We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel

The Seafront | 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Royal Clarence Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #13 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
AggiePirate Martos, Spain
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    19
    12
    17
    15
See reviews for
10
41
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (77)
  • Mar-May only
    (13)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Martos, Spain
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been coming to the Clarence for years and the welcome is always warm, the food good and the beer excellent. Situated opposite the beach, the pub has live music at weekends sometimes and I cannot believe some of these reviews regarding noise. It's a PUB for heaven's sake, what did you expect? I recommend the RCH to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have just had our second holiday here at the clarence and again a lovely time . Room was small needed a chair to sit on or to put clothes on other wise it was great it as been all done out since we last went looked very nice . Rooms are clean and tidy and cleaned everyday even the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff need retraining on communication. Was told check in was till 12pm on Fridays as we called being concerned we would miss 10pm check in. We then called them on the Friday and left message, advising we were on way but running late due to car difficulties. Got there at 11.30, the place was still full of staff on reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are extremely clear that check-in is open from 2pm to 10pm daily - this is shown on every website we advertise and is shown on all paperwork you receive from us. Staff do not inform guests that checkin stays open until midnight as they have often left by that time - if it is quiet we may... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had the worst stay in my life! Stayed 2 nights and it was just awful! Karaoke till 1 even tho its states music will off at 11.30pm. Room was right above the bar so all we heard were drunk people and bad bad singing! Fans and drilling sounds all night! Door wasn't safe either. One hard push and it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melissa. You booked a double en-suite room with us for £17 per person. When you booked, you received an email providing details relevant to the hotel and your stay - the same details as shown on the website you booked with - but explained a little further. Within that email, it states that music can be heard in some... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

we have just come back from spending a few days here and we were so impressed with how clean the hotel was, staff were friendly and helpful. the view from our double room with seaview was breathtaking, was lovely and quiet. we will be coming back to stay again soon. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Had a great time tribute to Sinatra and Elvis free drinks friendly staff great rooms what more can you ask, took friends this visit and they were very impressed. Would return! Plenty of places to eat and drink in area buses to western super mare Hotel is overlooking sea front just down from pier no good if you have children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

we have just come back from spending 3 nights there the rooms and hotel was kept very clean but was disapointed by the web page and the information given you to print when you book was not all that the hotel stated it says that you are welcome to a free breakfast in the breakfast room but there is no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank You for leaving your review. In early December, we chose to go "Room Only" within the hotel; mainly due to the increasing number of business guests staying (who usually have to leave quite early). Our website is currently being changed but has been held up slightly due to the Christmas and New Year period. We emailed our... More 

Nottingham
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice - once in the summer and again in the winter. The hotel is in the perfect location, being on the seafront with some great views. The rooms are very clean (I think most are newly refurbished) and the beds are comfortable, and I slept soundly on both occasions. In the morning my shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Not worth the money. Beds and pillows like concrete boulders. Freezing cold during early hours,lightweight duvet non bed. Bathroom very small toilet squashed in alongside bath and wall. Went to go out for cigarette at 04.30 only to find a man sleeping on the floor of the sun terrace. Had to step over him to go outside. Did not feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

It was our first time in Burnham and we stayed for 5 days at the haven site, we enjoyed it that much we decided to extend our stay friday and saturday night. We wasnt too impressed with weston super mare so we looked for a hotel in Burnham. We had previously called in at the royal clarence for a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question