We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Beach Hotel

East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
19
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Lecce
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just about had this hotel and a glorious long white sand beach to ourselves. Nice large room with veranda in a thatched bungalow beside the pool or another 20meters to the beach. Generous breakfast. The lunch and dinner menus were limited but included fresh fish from the village market.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Richmond, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I'm sorry to see the recent poor reviews of the Tamarind. I have stayed there many times in the past, and have just booked stays for two groups for next August and October. The beach is lovely, and you can enjoy it with no harassment from "beach boys", a rare and delightful situation. Local kids play soccer, women harvest sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The Place for sure needs renovation, but over all it is still value for the money. You have beachview from all bungalows and there is a nice pool. The food is mostly typical zanzibari, very tasty and good. This place is just perfect if you are looking for silence and tranquillity on the otherwise mostly busy and noisy east coast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Room was in a terrible condition in fact the place is badly maintained. Blood stained walls, brojen mosquito nets, no shower doors and the shower drain is next to toilet. Very unhygienic to say the least. If you a frequent traveller, then this is an absolute waste if money. I spent one night of my planned 6 nights and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I understand you had many grievances at our place, we are sorry for this. The reason I did not want to talk to you on the phone is that you already had told our manager that you want a refund or else.... bad review! Guests who use bad review as a threat I will not listen to. 2... More 

Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

Booked and paid for prior to arrival for 6 days. The hotel is beyond run down and is truly DISGUSTING! There was blood on the walls, old, dirty linens, rusted out refrigerator, no shower curtain and the drain for the shower located on the opposite side of the bathroom. All curtains were hung by a rusty nail and some broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horten, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This place is terrible and we would not recommend it to ANYONE! No value for money what so ever. One of our rooms were occupied when we arrived and we had a hard time getting another one. The rooms we got were filthy and the sheets dirty. The rooms are in serious need of renovation because they have not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I visited Tamarind Beach Hotel with a friend in August 2014. First things first, I was very impressed by the level of service provided. Starting from the quick response to my e-mail queries (by Trond) to being provided with clear directions to the property. The hotel is perfect - amazing food (the best we had in Zanzibar), the location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived here to Tamarind Beach Hotel, Uroa Beach, Zanzibar yesterday and it is absolute heaven! The hotel is deserted as it is low season (still cannot understand why no-one else here???? - this must be the best place in all of Zanzibar!!!!) The beach is stunning - much much better than Nungwi! - clean white sand for for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avoca, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've been coming to this beach guest house for years and love it. It's for travellers not tourists. If you don't need soul-less five star luxury - where you could be anywhere in the world - and you're happy to live simply and save your money so that others can simply live this is a great place to be. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

There was no security gate,Windows & screens broken, so did not feel safe to leave valuables in room. the grounds/rooms were not maintained & in need of serious renovation.The bathroom smelled and our toilet had no seat. The manager on duty did not seem concerned even after we changed rooms 3 times -he also hassled us about booking tours.Mosquito nets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question