We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Beach Hotel

2.0 of 5 East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tamarind Beach Hotel
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    8
    5
    16
See reviews for
19
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (74)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (18)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (21)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room was in a terrible condition in fact the place is badly maintained. Blood stained walls, brojen mosquito nets, no shower doors and the shower drain is next to toilet. Very unhygienic to say the least. If you a frequent traveller, then this is an absolute waste if money. I spent one night of my planned 6 nights and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I understand you had many grievances at our place, we are sorry for this. The reason I did not want to talk to you on the phone is that you already had told our manager that you want a refund or else.... bad review! Guests who use bad review as a threat I will not listen to. 2... More 

Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked and paid for prior to arrival for 6 days. The hotel is beyond run down and is truly DISGUSTING! There was blood on the walls, old, dirty linens, rusted out refrigerator, no shower curtain and the drain for the shower located on the opposite side of the bathroom. All curtains were hung by a rusty nail and some broken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horten, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

This place is terrible and we would not recommend it to ANYONE! No value for money what so ever. One of our rooms were occupied when we arrived and we had a hard time getting another one. The rooms we got were filthy and the sheets dirty. The rooms are in serious need of renovation because they have not been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

I visited Tamarind Beach Hotel with a friend in August 2014. First things first, I was very impressed by the level of service provided. Starting from the quick response to my e-mail queries (by Trond) to being provided with clear directions to the property. The hotel is perfect - amazing food (the best we had in Zanzibar), the location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We arrived here to Tamarind Beach Hotel, Uroa Beach, Zanzibar yesterday and it is absolute heaven! The hotel is deserted as it is low season (still cannot understand why no-one else here???? - this must be the best place in all of Zanzibar!!!!) The beach is stunning - much much better than Nungwi! - clean white sand for for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Avoca, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We've been coming to this beach guest house for years and love it. It's for travellers not tourists. If you don't need soul-less five star luxury - where you could be anywhere in the world - and you're happy to live simply and save your money so that others can simply live this is a great place to be. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

There was no security gate,Windows & screens broken, so did not feel safe to leave valuables in room. the grounds/rooms were not maintained & in need of serious renovation.The bathroom smelled and our toilet had no seat. The manager on duty did not seem concerned even after we changed rooms 3 times -he also hassled us about booking tours.Mosquito nets... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

When we stayed in Tamarind, we were the only guests in the hotel and it was raining. So it was probably not the best timing! But the staff was friendly, and the food was great, especially the chicken in mushroom sauce. Don't get the pizza though, far too greasy. The location is great: very calm, right on the beach, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Great location, right by the beach and very quiet and safe. Rooms are spacious but are in lack of renovation and general maintenance. Sheets were not clean and I should not have looked under the bed... There is no AC which indeed is needed at night. The staff is very welcoming, friendly and service minded, especially the driver, mr. Rama.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had booked the Tamarind for 9 nights over Christmas, however we left after 5 nights so we could explore Stone Town. The location is great for those who want a quiet relaxing beach holiday. Lovely sea breeze and quiet beach. Friendly staff, especially Haji the bar-man. Rooms need updating. One of our windows was blown off by the strong... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel

Address: East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel Zanzibar, Tanzania

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (74)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay