We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Cayo Guillermo

Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,639
    991
    389
    186
    88
See reviews for
820
1,456
79
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3293)
  • Mar-May only
    (1062)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (573)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (720)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (938)
All months
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is at best a 3* hotel. The food- pretty average to be honest- we ate far better food in the casas. The room- very nice- huge bed, air con, TV etc - we were very pleased with the room. Service- we thought we weren't bothered really about service but it did end up annoying us. They only serve people... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitby, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

To whom it may concern, I am writing in regards to the disastrous vacation we had in Cayo Coco, Cuba. We booked our yearly family vacation on March 20, 2015 to go to Melia Guillermo in Cayo Coco, Cuba April 10-17, 2015for my husband’s 50th birthday. Prior to leaving I emailed the Melia Guillermo three(3) times to inform them of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Stop rating this hotel above 4 stars as this is causing confusion with people that rely on trip advisor for an accurate review!!! This is a 3 star hotel with a 4 star beach and limited huts. We were at the resort the week of April 20th and had paid for the prem. Suite upgrades. Cons: no air conditioning in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Colne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What can we say about this place? Having never travelled West before we went with an open mind and was pleasantly surprised/ We met some wonderful people, both guests and staff and we booked to return immediately after our return home. The Food and Drink Fresh, tasty and made to order. Pizza's, steaks, pancakes, doughnuts, are definitely worth a try.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Val-David, Quebec, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tittle say all; great resort in general, but could benefit from some minor restorations and cleaning because facilities are becoming old and in our room we saw a coakroach that might came from the bath tub plug that was missing. There was also a broken tablet in our room and they came to fix it with only 2 small screws,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We purchased a vacation package to Melia from Transat Holidays for April 10 – April 17, 2015. However, when we arrived to Cuba, on the shuttle bus on our way to the hotel we were notified that Melia was experiencing problems with air conditioning in some of its suites and that we would instead be transferred to the Sol Cayo... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello VeryCurious_Traveler Thank you for making this review in tripadvisor. First of all, we would like to say that the AC system is back working and the new unit is performing nicely. We are very sorry that this accident with the other equipment happened at all, and specially at the same time of your holidays. As soon as we had... More 

07087
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The area is priceless and the Hotel could be perfectly *** as well the customer services! Food awful at the buffet but delicious @ the restaurants in the Hotel! But if you look for the price everything is perfect! Good Luck ! 😂😂😂😉😉😉😉😉😉😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄🍷🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞🌞!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Camaguey Thanks for your comments on this page, we are sorry to hear that you valued some services like the a la carte restaurants, the beach and the site in general, but at the same time we apologize for the inconviniences during your stay. We would like you to let us know more details about what you didn't like... More 

Warrington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As many visitors have reported, this hotel is, like many of those in Cuba, in need of a little TLC, however the food and service is mainly excellent Internet needs sorting out across Cuba, so not the fault of the hotel, but don't count on either getting a connection or being able to upload/download files of any size We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The MCG is a great resort with wonderful staff & beautiful grounds. I loved the ponds. During my stay staff were out & about the resort doing maintenance work. I have been to many Caribbean destinations like Aruba, Barbados, Bermuda (5* resorts) and have very high standards and I will say that I was not disappointed with Melia CG. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here Mar27-Apr4. Had a great time. Food was exceptional for Cuba and Service very friendly. Wondered at first if resort was going to stay open. Pier was roped off, a third of resort was closed from Air cond. failure, Pool liner was not fitted proper to bottom of pool and a small problem after check in with getting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Dabrazap Thank you for your nice coment regarding your stay in our hotel. I will pass your regards to Sam, Yaniris, Vania, Luis, Didier. Mary and Yaniel. Also we will pass the compliments to our Chef for the options of the buffet. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and the shows, the fishing and the beach.... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(11)
  • Lobby bar(7)
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE(6)
  • Thomas Cook(3)
  • HOT WATER(3)
  • Italian restaurant(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5,424 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5399)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1633)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (827)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
Room/suite (314)
Viewed
Family/play areas (58)
Viewed
Dining (310)
Viewed
View from room (169)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (39)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (1985)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question