We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Falfield
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
rog201 Aldershot, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

419 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    156
    163
    70
    18
    12
See reviews for
60
202
9
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (419)
  • Mar-May only
    (135)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (117)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great place to stop if traveling on m5 north or south . 5 mins from motorway good food great staff could do with a lick of paint in places but still very clean good wifi connection all round building if wedding going on can be a bit noisey but on the whole a very good hotel manager very pleasent

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us and the kind comments regarding the staff and the food and we look forward to your next stopover. More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been staying at the Hotel since March 2015 for an average of four nights a week. Staff are very helpful and attentive. Food is of a high standard and "specials" are always available. Staff will also prepare requested meals which do not appear on the menu. Rooms are spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Just what you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you from everyone here for the excellent 5 star review. It is really good to see that our focus on customer care is appreciated so much and we look forward to looking after you for a long time to come. More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed our stay at this friendly hotel which is located midway between Gloucester and Bristol. Would suggest you request a rear room as the front faces onto the main road. The room we stayed in was recently updated. We had a four poster bed and large flat screen TV on the wall. The bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review, thank you so much. I will pass on all the kind comments to everyone here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've been staying at the Hotel from November 2014. Check in was easy and quick with very friendly and amenable staff. The rooms are clean and tidy and the beds are comfy. Special rooms are also available on request. Foods good and breakfast is excellent. On the whole i think its a good hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent 5 star review. it is a pleasure to read such kind and positive comments and we look forward to looking after you more in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Don't usual make the habit of commenting on websites like theses but credit where credit is due; therefore, I will make an exception on this occasion based on the consistent positive attitude, assistance and friendliness of their staff. I have used this hotel on a regular basis for the past 6-7 years whether it be for a function (conference /training)... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely and enthusiastic review of The Gables and thank you for sharing your opinion with the Tripadvisor community. I am so proud of the team we have here and comments like yours means that this shines through to the guests also. Many thanks again and we look forward to looking after you for many years to come. More 

Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had 3 nights for our anniversary break, very happy with our choice. We booked in on a Wowcher deal so fantastic price. Our deal included £23 each towards dinner on the first evening, which ended up only costing us just under £5 for drinks as we only had 2 courses we had nothing else to pay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind and positive review following your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit and would recommend us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed at the Gables many times on business and have not had anything to complain about. The staff are always friendly and efficient. The room is always clean and comfortable. Room service is swift and the food is varied and well presented. The menu changes every few months and there are always specials on including great fish dishes. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you from all of us here at The Gables Hotel for the excellent 5 star review you have posted. We all look forward to looking after you again soon . More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this hotel with red letter voucher I received and had to pay a bit extra because it was an overnight stay which I didn't mind at all. Just to say, this hotel is just off the motorway and is about 40 minutes from Gloucester City centre. We arrived at the hotel which was surrounded by scaffolding, had to walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that we were unable to resolve the situation you encountered with your room as we were fully booked on Saturday. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as comments from our customers and guests are very important to us and can highlight weaknesses in our team, service or quality that we can then... More 

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

At checkin, we were told that our room was 227 but the Receptionist noticed that my wife walks with a stick and offered us a "downstairs" room instead. As the main stairs did not look too fearsome, we declined. However we were not told about the additional small flights beyond the main stairs or the four steps up from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry to read that you will not stay with us again particularly as we place such emphasis on customer care here at the hotel. I do hope on reflection that you will give us another opportunity if in the area again. More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although we are best western members and entitled to an automatic upgrade it didn't happen. We were offered the worst room in the hotel the one they use to fob off over nighters right next to the busy a38. It was dull and dingy with poor lighting, we refused it and was offered a similar room on the ground floor.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for letting you down on your most recent stay. Rest assured we will investigate all matters relating to your feedback and I would be very grateful if you would contact me directly to discuss the matter in more depth. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falfield
1.1 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alveston House Hotel
Alveston House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alveston
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol Alveston
21.3 mi away
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
The Greenway Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Shurdington
4.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay