We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melia Cayo Guillermo

Jardines del Rey, Cuba
Melia Cayo Guillermo
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,645
    1,000
    399
    187
    92
See reviews for
833
1,469
80
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (3323)
  • Mar-May only
    (1092)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (573)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (720)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (938)
All months
Paris, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have never written a negative review until now. We booked this resort to be part of a destination wedding. We were a group of 11, six rooms in total. We booked the upgrade package which gave us 3 a la carte and a Bar BQ. We checked in Sunday with no issues. Our room mattress needs to be replaced,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Dough Firs of all we would like to express our thanks to you for making this review about your stay here, as it is the best way to know what our clients think and how to improve our services. We apologize for theinconveniences you had durimg your stay, as we can see it was mainly regarding to the bookings... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Vacationing at the Meliá Cayo Guillermo was nothing short of wonderful! Our room was spacious and clean ; the grounds, filled with palm trees swaying in the tropical breeze, were carefully manicured ; and the menus were varied and offered so much more than the classic pasta and chicken. But best of all was the warm generosity of the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Pierre!!! Thank you for this review about our hotel in this page. We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful holidays with us, also that you appreciated our gardens, with their tropical coconut trees and the landscape groomed by our hard working gardeners. We can see you profited from the variety of our food choices in... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for one night (we were grateful to move on). We undertsand that this is Cuba, but compared to the other 5 star hotels we stayed in in Cuba, this did not match up. The public toilets were grotty. The buffet was not very good. The rooms were ok, as others have said, they were a bit run... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Stephla89 Thank you very much for taking the time making this review and so, helping us with your feedback to better our services. We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your short stay. I assure you that we will check on what you said and work towards its solution. Also we have a plan for updating our rooms... More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two weeks on All-inclusive. I really liked the hotel, the rooms are very clean and comfy, a big plus for me was the fact that you can switch the air condition between a/c and a fan- which is useful when you keep getting cold cause of a/c ;) The food was really nice, you get a buffet... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello LukrecjaL Thank you very much for an oustanding review. We are very happy to see that you had a great time during your two-week holiday with us. As you describe in detail, you enjoyed our entertainment options and the services of the staff, the food in our restaurants and the different themes at night. It brings us joy to... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at this resort for 7 days all inclusive. We also paid extra to be apart of the diamond club. This club ensured we would have 3 a la carte reservations, a bottle of rum upon our arrival and beach towels in our newly renovated room. The bottle of rum arrived on our third day,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Elisabeth Thank you very much for this review. We apologize for any inconviniences you had during your stay. We will review each of the points you set and we will work on them. We appreciate that yopu took the time to make this post so we can have a feedback of our services and improve them. We would like... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So, if it's my home away from home why did I only give it 3 stars? I have a 5 star vacation when I visit this lovely, charming hotel, the issue is if I give it 5 stars then guests expect something that this hotel isn't. I love this place for many reasons, the size is perfect for me, I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Maree It is nice to see your review after you latest visit and of course we are waiting for your return soon. We know you come all the time and appreciate the staff and all and consider us a second home. We wanted to say just that we have started to do some working on the resort and are... More 

Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our vacation was the week of April 19th. Second year in a row to this resort. 5 people in our group, all but one return guests. We all loved our week there and can't wait to go back. The food last year was great, this year it was awesome. The staff is always wonderful and cheerful. The beach is amazing,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Theresa First of all, on behalf of our staff, thank you for this review about your stay in our hotel!. We are very glad to know you had a great time and that you keep coming to visit and saty with us. We will pass your regards to Barbara, Tommy, Yosvani, Tony, Abel and the rest of the workers.... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed down the road at their Flagship hotel of the same chain and that was excellent. We got to this hotel for lunch, a stay on the beach and get a later but to the best beach up the coast and then back home at the end of the day. The amount of seats for the size hotel was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello John940 We want, first of all, to thank you for taking the time in making this report eventhough you didn't stay in our hotel and only visited for few hours. First of all we would like to say that our buffet opnes every day, from 12:30 to 2:30, so we understand that you got to our hotel after the... More 

Peterborough
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went with a group of 23 people to this resort Apr. 26 thru May 3. This was our 4th time to Cuba, and definitely the worst resort we've been to. We had requested via our travel agent an upper room, close to the beach, with 1 king-sized bed. We were put on the 1st floor, furthest from the beach,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Wendy Thank you very much for taking the time making this review that help us to work towards improving our services. We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectancies during this trip and we apologize for the inconviniences you had. We try hard to accomodat clients according to their requests but requests are granted based on availability,... More 

Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am 6th time repeat customer.Over the years i have seen the standard drop drastically. Beware for nest few weeks .DO NOT GO . As then is a large group of American travel agents arriving. So there is a lot of quick repairs being done. One day it rained for hours on end . All out activities , were transfered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Director_GeneralMCG, Director General at Melia Cayo Guillermo, responded to this review

Hello Baracuda8 WE would like to thank you for taking the time and make this review. Being a repeat guest for 6 times we are very sorry that this last trip was not up to your expectations. We are very sorry for the inconveniences due to the works in the htoel, it was too bad the weather was not nice... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Very good(11)
  • Lobby bar(7)
  • CUSTOMER SERVICE(6)
  • Italian restaurant(3)
  • HOT WATER(3)
  • Thomas Cook(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

5,441 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5416)
Viewed
Family/play areas (59)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1640)
Viewed
Room/suite (316)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (832)
Viewed
Dining (310)
Viewed
Bathroom (53)
Viewed
View from room (169)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (39)
Viewed
2:24
Videos (11)
Viewed
Other (1987)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities