We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canelands Beach Club and Spa

Certificate of Excellence
2 Shrimp Lane, Salt Rock 4391, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Canelands Beach Club and Spa
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    20
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
38
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (16)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is beautiful hotel and I've never seen more beautiful views! The room was very nice and I'm glad we booked a room with Seaview because the other side is mostly parking lot. The service was good but I must say I've had better service in South Africa. They charged us for cappuccino at the breakfast which I think is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Attended a family wedding at the Canelands hotel this past weekend. I can't comment on the value as the accommodation was graciously attended to by the bridal couple, but the hotel itself is in a prime location on the beach, with a beautiful long lap pool and nice rooms. Lovely finishes and a great restaurant that we enjoyed really good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about beautiful property directly on the beach. We pride ourselves on our position and our beautiful 25m long lap pool directly in front of the beach. Our rooms as described are beautiful and it is lovely lying in listening to the waves crashing on the shore.... More 

Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was heaven on earth, I walked into the reception area and was greeted by strong winds and the most beautiful view of the sea. I was so overwhelmed with the beauty of this cute hotel and its closeness to the sea– so close, while sited at the reception, I felt drips of water on my face as the sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our delightful little 4* boutique hotel where we do give 5* service. Thanks so much for emphasizing how close we are to the sea. There is no other spot quite like this on the north coast. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests and always go... More 

White River, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pleasantly surprised friendly helpful staff from booking to service, rooms clean crisp . Comfortable bed allows for good rest . Beautiful setting modern with breathtaking sea view literally on the sea . Lovely pool . Restaurant indoor outdoor casual smart good food and friendly service . This has been a perfect choice .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our beautiful property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your special stay with us. Please come and visit us again. Take care Christine Macvicar: General Manager More 

Ballito, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the moment my wife and I arrived it felt as though we were being treated as royalty. To Christine, Arthur, Wendy and the rest of the staff thank you for going the extra mile. We had the most magnificent ocean facing room and were blessed with one of the finest red sunset skies that casted a pink glow over... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for the wonderful feedback. We take pride in making you feel wonderful from the time you arrive to the time you leave. Take care and come and visit us again. Christine Macvicar: General Manager More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The most amazing views from Canelands, I was so thrilled when I was given a sea facing suite, 5 star quality. I had the most amazing dinner and breakfast, the choice is extensive. I had a pamper session at the in-house SPA and it was fantastic I felt like a new person and rejuvenated. I would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking time out to write such a nice review about our "Hidden Gem". We pride ourselves on our location directly on the beach and our good service. Making every guest that stays with us feel like they are at "home". We are very pleased that you tried our new Healing Earth range in the... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

Canelands is ideal for a beach holiday, walk down a few steps and you are on the beach. Highlights: * soaking up the great view from the pool and the deck - soothing effect, exactly what you want to relax. * easy access to the beach * the food - fresh and tasty. Sean (the chef) served up some great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review about our " Gem on the Beach". We are so glad that you soaked up the sun from our amazing deck. Due to our sea facing rooms being so in demand we did confirm with Kulula that no sea facing room was available for the nights of... More 

Durban
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Had a great breakfast, unfortunately the staff weren't aware of our reservation and it was a special day for us.. I could see the table had been set up with rose petals but we didn't get to enjoy it as the waitron wasn't clear who the table was for and so it was offered to other people. Anyhow, we had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our beautiful property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your spa treatments. We have introduced our new Healing Earth Range and it is being received wonderfully. I truly apologize about the confusion with your booking as we had loads of other special occasions being... More 

Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Beautiful hotel, incredible setting, great staff, world class food, and amazing spa! We had a 3 night stay after our wedding, and loved every second of it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We are thrilled that you had a wonderful start to your honeymoon. We pride ourselves on our delicious food, superb view and our wonderful spa. We look forward to your return. Take care Christine Macvicar: General Manager More 

Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We recently spent a six night stay at Canelands which was the last week of a three week stay in KZN. We wanted to spend our last few days relaxing in the sun by the sea and Canelands fitted the bill perfectly. Everyone at Canelands from the general manager Christine down, were always happy, smiling and attentive and nothing really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CanelandsBeachClub, General Manager at Canelands Beach Club and Spa, responded to this review

Dear David and Helen Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We loved hosting you and we are so glad that we were "just what the doctor ordered". We are very pleased that your room was so comfy and that our superb breakfasts were a good start to the day. The spa therapists loved... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities