We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Coquetvale Hotel

Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE657QJ, England
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Coquetvale Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Coquetvale Hotel
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    182
    42
    12
    8
See reviews for
45
305
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (437)
  • Mar-May only
    (115)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (111)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (131)
All months
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

Booked this hotel for a 2 night stay via groupon also purchased Sunday lunch for 2 for the Sunday we arrived. Firstly the emails you send need to be checked prior to sending as 3 days before we arrive mail stating if we wanted to book meal in restaurant to contact them...day after mail stating restaurant and bar would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a weekend stay at the cocquetvale hotel, and can only say we have had a fabulous time. We had a loft room which was spotlessly clean, really comfortable bed, lovely sitting area also a fridge which is a bonus. Breakfast was perfect a huge choice and everything cooked to order. We ate at the hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A recent weekend stay found a lovely furnished hotel but bedrooms dated, not worth upgrading to superior rooms and shower not high enough to stand under if your above six foot.However staff were lovely and pizza fabulous.The village of Rothbury was small and quaint with friendly local pubs and excellent Indian restauarant near the Hotel, would definitely return

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Maxine Thanks for your feedback. Could i ask which room you stayed in? We have recently refurbished all but one room, however that room is due to be done and is already a nice room, therefore I am slightly puzzled. If you could let me know that would be a massive help. I am glad you were happy with... More 

Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first visit ,and can't help feeling that our main problem has already been mentioned and should have been addressed by now.On arrival we walked into our room to find it very cold...heating not working, aft been given a fan heater that too also stopped working.We had no towels in our room and were told the laundry hadn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi LesleyNJ Many thanks for your feedback on your stay with us. I'm so sorry to hear that things were not as expected when you arrived. With regards to the heating, as a small hotel we have to run the heating on a regulated basis, and also on a weather dependent basis. This is due to the fact that we... More 

Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So excited to return to this hotel where we had had a wonderful weekend 3 years ago. What a disappointment, the room was very tired and shabby, TV and Wi-Fi did not work properly. The evening meal was a set menu for Valentines day and it was poor over flavoured soup, over cooked pork and soggy veg, the live entertainment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Heather I am sorry to hear that your stay was not to your satisfaction. To address some of the issues. I understand everyone's opinions are subjective and personal. With regards to the decoration of the rooms and building, when you stayed 3 years ago we were told that the building was in a terrible state of disrepair, therefore when... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our first time on valentines night. On arrival we were given a quick tour of the neccessary areas (evening meal area, bar and breakfast area) then we were shown to our room and left to relax. The room was an ideal size and very clean, the bathroom had a good sized double shower in however we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff here are really friendly and welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble as they tried to redress any complaints. The bedroom had 2 singles pushed together to make a 6ft but this meant that there was a very uncomfortable zip down the middle. We were moved to a family room which had a separate single bed so my husband... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi suebmanchester Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. This is the 1st time anyone has addressed the issues with the zip & link beds. We will certainly look into the mattress toppers. With regards to the family room I am slightly puzzled as there is a double bed & a single in there? with... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This my husbands and I second stay at the coquetvale and it was fantastic we spent valentines evening here. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant with complimentary fizz in arrival. The staff were great and friendly. We stayed in the superior room and it was great and vey spacious with amazing views.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel B I'm glad you enjoyed our Valentines event, I will pass your comments onto the team. We look forward to seeing you again very soon, and thank for your ongoing support. Take care Lee More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely hotel. Room was great with good facilities and fantastic view. Had sunday lunch there which was very good. All staff were very helpful but in particular , James made sure we were happy during our stay. Would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melroseb123 Glad that you had a pleasant stay with us, and i will let James know he loves the feedback!!!!!! We look forward to seeing you again very soon. If you are planning on coming back don't forget to get the best rates direct. Take care Lee More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After getting married in Alnwick we chose the Coquetvale hotel for our party of 14 with a meal, rooms and breakfast. the staff we're amazing the food 100% the rooms were beautiful with an awesome spa bath. We will definitely be returning. Thank you again for looking after all our needs. I must mention The stunning views xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Stoker358 Thanks for all of your feedback. I'm glad you were impressed with everything, our staff are fab and take a pride in guests walking away happy (which it sounds like we did). We look forward to seeing you back again very soon. For the best rates visit us direct. Take care and congratulations again. Lee More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE657QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Northumberland/Rothbury

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (42)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay