We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

L'Auberge du Choucas

17 Rue de la Fruitiere, 05220 Le Monetier-les-Bains, France
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
L\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2015

My partner and I ended up at L'Auberge du Choucas by accident when my motorbike broke down on a touring holiday in August 2015 and this is where our insurance chose to accommodate us. The room was large and spacious with a balcony. The staff could not have been more helpful and the owner even rang the garage on several... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Light accidents sometimes bring a good surprise : that was the case when you arrived, we were glad to welcome you and help get your motorbike fixed (everybody would appreciate to get help in difficult situation)... If one day I get stuck with my motorbike around Ballynahinch, I am sure friendly people, like you, will take... More 

Montreal
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

Staff is very nice but owner is very bossy and arrogant. Room is very nice but not worth the price, bathroom is clean, bed is avg, restaurant is expensive, 7€ for a coffee!!!!! View is poor unless you pay 100€ more!!!way too expensive for the price.

Helpful?
Thank RikHD
auberge_du_choucas, Responsable réception at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Your comment makes me think the following remarks : - "very traditionnal but not worth it" : as you well noticed the very traditional style of our house, does that mean tradition is not worth ? - during your short stay (1 night), you were welcomed by myself, you checked-out with my colleague, and you hardly saw or... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

We are fans of the Relais Du Silence group of gastronomique hotels, but feel somewhat letdown by this one, particularly given some of the accolades in the reviews. We were comfortable with the amount asked but ultimately not what we got for it. An overly narrow room, with an extremely small enclosed toilet, and hot water that only arrived after... More 

Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Rodney H
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, We were happy to welcome you from 9th to 11th June. When you checked-out and paid your bill, you filled the usual comment card, giving the best marks (excellent) to all items. You forgot to leave the key of your room, and we couldn't reach you by phone nor by mail, so we were glad to receive it... More 

Hong Kong Region, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2015

Travelling from Torino to Lyon and choose the mountain route. In Late April so wayyyyy off season. Even so we loved the place. While restaurants were a struggle to find the community was beautiful and we truly enjoyed everything about it. The hotel was wonderful and the staff were very helpful...so much so that the owner even called us on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marcus C
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

A truly very charming couple we had the pleasure to welcome and chat with ! Thank you again for your visit. Waiting for you during the ski season. Meanwhile, all the best for both of you. More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We spent two nights at le Choucas while skiing in Monetier. The snow was cold and hard, the reception at Choucas was warm and inviting. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and spacious. Nicely set up to allow one of us to slip out and ski while the other slept in. The set menu... More 

Helpful?
Thank rls1025
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Thank you Sir for your kind comment. The staff and me, we all enjoyed to welcome you and we hope you will be able to make a return trip to explore our chef’s cooking. Waiting for this pleasure, With my best regards More 

Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

My husband booked the Auberge for a weekend at the beginning of October after a very busy summer working and hosting many family and friends. We had such a warm welcome and very much enjoyed the food even though, for the auberge, it was very much low season prior to the build up to winter, Christmas and skiing. We were... More 

Helpful?
Thank JuliaJones_11
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Madam, Dear Sir, Brilliant clients such as you, are just what we need ! We are looking forward to welcome you again. Warm regards More 

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Great little intimate hotel we chose because of the restaurant, which was worth the trip. We went at the end of the season late August, so they were not overwhelmed with guests. Service was very friendly, the owner spoke to us at dinner and insisted on checking on our stay when we were leaving, a rare customer focus. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank IAHGVA
auberge_du_choucas, Propriétaire at L'Auberge du Choucas, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Your comments about our hotel and our restaurant have for us the very taste of that “best lamb” you described. The chef, myself and the staff thank you for your “good” appreciation, a kind of gastronomy for us. Our chef is glad when clients are able to recognize his passionate and creative work, with fresh products of high... More 

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Having stayed at Le Choucas before we returned this year with high hopes and were not disappointed. The ambience, reinforced by welcoming and courteous staff, is restrained yet warmly quirky. The food is good and the dining room, roofed by arches of undressed stone, is an experience in itself. The bedrooms are comfortable and the standard of service high. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank William S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

just stayed a week there. we stayed there a week as well last year and the over all excellent quality (rooms, food, atmosphere) we experienced a year ago was unchanged.special mention to the food with a very good chef now in his second year. great breakfast buffet

Helpful?
Thank paury
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was one of the highlights of our 2 week trip. Great room, excellent food, wonderful staff. They really wanted you to feel like you were staying in a small charming Inn and we were. We felt right at home. The dining room was excellent! Be sure to have breakfast there, it is a real treat!

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Monetier-les-Bains
0.2 mi away
Hotel Residence Les Colchiques
Hotel Residence Les Colchiques
#4 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
3.6 mi away
Rock Noir
Rock Noir
#1 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alliey
Hotel Alliey
#1 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Le Chalet d'en Ho
Le Chalet d'en Ho
#1 of 4 in Nevache
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Bonnabel
Hotel Bonnabel
#3 of 6 in Le Monetier-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
Le Grand Aigle Hotel
#2 of 12 in Serre-Chevalier
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay