We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Esher B&Bs / inns

Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)

82 High Street | Heather Place, Esher, England
Hotel amenities
Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel) to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 7 Esher B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
anni55 weybridge
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
6
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (27)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
weybridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I live in Esher and consider myself fortunate to be able to enjoy the excellent food served at the Albert. The steaks are AMAZING! My only sadness is that the burgers aren't served in the main restaurant just in the bar. Service has always been good. I can't comment on the hotel side as I live within walking distance. How... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We're delighted you love our food as much as we do! We do hope you'll be back to see us again soon and in the meantime, please do follow us on the book of faces etc to stay in touch. Thank you so much once again. The Albert Arms More 

Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a very pleasant stay here over the weekend while we were enjoying a day at Sandown Races. Rooms are adequate but a little noisy when other guests are coming and going. Breakfast was a real treat and included in the price. Very handy location and restaurant and pub has a friendly and lively atmosphere. Staff are very helpful. Will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Esher, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Don't get along as often as I should (living in Esher but working most Sundays) but Sunday lunch at the Albert is always terrific value. Relaxed atmosphere and a nice three course menu to choose from. Never look beyond the 'odds on shot' the roast beef but sure other options are equally good too. My parents have also stayed in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review, we're delighted you enjoy our Sunday roast beef as much as we do! All our beef is sourced either directly from the farm in Somerset or fresh from Smithfield market and we're proud to serve generous portions at great value. We are extremely grateful that you took the time to share your experience and... More 

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Made the mistake of taking my Nigerian girlriend to the Albertfor a steak last friday. Menu has shrunk to beer mat size since last visit. Staff dressed in black like the taliban where they get they get their customer training. £50 for chateaubriand for two. Menu studded with references to boutique mews hotel. Hence small, overdesigned and overpriced. Sums up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Owner at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Dear Roytheryder What a truly horrible review! Let’s look at it step by step. I have no idea why you need to point out that your girlfriend is Nigerian, she seemed very pleasant and somewhat embarrassed by your behaviour! The menu at The Albert Arms is constantly changing and has always been based around the finest steak and freshest fish.... More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I needed to be in central Esher for 2 nights in December. And this Pub/hotel is certainly central. The food in the restaurant was good, (I only ate there one night) although the chef shouting or banging on the service hatch every time an order was ready, did drive my friend and I mad! The hotel itself is in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Really fab food!!....great dinner and really good breakfast !, Rooms were good value, very clean, but pillows were really really soft!! We were there for business ,the pub was very friendly...Would recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated and we do hope you'll come back and see us again soon. With best wishes, The Albert Arms More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Nice room, big and had all commodities . Poor breakfast. No reception service. Room was clean and comfortable but having no reception makes it a bed and breakfast and not a hotel... Overall was a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you did not realise that reception was over the road at The Albert Arms were you collected your key and ate breakfast. With only six rooms we do not feel it is necessary to have a reception in the hotel as well however if guests require anything there is always someone available 7am-11.30pm... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Fabulous steaks from a specially acquired herd in the West Country. Quite superb. Grilled fish and chicken is good too. The starters and sweets are wholesome, tasty, well served and well presented. The wine list is surprisingly good for a pub/diner. We will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Albert Arms - we hugely appreciate it and do hope you come back soon. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed here during the August bank holiday weekend. Although the room was small it s was ok. But no hot water for 2 days.!!!! We told the management about this on first morning. They said it would be fixed. It wasn't and they didn't communicate any apologies or how they were dealing with it. Second morning less than average breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

With almost 40 years as a successful business we take pride in our high standard of service and excellent reputation. Unfortunately over the bank holiday weekend in which you stayed at our hotel our hot water system did stop working and we found ourselves unable to get it fixed. After the first night of your stay when the fault became... More 

Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here because of its location close to Sandown Park. The room was good, clean and everything worked OK. Down side was it was simply too hot and we were unable to open the windows (because of being on ground floor next to footpath) so we had a pretty awful night. Aircon would have been a benefit. A small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed our delicious breakfast however we're sorry you didn't sleep well due to the heat of the night. In our defence we do not feel it necessary to introduce aircon because all of our windows (including room one) can be open in full and water glasses are stored in the cupboard next... More 

Been to Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)

Address: 82 High Street | Heather Place, Esher, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Esher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated to the right of The Albert Arms and tucked away down Heather Place sits the Albert Mews Hotel, our charming boutique hotel. Each of our six luxury double bedrooms meet the needs of the modern executive or comfort loving traveller and offer a tranquil stay away from home. Each room contains a double bed dressed with fine linen, superior furniture, wet-room, iPod dock, mini bar and Wi-Fi. Daily breakfasts at The Albert Arms are included for the duration of your stay and guests also receive a 10% discount on any other meals eaten at the restaurant whilst you are staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.