We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chateau de Chailly

Certificate of Excellence
BP 10 Rue Dessous, 21320 Pouilly-en-Auxois, France
Hotel amenities
Chateau de Chailly
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Emidio G Salvador, BA
Add Photo Write a Review

239 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    83
    43
    14
    10
See reviews for
33
153
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (239)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (112)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (55)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
Salvador, BA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful place. A very well refurbished castle with a superb staff, spacious room, comfortable beds, good breakfast. Highly recommendable. Only a few bad notes: The air conditioning was a portable one, with a hose fitted to the window, a bit noisy, and the maid bumped into it and unplugged the hose in the first two days of our stay. Shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudine B, Directeur général at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you very much for this really nice commentary. I m very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Chailly. I m glad that you appreciate the work of our staff. The rooms of the north wing are equiped with portable air conditionners, but this is temporary I m sorry for the inconvenience. We have many differents bathrooms in... More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located in Burgundy, between Dijon and Beaune, this hotel is the perfect location for a countryside week end. The room are spacious (I was staying in Suite #1), clean and renovated. The bathroom (in my suite) was stunning. Service is dedicated. The pool is nice, the golf is perfect for those who like playing. Only bad surprise: the buffet for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudine B, Directeur général at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review

Dear Antoine, Thank you very much for this commentary. It's a real pleasure to read yours impressions of the castle of Chailly. I'm glad that you appreciate the suite and the bathroom. We are proud that our suites are uniques in the world. I'm sorry that you don't appreciate the buffet, which is a new way here after our customers... More 

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

I was not sure if the place will turn out to be as good as it is shown in pics. It turned out as good and in fact better. It is located nicely away from the large cities in Burgundy and is an excellent place to enjoy true-blue rural france. The surroundings have ample options to walk about, cycle, drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Claudine B, Directeur général at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review

Dear Swapnil31415 Thank you very much for this great appreciation. I'm glad that you prefer the castle in reality than in picture. I'm also very happy that you appreciate the surroundings of the castle with the Burgundy canal and the old villages. You re very welcome anytime. Best regards Claudine Babonnet, general manager More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

My wife and I were travelling down to Provence and wanted somewhere to stay on the way down. Having read the reviews and looked at the picture,the Chateau looked the ideal place. We set off from home on the Saturday morning and arrived about 6pm local time. We checked in and asked to book a table in the restaurant, only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

A very modern hotel room built in a wing added to the old chateau - so it is a "hotel" experience rather than a "chateau" experience. The restaurant was very expensive with very limited menu selection. There were only two other restaurants withing 30+ kms of the chateau and one of them was always booked out. A good location for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

This hotel is the last word in luxury! We arrived early and told that our booking had kindly been upgraded to a suite and what an amazing welcome surprise. The room was huge with a 4 poster bed, there was a sitting room, a wooden winding staircase up to a little mezzanine level with a table and chairs up there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie A, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cher client, Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires qui ne manqueront pas d'être source de motivation supplémentaire pour notre personnel.... More 

Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

If we had also trouble to find the right entrance to go to the reception by the lack of proper signage, we have been warmly welcomed and the room are spacious, quiet, clean with a nice and modern bathroom. We liked having a shower and bathtub. I was only not very happy to see that I was charged an extra... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie A, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review
Google Translation

Cher client, Nous regrettons de lire que votre séjour n'a pas été à la hauteur de vos attentes. Nous souhaitons... More 

Ingleby Barwick
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a classic example of how an overall good experience can be badly affected, probably out of all proportion, by a few poor aspects of our stay. Starting with the positives, the Chateau looks amazing and all the fixtures and fittings are of the highest order. The majority of the staff were lovely too. The manageress wandering amongst the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nathalie A, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review
Google Translation

Chers clients, Nous avons pris connaissance avec intérêt des commentaires déposés sur Tripadvisor et sommes ravis que vous ayez apprécié... More 

toronto canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We came upon this hotel by accident as we were very disappointed with the hotel that we had booked and left it. Chateau Chailly was an incredible find . Our experience at this property was outstanding . The chateau and the grounds are spectacular , as is the impeccable service. The rooms are immaculate and the staff does their utmost... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nathalie A, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your enthusiastic comment on Tripadvisor and for sharing your impressions with us ! It is such a pleasure to count you now amongst our favorite guests and we hope to have much more occasions to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, More 

Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We (husband and I) stayed at the Château de Chailly for the second time in several years, in connection with a Golf group excursion from our home club in Switzerland. Overall we had a good time though the weather could certainly have been better! (It rained a lot last time we were there as well...) However there were a couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nathalie A, Responsable commercial at Chateau de Chailly, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are sorry to read you are disapointing after your stay in Château de Chailly. You were in the Château with 30 other people from 20. to 23rd July You slept in Nr 42, a 25m2 room which was renovated last year. Our desk was here to help all the clients to carry their luggage. You had two... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pouilly-en-Auxois
11.6 mi away
Abbaye de la Bussiere
8.4 mi away
Chateau Hotel Restaurant Sainte-Sabine
12.1 mi away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
12.1 mi away
Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois
23.5 mi away
Hostellerie Le Cedre
Hostellerie Le Cedre
#6 of 61 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay