We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Esher B&Bs / inns

Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)

82 High Street | Heather Place, Esher, England
Hotel amenities
Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel) to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 7 Esher B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
angela t Ascot, United Kingdom
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
5
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (23)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to be in central Esher for 2 nights in December. And this Pub/hotel is certainly central. The food in the restaurant was good, (I only ate there one night) although the chef shouting or banging on the service hatch every time an order was ready, did drive my friend and I mad! The hotel itself is in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really fab food!!....great dinner and really good breakfast !, Rooms were good value, very clean, but pillows were really really soft!! We were there for business ,the pub was very friendly...Would recommend !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, it is hugely appreciated and we do hope you'll come back and see us again soon. With best wishes, The Albert Arms More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Nice room, big and had all commodities . Poor breakfast. No reception service. Room was clean and comfortable but having no reception makes it a bed and breakfast and not a hotel... Overall was a nice stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're sorry you did not realise that reception was over the road at The Albert Arms were you collected your key and ate breakfast. With only six rooms we do not feel it is necessary to have a reception in the hotel as well however if guests require anything there is always someone available 7am-11.30pm... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

Fabulous steaks from a specially acquired herd in the West Country. Quite superb. Grilled fish and chicken is good too. The starters and sweets are wholesome, tasty, well served and well presented. The wine list is surprisingly good for a pub/diner. We will be back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Albert Arms - we hugely appreciate it and do hope you come back soon. More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Stayed here during the August bank holiday weekend. Although the room was small it s was ok. But no hot water for 2 days.!!!! We told the management about this on first morning. They said it would be fixed. It wasn't and they didn't communicate any apologies or how they were dealing with it. Second morning less than average breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

With almost 40 years as a successful business we take pride in our high standard of service and excellent reputation. Unfortunately over the bank holiday weekend in which you stayed at our hotel our hot water system did stop working and we found ourselves unable to get it fixed. After the first night of your stay when the fault became... More 

Berkshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed here because of its location close to Sandown Park. The room was good, clean and everything worked OK. Down side was it was simply too hot and we were unable to open the windows (because of being on ground floor next to footpath) so we had a pretty awful night. Aircon would have been a benefit. A small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed our delicious breakfast however we're sorry you didn't sleep well due to the heat of the night. In our defence we do not feel it necessary to introduce aircon because all of our windows (including room one) can be open in full and water glasses are stored in the cupboard next... More 

Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed here as it is walking distance to Sandown park. When we arrived we assumed that the accomadation would be in the main building(( the pub) it was however a short distance down a quiet side room. From the outside it was nothing to write home about however when inside the bedrooms are wonderful.They are very well decorated, comfortable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Albert Arms E, Manager at Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate it and we hope you come back and see us soon. More 

Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Enjoyed an excellent meal last night. I went went with the recommendation of trying the Tomahawk ribeye steak to share for two. The meat was fantastic and had obviously been really well hung as the flavour was outstanding. Accompanied it with a very traditional Bernaise sauce which was freshly made, sublime string fries and deep fried zuchini. Truly a meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

I had a delicious Longhorn filet steak dinner with lovely wines to accompany, and very comfortable room. The Chef and Cooks can be seen working, and those working there were friendly and attentive. Great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I hired the first floor dining room for my birthday dinner on Saturday night for 26 of my close family and friends. The decision to book the Albert Arms was not taken lightly and I visited a number of potential venues but the Albert proved to be a great choice. The staff were very attentive and the food was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel)

Address: 82 High Street | Heather Place, Esher, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Esher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albert Arms Free House (Restaurant and Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.