We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Bristol Road, Falfield GL12 8DL, England
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
Share an Experience

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    127
    57
    15
    10
See reviews for
50
154
8
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (335)
  • Mar-May only
    (86)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (82)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (92)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
County Tyrone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Visited the Best Western as we attended a wedding in another hotel located close by. Our stay was comfortable and welcoming. Only downfall breakfast on the Sunday was very rushed as the food wasn't stocked up, but I do understand it was mothers day and the hotel was quite busy; as I waited for certain items of the breakfast to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Redditch
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for 1 night as part of a wedding group on 14 March. Room very comfortable and clean although was cold and bed felt slightly damp - the central heating was too noisy to keep on all night. Had to resort to using duvet on 3rd bed to add extra warmth. This was more than made up for by the... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us and we are pleased that you enjoyed our hearty breakfast and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

we've stayed before and we will stay again - comfortable and clean. BUT the breakfast was very disappointing this time - good selection but not very hot or tasty. the sausages were awful, the fried eggs hard. on the sunday morning we were told breakfast was extended until 10.30 but then on arrival to the restaurant there was nothing left... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that the breakfast standards fell below our usual standards and please accept our apologies for this. We are pleased to note however that you will stay with us again so that we may redeem our reputation with you. More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staff were very helpful and the meal was excellent. We were staying here for a wedding nearby and had a dinner with 20 people the night before. The food was not bad at all. Downside was our room (301) Colour scheme was horrible. Walls in a grubby yellow colour and curtains did not match. No pictures in the room and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to note your kind comments regarding the food and service and please be assured that we will take on board your remarks concerning the bedroom décor as we plan our refurbishment programme. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 2 nights on 19th and 20th March as part of a large group. We were attending a wedding close by. When we arrived our room was ready and we were able to check in straight away. The room was a decent size and was clean and tidy. Breakfast offered a large variety and there was always... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for the kind review following your recent stay with us. Your feedback regarding the staff are much appreciated and I will pass on to all concerned. We will also take on board your comments for improvement in the future and hope to welcome you back to the hotel next time you are in the area. More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were a large group of family and friends staying recently on a Thursday and Friday night to attend my son's wedding nearby. The rooms were nice, clean and beds comfortable. Food in the restaurant on Thursday evening was great as was our breakfasts even though staff were catering for a large party. However, the thing that pleased us most... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review of your stay with us last week and on behalf of all the staff here I would like to say how much we enjoyed looking after you and your family in the run up to your son's special day. Your feedback is much appreciated and we would all like to wish your son and... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in staff were so pleasant and gave us a great welcome. The twin room was a decent size but the light system was a little confusing... Breakfast was ok, no server to greet and seat on our first day but were greeted well on our second visit. Bar isn't too expensive but I found it a bit weird not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. It was lovely to see that you appreciated the warm welcome on arrival and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future where we will strive to get all aspects right. More 

Aberdare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to this hotel 2 years running for the UT AGM and have had a thoroughly enjoyable time , everything about the hotel is brilliant , friendly staff, comfy rooms, lovely food in evening and breakfast was moorish hope the event will be held here again will defiantly recommend this hotel to our friends

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

A big thank you from all of us here at The Gables for the 5 star review you have given us. We all enjoyed looking after you and we hope to see you return again next year. Thanks again. More 

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the third time we have stayed at this conveniently situated hotel. It has barely changed over the last 3 years. Bedrooms and bathrooms whilst very clean and comfortable, are in need of upgrading if Best Western are to justify their pricing & keep up with competition. We have had first floor rooms both at the front and rear... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. It is good to know that you have now stayed with us 3 times and that you are generally happy with the cleanliness and breakfast and we certainly take on board your comments regarding upgrading the hotel. We are now entering our second year of a refurbishment programme and hope you... More 

west midlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was very good , meal at night was a bit hit and miss They had certain things that were not available ,when the food came the vegetables were cold , we mentioned it and eventually the vegetables arrived when we had finished the main courses They had run out of several things The food overall was good .the rooms... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andrew I, Manager at BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a 5 star review of your recent stay with us, particularly when we fell short in some areas. We really appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

123 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (17)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question