We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Uroa hotels

Palumboreef Beach Resort

3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Palumboreef Beach Resort to your Saves list
Palumboreef Beach Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
88%
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Uroa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lou-and-Am Montreal, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (470)
  • Photos (499)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

470 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    105
    29
    13
    11
See reviews for
75
213
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bottom line, if you do not speak/understand Italian, you will be isolated. Which we didn’t mind, really : we came here after a Kili climb, a brief safari… and a last-minute visit to this site, so all we wanted was to spend a couple of days reading and snoozing under the shade of palm trees. Otherwise, don’t believe the standard... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I'm Contay The Hero. I'm a musical artist and I have stayed in some of the worst and best hotels/resorts possible. With knowing the two extremes I can give a pretty accurate review of this amazing resort! First and foremost I've never heard of this place until I arrived in Stone Town with a few traveling companions. After getting off... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Pablo P, Proprietario at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Solo un artista come te , sensibile e attento a tutti i particolari , poteva fare una recensione così bella... More

Paris, France
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I spent one week there with all included formula.( all soft are free) I'm bit disappointed, no bottles of water is waiting for you in your room (you want one, bought it for 1,5€) they serve you drink by glass ( just leave the bottle on table. I don't understand when you ask for a non alcoholic cocktail you pay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Freddas, I'm sorry that you had not enjoyed the stay but I have to contradict you about some details. First of all the staff is speaking a fluent English and all our guests comunicate easily with them. The direc management of the owners is always taking care, regarding also particular requests. The restaurant menu also satisfy our guests, offering... More

Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed the week before X-mas in Samaki/Palumbo and got the holiday as wished. Our bungalow B04 had an amazing seaview on a quite part of the beach. The bungalow was nice, clean, airconditioning and a pleasure to have this home for a week. Samaki is great, smaller as Palumbo, but lovely resort and staff. We started always the morning... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Morj, thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback !! We are glad that you apreciate both hotels enjoying all the area..and the rooms on the beach are simply special..good choice! The staff wish you the best for 2014 and all of us hope to see you soon. Please, if you wanna come back contact us and we are happy... More

Verona, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I am a flight attendant so ,as you can imagine, have stayed in some of the most exclusive and sort after resorts around the world. When on holiday my expectations are high.Palumbo reef didn't disappiont me. The warm welcome from the owner and help to settle in. The spacious and comfortable rooms.The FANTASTIC food, so much chioce, even italian cusine!!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Beautiful Samanta!! We are happy to reed your feedback even couse you are expert after travelling a lot. We miss you guys!! When are you coming again? we are waiting you!! Thanks for your kindness, we are pleased to welcome you again!! come come come.. Greeting from all of us!! C. More

Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have returned just recently after spending a week at Pulumbo Reef and ejoyed the stay at the hotel very much. The overall atmosphere, friendly staff makes the stay enjoyable. Animators Giacomo from Napoli and Iva from Prague make a great team. The beach at the hotel would be fine, if it weren´t for the seaweed. During low tide swimming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Martin, thanks for your feedback that is really super!! We are pleased that you inform all the future guests about the nice staff and about all the activities that the hotel can organize for them. We offer a very rich program, full of activities like diving, quad adventure, hourse riding, excursions by boat or in town..or a very relaxing... More

Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

First, I did not stay at Palumboreef Resort, but I stayed next door and the two lodges share a beach, restaurant, and some employees. The beach was very overrun with black seaweed and the lodge only made one path to the water. The meals were served buffet style and cost $15 USD for lunch or dinner. However, some folks must... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Marie, we thank you for the feed back and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay! Our guests can decide the treatments they want regarding meals. We offer b&b, half board and full board. If someone want to eat pizza, he can advise the restaurant few minutes before and they will provide for it. It's not necessary to... More

Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came in the middle of the night, 03:30 A.M, we were given the worst room ever, shower was designed for midgets, you cannot stand straight while showering and the room wasn't clean, bed was FULL OF BUGS. We notified the reception and they woke up the cleaning lady at 4 A.M, she cleaned the bed and changed the sheets.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
il P, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear travellers, We thank you for the feed back you left us... We are very sorry for the small inconvenience but how you said, here we are always ready to arrange quickly the best for our clients! We offer Italian and local dishes, nice rooms all located near the beach or the pool area and many facilities like spa, diving,... More

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My 3-night stay at Palumbo reef was relaxing and problem-free. It was lovely to be greeted with a glass of fresh mango juice and fresh flowers in my room on arrival. The staff is very friendly and helpful, especially manager Mohamed. My room was large, comfortable and clean, with a great view of the sea from my balcony. There is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Friend, It was really nice to meet you and to have you here with us at Palumboreef Beach resort. Your review is a great reward, we really appreciate your feedback for all the services and the rooms, We wish to see you coming back soon! Greeting from all the Staff Giuseppe. More

Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend and another couple for 4 nights. Palumbo reef resort is a very nice place to chill out and relax for a few days. The very helpful staff go out of there way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay. We made good friends with the entertainment staff Jacho and Somea who looked after us and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
il P, Guest Relations Manager at Palumboreef Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Evan, Thanks a lot for your fantastic words! They real give us the right energy to stay focused, and keep improving. A Wi-Fi is little bit slower because we are to many in use and here in Africa a connection isn't like Europe, but I am pretty sure next time you will find an Internet point for customers. You'll... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Palumboreef Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Palumboreef Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palumboreef Beach Resort

Address: Uroa, Uroa, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Uroa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palumboreef Beach Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palumboreef Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ora Resort Palumbo Reef Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Uroa Village
Ora Hotel Palumbo Reef
Palumboreef Beach Resort Zanzibar, Tanzania

499 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (476)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
View from room (23)
Viewed
Family/play areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (159)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Uroa with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palumboreef Beach Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer