We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
36
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (18)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Ballito, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the moment my wife and I arrived it felt as though we were being treated as royalty. To Christine, Arthur, Wendy and the rest of the staff thank you for going the extra mile. We had the most magnificent ocean facing room and were blessed with one of the finest red sunset skies that casted a pink glow over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The most amazing views from Canelands, I was so thrilled when I was given a sea facing suite, 5 star quality. I had the most amazing dinner and breakfast, the choice is extensive. I had a pamper session at the in-house SPA and it was fantastic I felt like a new person and rejuvenated. I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Canelands is ideal for a beach holiday, walk down a few steps and you are on the beach. Highlights: * soaking up the great view from the pool and the deck - soothing effect, exactly what you want to relax. * easy access to the beach * the food - fresh and tasty. Sean (the chef) served up some great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our " Gem on the Beach". We are so glad that you soaked up the sun from our amazing deck. Due to our sea facing rooms being so in demand we did confirm with Kulula that no sea facing room was available for the nights of... More 

Durban
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a great breakfast, unfortunately the staff weren't aware of our reservation and it was a special day for us.. I could see the table had been set up with rose petals but we didn't get to enjoy it as the waitron wasn't clear who the table was for and so it was offered to other people. Anyhow, we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our beautiful property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spa treatments. We have introduced our new Healing Earth Range and it is being received wonderfully. I truly apologize about the confusion with your booking as we had loads of other special occasions being... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Beautiful hotel, incredible setting, great staff, world class food, and amazing spa! We had a 3 night stay after our wedding, and loved every second of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful start to your honeymoon. We pride ourselves on our delicious food, superb view and our wonderful spa. We look forward to your return. Take care Christine Macvicar: General Manager More 

Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We recently spent a six night stay at Canelands which was the last week of a three week stay in KZN. We wanted to spend our last few days relaxing in the sun by the sea and Canelands fitted the bill perfectly. Everyone at Canelands from the general manager Christine down, were always happy, smiling and attentive and nothing really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear David and Helen Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We loved hosting you and we are so glad that we were "just what the doctor ordered". We are very pleased that your room was so comfy and that our superb breakfasts were a good start to the day. The spa therapists loved... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Spectacular sea view. The positioning so close to the beach is world class. The covered patio overlooking the sea and the 25m long pool are special. The staff were friendly and attentive always ready to assist. Overall a pleasant and restful stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for the lovely review. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel comfortable and at home. Our sea views are definitely world class. We look forward to your return visit. Take care Christine Macvicar General Manager More 

Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014 via mobile

Canelands is probably the nicest venue in the area. Period. A boutique hotel with only 10 rooms, we booked the entire venue to host our second wedding. The rooms are lovely, each with a balcony/patio to enjoy the outdoors. Of course the rooms facing the ocean are phenomenal! An enormous deck overlooking the infinity pool and the beach, where we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are humbled by your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting your beautiful white wedding. We welcome you back to make more special memories with us. Take care Christine Macvicar: General Manager More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We had a two night stay at the Canelands Beach Club. Rooms are clean, Staff is friendly. Also well positionned. Pity about TV which only had two channels and the room which was not sound proof. The noises from restaurant downstairs and glass trash outside didn't make our sleep peaceful at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on our guests enjoying their stay with us. Unfortunately when we have a wedding there are more bottles than normal due to the celebrations but I have spoken to my staff about the noise when sorting out the bottles and we will definitely be... More 

Kirchberg, Austria
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We had an unfortunate arrival, which co-incided with an enebriated TV crew trying to leave the hotel. There is no discernible reception desk, in fact, when turning away from the entrancing ocean view, one faces the kitchen sink. It is a home turned into a little hide-away. The workmanship is a bit shoddy all over, but shouldn't detract from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Andrea Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our "little Jewel on the North Coast". We do apologize about your arrival being a little noisy as the film crew had an evening braai and they had a fantastic day of shooting at Canelands and were very much in a celebratory mood when you arrived.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question