We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crusoe's Retreat

nr Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crusoe's Retreat
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crusoe's Retreat
Crusoe's Retreat
Crusoe's Retreat
Add Photo Write a Review

254 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    98
    82
    40
    18
    16
See reviews for
46
135
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (254)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Eastvale
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This retreat is a rental car must. It is 4.5 km off of South Queens road and it is all dirt. You are at the mercy of the staff and your credit card will be maxed out when you leave. There is one reason only to go to Crusoe's and that is the beach. It is long and full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. We are truly sorry that Crusoe's may not have matched your expectations. It is important to remember that Crusoe's is a simple, traditional 3-star Fijian beach resort. We do not pretend to be anything we are not - we provide traditional, comfortable... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 6 nights. Wished I'd booked a bure on the flat, getting up 47 uneven concrete steps several times a day hard work! Not really a resort for young kids. Staff were pleasant enough but could have been a little more friendlier. The grounds are lovely. the beach is OK, especially when you can walk a little further along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our friendly, local Fijian staff and our location and grounds. While we wish we could control the weather, we unfortunately can not, and we completely understand that experiencing bad weather can have... More 

AU
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ripped off by flight centre and this resort. Absolutely appalling. The accommodation provided was nothing short of backpacker style. The food was appalling. There is no transparency as to the costs of the buffet evenings. We paid cash for purchases over the bar. This was then charged to our room. It was acknowledged by the staff member that the cash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. As we have already responded to your repeated emails and requests for a full refund, we must respond to your claims in this review. Crusoe's Retreat is very much a cashless resort, as we do not accept cash payments for any... More 

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Absolutely loved the fact that Crusoe's is down to earth and there is no over the top commercialism. A lovely retreat gorgeous surrounds, and heaps to do or not to do. It is a long drive to get there from the airport but worth it once your there. Nearby Sigatoka and Pacific Marina are great places to explore. Lovely swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you so much for your review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. It was great meeting you, and we are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We so appreciate your kind words, and we love the fact that you enjoyed your relaxed, casual and laid-back atmosphere. Thanks again and we hope to see you back soon.... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Retreat is 4K from Main Road & they charge guests $10 each way to get to road & back. Tour companies do not offer free transfers from here cos so remote! Crusoe's also wanted to charge us $100 to take us to another resort 15 mins away! At least 2 1/2 hours from airport. Food & drinks are expensive &... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Paula and thanks for taking the time to write a review of Crusoe's Retreat. It sounds that Crusoe's was perhaps not a good fit for you. We are a rather isolated resort located on Fiji's famous Coral Coast (we are a 2-hour transfer from the Nadi airport). Perhaps you may have been better suited to stay in a more... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Bure we stayed in was in need of maintainance, grounds and gardens around our area were neglected, a water blaster around steps and decking areas was well overdue, paint peeling around pool edge , surely not too dificult with number of staff about to maintain all these areas.Majority of Retreat was tired.The main gardens and lawn areas leading to beach... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you so much for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your friendly local Fijian staff, and that you enjoyed our food. As you know, Crusoe's Retreat is an older property, and we are in a constant state of maintenance and upgrading. We do appreciate your feedback on that. We strive... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

It took me a couple of days to relax into the 'community' of Crusoe's, but as the days passed by, so did my love for it. The staff, villagers & location are the definite highlights of a holiday here. The interaction between staff & guests are like becoming friends over time. Which is exactly what Crusoe's slogan says & delivers;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for your very nice review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were able to spend some time with our amazing staff and nearby village. We are thrilled to read about your fun dive experience with SPAD - they are an amazing dive operation, and do a fantastic job.... More 

St Kilda, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2015 via mobile

Firstly I will start with the positives. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pool and beach areas are really good and enjoyed a few nice walks around the property. The activities manager Anare was really friendly and we enjoyed the walks and competitions he put on. The food was pretty good, the Lovo and Mongolian buffets were definitely the stand... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Kristen and thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our wonderful location, our beautiful grounds and our meals. Yes, Crusoe's Retreat is quite isolated and this is one of the absolute appeals of staying with us. Crusoe's is approximately 4km from the main... More 

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2015

This place is on the main Island of Viti Levu but is far enoguh to have a seclude space out from the city but close enoguh to feel the real Fiji, just next to it, it is one village, where you can ask in the little shop for a traditional Fiji dinner or lunch, also they have an amazing restaurant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you so much for your lovely review of Crusoe's Retreat. It truly sounds like you enjoyed a full and fun 'Crusoe's' experience. It was so nice meeting you both, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We can't wait for your next visit! Vinaka! More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015 via mobile

Loved our holiday at Crusoes Retreat. Amazing location, we stayed in the deluxe Seaside Bure which was fantastic, great food and cocktails. A few negative points though, for a resort that boasts great friendly staff they need to improve, half the staff were amazing,friendly and wonderful but some just seemed to go through the motions. We booked for a honeymoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank so much for your review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was so nice meeting you both, and we want to congratulate your on your wedding, and thank you for celebrating your honeymoon with us here at Crusoe's. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and enjoyed your Bure and our great location. So happy to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

242 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (235)
Viewed
View from room (32)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (50)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Coral Coast hotels
3.0 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#8 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.0 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
16.6 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Pearl South Pacific
The Pearl South Pacific
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
12.4 mi away
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay