We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crusoe's Retreat

nr Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Crusoe\\
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

261 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    100
    83
    41
    18
    19
See reviews for
47
139
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (261)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We had a lovely stay, nice meals, nice swimming, poor snorkling (tiny fish) long way to go or pay to be taken to deep water each swim. Visiting other resorts - you must pay to go over 4km mountain dirt road to main road then catch bus for 40 min- 2hrs to see anything, nice trip with locals. The resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

STAY AWAY !!!!!!!! If your ok with having your property stolen this is the place for you. We had a valuable watch stolen directly from a locked ROOM !!! The manager, who speaks unintelligible broken English shrugged his shoulders and said , "we are not responsible". Employees admitted to us that even they had been the victims of thievery.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Rudolph and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We do feel that we have to set the record straight concerning your stay, which varies greatly from your review. During your stay with us, our housekeeping staff discovered that the glass coffee table in your room was broken, and when we... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's been awhile now since our holiday here but wanted to get this review up regardless. We stayed 10 nights in May and It was amazing. It was recommended to us by friends who knew we either went all out with hustle and bustle of lights and action or secluded and quiet. And they were right. about ten min drive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Vinaka and thank you so much for your perfect review of Crusoe's Retreat. It was so nice meeting you both, and we are so glad that you chose Crusoe's for your relaxed Fiji holiday. We are absolutely thrilled to read that this was one of your best holidays, and we so appreciate your kind words about our great location,... More 

Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The worst room I have ever experienced! We were booked in for four nights but only stayed one. We probably wouldn't have even stayed that one night had we not arrived at 11pm. Bedding (including the pillows!) had stains and smelt absolutely revolting. There was a mixture of dead and alive bugs on and in the bedding. Walls and ceilings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Sherie and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your very brief stay at Crusoe's Retreat. When you arrived, close to midnight, it was quite poor weather, and we understand that rainy and windy weather can certainly have an effect on anyone's perceptions. You were staying in our SeaView Bure, which does require you to... More 

Currumbin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second trip to Fiji..our first stay was in Denarau...this time we thought we would stay on the Coral Coast (a pleasant 2 hour scenic drive from Nadi airport). We arrived at Crusoes about 1/2 hour after the sun went down, but just in time for Happy Hour...where we met the Resorts new Manager Mikaila and her partner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Jodie and thank you so much for your wonderful review of Crusoe's Retreat. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your family enjoyed a truly relaxing holiday, and we can't thank you enough for your very kind words about our resort, location and friendly local staff. Thanks also for your great photos! We do hope your travels return you... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are an early-50’s couple on our first trip to Fiji. The goal for our trip was to have a relaxing, quiet holiday that didn’t break the bank. After much research, we decided to stay on the main island, Viti Levu, and specifically to stay three different resorts on the Coral Coast (Beach House, Tambua Sands, Crusoe’s Retreat). We recently... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Kate and thanks os much for your lovely review of Crusoe's Retreat. We really appreciate your comprehensive comments about your stay,a nd some great recommendations. It was indeed our pleasure meeting you both, and we do hope your travels return you to Crusoe's Retreat very soon. Vinaka! More 

New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were visiting Fiji for the first time and booked this resort as our second destination. My worries immediately kicked in when I saw the sign for Crusoe's 4k's down a dirt road. The road was not sealed and our transfer was having problems navigating up and down the steep drops and sharp bends. We arrived at the retreat and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Jessica and thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We appreciate all feedback, both good and bad, and use this to help us improve our resort and our guest experience. We are in the process of improvements to many of our Bures. We are very careful... More 

Eastvale
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2015

This retreat is a rental car must. It is 4.5 km off of South Queens road and it is all dirt. You are at the mercy of the staff and your credit card will be maxed out when you leave. There is one reason only to go to Crusoe's and that is the beach. It is long and full of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. We are truly sorry that Crusoe's may not have matched your expectations. It is important to remember that Crusoe's is a simple, traditional 3-star Fijian beach resort. We do not pretend to be anything we are not - we provide traditional, comfortable... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Stayed for 6 nights. Wished I'd booked a bure on the flat, getting up 47 uneven concrete steps several times a day hard work! Not really a resort for young kids. Staff were pleasant enough but could have been a little more friendlier. The grounds are lovely. the beach is OK, especially when you can walk a little further along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us at Crusoe's Retreat. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed our friendly, local Fijian staff and our location and grounds. While we wish we could control the weather, we unfortunately can not, and we completely understand that experiencing bad weather can have... More 

AU
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

Ripped off by flight centre and this resort. Absolutely appalling. The accommodation provided was nothing short of backpacker style. The food was appalling. There is no transparency as to the costs of the buffet evenings. We paid cash for purchases over the bar. This was then charged to our room. It was acknowledged by the staff member that the cash... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager-CRM, Manager at Crusoe's Retreat, responded to this review

Bula Jennifer and thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Crusoe's Retreat. As we have already responded to your repeated emails and requests for a full refund, we must respond to your claims in this review. Crusoe's Retreat is very much a cashless resort, as we do not accept cash payments for any... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

247 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (240)
Viewed
View from room (33)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:52
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coral Coast
3.0 mi away
Mango Bay Resort
Mango Bay Resort
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
16.6 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.5 of 5 stars 415 reviews
18.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#9 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.2 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
19.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
27.4 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay