We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Puits Dore

24, place du Marche, 37120 Richelieu, France
Hotel amenities
Le Puits Dore
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richelieu
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015
Petitboy89 Varpalota, Hungary
Add Photo Write a Review

106 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    39
    31
    14
    15
    7
See reviews for
17
61
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (106)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
Varpalota, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I have never heard about this tiny town founded by its name and its hotel is in the middle of it. I loved our room and the old atmosphere, timber interior and nice breakfast. Staff was helpful and big advantage is that room and its bathroom was very clean !

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

Arrived on a Thursday afternoon to this delightful village/town of Richelieu. After a warm, friendly greeting and we were taken to our room on the first floor and shown the various means of getting there via different entrances and staircases. (There's a lift access too). Clearly an aged building, with loads of quirky beams and winding staircases - quaint, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

This is not a place to have a relaxing coffee on market day in Richelieu! The small number of customers outside should have been a warning sign - but given that the other cafés were full, we gave it a try. No welcome, not a syllable of a greeting, unbelievably poor drinks - two out of three misdelivered - no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olivier B, Gérant at Le Puits Dore, responded to this review

Dear Sir, You found us on Tripadvisor under "hotel business" and not "coffee" nor "bar". This is probably the reason the bars in town were busy on a market day comparing to us working on getting ready for lunchtime. I don't think your comment should have been posted here since we don't do the same business More 

Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

It was our wedding anniversary so we had booked a meal in the restaurant. In the picture online it looked lovely and romantic. It wasn't. When we arrived we were shown to a room on the first floor. There is a coded entry for the main door and a key for our room. There was a lift, which was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a superior room in this hotel and it was delightful. It's located in the town square with public parking outside. It's been recently refurbished but maintained its old beams, winding staircase and French traditional feel. We had a large clean room with low beams but still light and airy. Bed was large with soft pillows and fluffy duvet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Carcassonne, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location on main square, comfortable bedroom with en suite bathroom, lovely building beautifully restored with modern comfort - most impressed. Restaurant classy with wonderful food and professional helpful service. Highly recommended. Lovely town and chateau gardens to visit = cherry on top. Would like to return for historical festival in July!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for 2 nights as it was close to the Loire chateau & vineyards, was in an area I hadn't visited before and was offering a special deal on the Logis website. My cousin was visiting from Canada and we only had a few days to spend in France The room was clean and very spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

i booked this hotel on the basis of a very small picture in the LOGIS directory, the act that it seems to be the only hotel in Richelieu, and its three star listing. I was not disappointed. When I phoned for a booking, the price quoted was immediately dropped when I cited a website bargain price. The room was spacious,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a super, unique and very high quality room, in a very pretty and unusual town, Richelieu is a lovely, quiet town, GREST market in the square which the hotel looks over on Friday morning. This hotel has it all! I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely village not far from Tours & route south. We stayed in a quadrouple room for one night in August. Room was clean & spacious. Had an evening meal in the restaurant that didn't meet expected standards of the hotel. Spicy king prawns were bland & both these & accompanying barely vegetables barely warm. French diners at the next table... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Olivier B, Gérant at Le Puits Dore, responded to this review

Serving food outside on the terrace is always a little bit complicated as far as bugs who can fly onto the plates and food getting colder faster. We thank your for your note and will take more attention so it doesn't happen. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay