to the mattress, it is a zip and link mattress... More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Have visited this hotel a few years ago, and was slightly disappointed this time. Our allocated room had a mattress with broken springs. The manager moved us to an attic room which was more spacious, but the shower was poor. Our meal in the Italian restaurant was nice, but a little pricey - as were the drinks. The staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi John Many thanks for your feedback. Just to give you a quick update. After your comments regarding the mattress, we immediately ordered a new one. As mentioned at the time, we had never had this mentioned in the past so it hadn't ever been flagged as an issue. We are however grateful you did mentioned it, as we would... More

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is the Old Station Hotel...very nice building and the owners are making a great job on the refurb. Room was clean and spacious. Staff excellent, service and food very good. A very enjoyable stay will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi GT13630 Thanks for taking the time to send your thoughts. I have passed them onto the manager, who will then pass them onto the staff. (They're always pleased when guests are pleased.) We will look forward to seeing you again soon. Lee More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Coquetvale Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE657QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Northumberland/Rothbury

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
19th Century Country Town hotel perfectly located on the edge of The Northumberland National Park in the beautiful tranquil village of Rothbury - just 11 miles from Alnwick.Ideal as a walking, cycling or outdoor pursuit base or simply just a nice relaxing break for the weekend. The Coquetvale Hotel boasts a very popular award winning Italian restaurant which is open daily from 5.00 pm - 9.30 pm. The bedrooms are all spacious en suite rooms with colour TV and Hospitality trays the superior rooms also have spa baths and separate cubicle showers.Please note that this Hotel does not have a lift. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer