We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tamarind Beach Hotel

East Coast, Uroa, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Tamarind Beach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lulea, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a hotel that was probably good at some time, but has seen its best days. There doesnt seem to be any interest to renovate or freshen it up. The food is not good in the restaurant. The taste is not terrible, but for the price it is definitely not worth it. Most of the rooms dont have AC,... More 

Helpful?
Thank saggio2016
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

Swimming pool is awful. Rooms awful. Toilet flush not working. Very bad food This is not a good place to stay Very unfriendly staff... they need to fix these issues. The swimming pool was very very dirty. We had to run away from there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Asif D

Travelers are raving about these Uroa hotels

Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

If you must go to Uroa in Zanzibar, then this hotel is the best for the beach location. You can actually lay on the beach (instead of a wall being between you and the beach like a lot of the other hotels) and there is little/no hassle from people trying to sell tourist experiences. However, the hotel itself is pretty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
178 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015 via mobile

The personnel in the hotel is very friendly and quite helpful.. The food was average and the rooms were quite large but the hotel needs a bit of a renovation.. The most amazing part of the hotel was the beach which is so beautiful that you could spend the entire day gazing at the scenery :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Didier G
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I am very sorry to say that this is not a nice place. The rooms seems at a first sight to be clean, but when you look closer you soon realise that is only on the surface. There are a lot och dust and sand in the corners and it seems they haven't cleaned the rooms properly in years. There... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Julia L
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Just a comment about dust and uncleanliness. Our rooms are cleaned every day. The dust is wood dust coming from woodworms in the ceiling, We have been trying everything to exterminate these bugs but it is impossible. More 

Lecce
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

We just about had this hotel and a glorious long white sand beach to ourselves. Nice large room with veranda in a thatched bungalow beside the pool or another 20meters to the beach. Generous breakfast. The lunch and dinner menus were limited but included fresh fish from the village market.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Richmond, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

I'm sorry to see the recent poor reviews of the Tamarind. I have stayed there many times in the past, and have just booked stays for two groups for next August and October. The beach is lovely, and you can enjoy it with no harassment from "beach boys", a rare and delightful situation. Local kids play soccer, women harvest sea... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nancy078
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

The Place for sure needs renovation, but over all it is still value for the money. You have beachview from all bungalows and there is a nice pool. The food is mostly typical zanzibari, very tasty and good. This place is just perfect if you are looking for silence and tranquillity on the otherwise mostly busy and noisy east coast... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 19maksmei78
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015 via mobile

Room was in a terrible condition in fact the place is badly maintained. Blood stained walls, brojen mosquito nets, no shower doors and the shower drain is next to toilet. Very unhygienic to say the least. If you a frequent traveller, then this is an absolute waste if money. I spent one night of my planned 6 nights and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques S
Trond F, Owner at Tamarind Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I understand you had many grievances at our place, we are sorry for this. The reason I did not want to talk to you on the phone is that you already had told our manager that you want a refund or else.... bad review! Guests who use bad review as a threat I will not listen to. 2... More 

Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Booked and paid for prior to arrival for 6 days. The hotel is beyond run down and is truly DISGUSTING! There was blood on the walls, old, dirty linens, rusted out refrigerator, no shower curtain and the drain for the shower located on the opposite side of the bathroom. All curtains were hung by a rusty nail and some broken... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea K
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uroa
3.7 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
4.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Uroa Bay Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#2 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 11 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
18.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#2 of 11 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
27.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay