We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riverview Hotel

29 Jalan Bentayan, Muar 84000, Malaysia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muar
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Riverview Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

36 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kajang
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whenever I am in Muar, this will be my choice of hotel. For this time, I have noticed some upgrading have been done. The last time I came here, they had cemented the parking lots. This time, they even have covered car parks! Of course by having those, less cars can be parked there. I noticed that the bathroom has... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hasreena
Singapore
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015

I was quite reluctant to give this hotel a try mainly because of many negative reviews. In fact I told the counter staff straight to the face and she simply smile (and not surprise!). I cannot disagree with some of the comments that the other reviewers wrote about the quality of front desk staff. The hotel was quite empty when... More 

Helpful?
Thank PKWSingapore
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015

Strategic location with just a 3 minutes walking distance to nearby foodcourt, spacious room, comfortable bed with spacious bathroom as well. i like the door security, it will sound alert when u r not close the door properly. well, cleaniness can be improve further. i will stay again for next trip when visit muar town.

Helpful?
Thank joppwellen
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

I have stayed a night in this hotel and the location is quite strategic. It is located nearby Muar foodcourt center and famous Otah otah shop. If you are just looking for a budget room to stay, I will recommend this hotel to you. The condition of the room is average - clean and comfortable. Unfortunately non smoking rooms were... More 

Helpful?
Thank SMeng_O
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2015

First, it's a budget hotel so set your expectations to budget level. The room and bathrooms are clean enough. Hotel parking can fill up at night so get in early if you want to use their gated lot. There is a club at ground floor so the lobby can smell like smoke. Also, if you are a picky non-smoker, ask... More 

Helpful?
Thank CentralVoyage
Kajang
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2015

I am not sure how many reviews I have written for this hotel already, but I never get tired of it because this is always my first choice whenever I wanna stay overnight in Muar. I noticed that the parking space for the hotel guests has been upgraded where they have cemented the place. The reasons why I always stay... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hasreena
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

It is a multi-storey hotel with free parking provided. A small lift available to make easier access for elders, family with small children. Check in was fast as smooth, Room was spacious with clean and comfortable bed and pillows. At RM95/night for a room with one single bed and one queen bed it was affordable. Pretty well maintained for an... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Azrul Izet M
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

Stayed one night in this Hotel. Situated just a few minutes walk to the Town Center and Muar River. I booked this hotel based on reviews and am quite satisfied other than some inconvenience. The room was spacious with a King Size bed. The basic like drinking water, coffee and tea were not supplied, and only one small bottle of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Juddtn8001
Asiain, Spain
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015 via mobile

The booking experience wasn't too difficult. We booked via email. Reached Muar around noon, and welcomed by the receptionist with a big smile. Also even tough check-in time is at 2pm. They have some rooms available and we were able to check in right away. Hotel is old, however TV, shower, lights are well decently. Except the door to our... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank ivonnax
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ivonnax, Thank you for your visit and your valuable comment. We are happy to know that you had a great and comfortable experience in our hotel. We welcome you back again in the future. Thank you. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

I stayed for a night on 28th March because of some good reviews written about this hotel. I wasn't disappointed. The hotel was pretty well maintained and room was clean with hot shower though Wi-Fi somehow didn't work so well. The only complaint that spoilt all the good work appeared to be the smell in the room. It's quite annoying... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Malaysian_traveller0
riverviewhotelmuar, Manager at Riverview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for choosing us during visit at muar town and posted valuable comments. Regarding for the WIFI and smell in room, we are deeply sorry about that and we will try our best to improve it. Thank you and hope will continue for support us. Regards, The Management Riverview Hotel Muar More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muar
0.7 mi away
Muar Traders Hotel
Muar Traders Hotel
#5 of 10 in Muar
3.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
23.0 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 361 reviews
22.5 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#29 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.6 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 156 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
24.8 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#9 of 156 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elite Hotel
Elite Hotel
#2 of 8 in Muar
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities