We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverview Hotel

29 Jalan Bentayan, Muar 84000, Malaysia
Riverview Hotel
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
7
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (30)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

It is a multi-storey hotel with free parking provided. A small lift available to make easier access for elders, family with small children. Check in was fast as smooth, Room was spacious with clean and comfortable bed and pillows. At RM95/night for a room with one single bed and one queen bed it was affordable. Pretty well maintained for an... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Stayed one night in this Hotel. Situated just a few minutes walk to the Town Center and Muar River. I booked this hotel based on reviews and am quite satisfied other than some inconvenience. The room was spacious with a King Size bed. The basic like drinking water, coffee and tea were not supplied, and only one small bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Asiain, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

The booking experience wasn't too difficult. We booked via email. Reached Muar around noon, and welcomed by the receptionist with a big smile. Also even tough check-in time is at 2pm. They have some rooms available and we were able to check in right away. Hotel is old, however TV, shower, lights are well decently. Except the door to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ivonnax, Thank you for your visit and your valuable comment. We are happy to know that you had a great and comfortable experience in our hotel. We welcome you back again in the future. Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I stayed for a night on 28th March because of some good reviews written about this hotel. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was pretty well maintained and room was clean with hot shower though Wi-Fi somehow didn't work so well. The only complaint that spoilt all the good work appeared to be the smell in the room. It's quite annoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for choosing us during visit at muar town and posted valuable comments. Regarding for the WIFI and smell in room, we are deeply sorry about that and we will try our best to improve it. Thank you and hope will continue for support us. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel Muar More 

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

Stayed one night here for a course in hospital Muar. It is a very basic hotel just for you to sleep in. But room was clean. Located strategically and since its a budget hotel, its worth all the money you spent

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

We stayed here overnight to attend a friend's wedding at a nearby restaurant. The owner is very helpful and efficient in confirming our booking in less than 15 minutes. The room is comfortable, comes with water heater, air conditioned, and WIFI. The hotel is located next to fresh chicken eggs shop and otak-otak shop, so you can conveniently buy some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mephala, Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit at Muar town and posted valuable comments. Regarding the access card issue, we will take note and improve for better maintenance. We look forward to welcome you back in the future! Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel Muar More 

Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Earlier went to sister hotel, the Streetview Hotel but they didn't have large enough room to accommodate our family so they referred us to Riverview Hotel. They had room with two queen-sized bed. Rate was par for the course. Beds were reasonably comfy, room were reasonably clean. Furniture were not really modern but still in good condition. Bathroom were clean.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Monada, Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience with our service. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel Muar More 

Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel last Saturday. Basic facilities with a TV and water heater, but it's spacious, safe, quiet, clean and cheap. There is a ash tray in the room so you may experience some cigarette odours if the previous occupants were smokers. There is a nice hawker centre nearby with varieties of nice food such as fried... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lim, Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to post your valuable comments. Regarding the smell of cigarette, we are deeply sorry about that and we will take note of your comment & improve it. We look forward to welcome you back in the future! Thank you again. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel Muar More 

singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

There's no air con temperature or fan speed controls and the stench of cigarette smoke is unbearable. The receptionist however was friendly. Free WiFi is awesome ! Room is spacuous for even the cheapest room.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for choosing our hotel and leaving your comments. In our hotel, each room has air con temperature and fan control. Regarding the room with stench of cigarette smell, we are truly sorry and you could request to change to room if facing same problem in future. Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

this was the first time i been here. everything was good but i gave 4 point because when we enter the room i saw the floor not very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelvin, Thank you for your visit and taking the time to post your valuable comment. Regarding the floor not clean, we are truly sorry about it and we will take note to improve it. We look forward to welcome you back again in the future. Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities