We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages

Certificate of Excellence
Longstreet, Bredasdorp 7280, South Africa
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    74
    65
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
43
78
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (27)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (45)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (48)
All months
Sheffield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A really lovely place to stay! We stayed for 3 nights in Opstal cottages (Giant Kingfisher). The cottage was extremely comfortable and well equipped. We had an open fire which we used each evening and really appreciated the electric blankets for chilly nights. We had a fabulous meal in the restaurant on our last night - delicious and flexible for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staying at The Hoop Collection is a real experience. Driving on dirt road with amazing views to get there contributes to the feeling of solitude and getting back to nature. We had booked a Rondavel but due to the cold night weather we received an upgrade and could stay in a picture perfect cottage. As there is only one restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Bart, Thank you so much for visiting De Hoop and for taking the time to write this lovely review for us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Comfortable, slightly ageing cottage accommodation set in beautiful surrounds, with quite nice food, and self catering options. Plenty of animals, nice bike trails for kids, and an excellent marine walk. Remember to bring supplies if self catering as no local options.

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to De Hoop and hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

The unspoilt pristine white beaches and absence of technology made this one of the best quality family holidays we have had for some time. Quiet tranquillity with luxurious accommodation and excellent food and service. Do not miss the marine walk - an absolute must!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying at De Hoop and for the fabulous feedback Ptolla! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

Rustic accommodation in a beautiful reserve! Our accommodation had a fireplace but we weren't told that we could purchase wood so we couldn't light it and it was a very cold and wet night! We were also not told that we had a fully equipped kitchen which we could have made use of instead of eating in the dining room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Dear Lynne, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear that you did not know about the curio shop where we sell essentials like firewood etc. Also that you were not aware that you were booking a self catering cottage, however these details are all set out on our website and would have been happily... More 

great brak river RSA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We arrived quite upset at the reception, after meandering uselessly for more than anoe hour in endless gravel roads, calls to the central booking office for information about how to find the place... to finally be told by De hope Reception that wqe were misguided by the Reservation office... in fact his problem seems to bewelknown by De Hoop, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great feedback Pierre, we shall review your suggestions. We are happy that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you'll be back again soon. Kind Regards Team De Hoop More 

south africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at the opstal village cottages.The cottages are well equipped and have electric blankets on the beds. They have an emergency light in case of load shedding. The reserve is very peaceful. the animals walk right up to the units. We had a troop of huge baboons come very close. Management warned us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review Debbie! We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience at De Hoop and hope you'll be back again soon. Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

The accommodation was very clean and nice and people very friendly. It is peaceful and quite. We were however disappointed with what one can do there since we actually went to watch birds. According to website there are lots of birds. We tried to walk on a very bad path next to the vlei and saw few bird species. Even... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Elise, Thank you very much for your feedback, we will take your comments regarding the bird hides under advisement. We are sorry you did not see as many birds as you would have liked, unfortunately as you know ,these birds are wild animals and we cannot control when they are visible. It is pleasing to know that you however... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

Been there so many times... Can't compare it with any other place in the world ... It's just so special... Accommodation can be based on self catering, each cottage having kitchen, refrigerator, barbecue. Otherwise...thers's a very nice restaurant. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Everything is perfect. (Some things you can do at DeHoop: bike rides, sea and sun,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review Mario! We hope to welcome you back again soon! Regards Team De Hoop More 

Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

We stayed for five nights in an equipped cottage which was excellent but the 'road' to the reserve is quite long and taxing so, if self-catering, you do need to make sure you have everything you need for your stay as you can't pop out to the shops! Having said that, we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner in the restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
De Hoop C, Manager at De Hoop Nature Reserve Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing this wonderful review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon! Best Regards Team De Hoop More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bredasdorp
14.3 mi away
Arniston Spa Hotel
Arniston Spa Hotel
#1 of 2 in Arniston
4.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
19.8 mi away
Agulhas Country Lodge
Agulhas Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in L'Agulhas
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bredasdorp
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bredasdorp Country Manor
Bredasdorp Country Manor
#1 of 11 in Bredasdorp
5.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
13.9 mi away
Black Oystercatcher Cottages
0.0 mi away
Firlane House
Firlane House
#3 of 11 in Bredasdorp
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay