We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&Bs / inns

The Royal Clarence Hotel

The Seafront | 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Hotel amenities
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Clarence Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014
Sarah H Nottingham
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    11
    17
    13
See reviews for
10
36
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (70)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Nottingham
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice - once in the summer and again in the winter. The hotel is in the perfect location, being on the seafront with some great views. The rooms are very clean (I think most are newly refurbished) and the beds are comfortable, and I slept soundly on both occasions. In the morning my shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

Not worth the money. Beds and pillows like concrete boulders. Freezing cold during early hours,lightweight duvet non bed. Bathroom very small toilet squashed in alongside bath and wall. Went to go out for cigarette at 04.30 only to find a man sleeping on the floor of the sun terrace. Had to step over him to go outside. Did not feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You for leaving your review. I feel I must respond given the nature of your comments. I would not normally mention personal issue but as you are two very large ladies, it would require a specialist bed to offer the support you required; a hotel bed is obviously robust and hard-wearing but it is not going to offer premium... More 

1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

It was our first time in Burnham and we stayed for 5 days at the haven site, we enjoyed it that much we decided to extend our stay friday and saturday night. We wasnt too impressed with weston super mare so we looked for a hotel in Burnham. We had previously called in at the royal clarence for a drink... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

We stayed here on a thurs and fri night while in the area for a family event. The hotel is located on the promenade and some rooms have great views of the beach/sea. The rooms were as we expected, ample size, standard facilities, and credit where credit is due, they were very clean. The problem came for us when trying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

we seen this on tripadvisor the reviews was not good but we stayed there anyway. We had a great time from start to finish, on arrival the barmaid showed us to our room which was on the first floor over looking the beer garden , the room was nice just been done out and had en suite not very big... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Swansea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We traveled here as a party of 4. Arrived at the hotel and what a nice surprise. On the pron of Burnham and a short walk to the town and the beach across the road. Although we had 2 disabled in the party the hotel tried their best to accommodate them. Only problem is all rooms are upstairs so not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

the moment we stepped into this so called hotel we knew how bad it was going to be, reception was the foyer with a bell. on ringing the bell one of the barmen came out of the bar and took us to room 14, to get to the room we had to negotiate several flights of the oldest carpeted stairs.we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

I read the reviews on this place before we went and was dreading it. But I guess you really do have to judge things for yourself and that's what we did. We had a great time at their Friday night karaoke. Staff were friendly atmosphere was rocking. Drinks were very cheap too. Tia Maria and coke and a bottle of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More 

exeter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Stayed here with my Dad in room number 1 last Sunday. I am not sure what people are expecting and from the reviews it appears people are expecting more. The room was unexpectedly large for a twin and the beds were not in the 'normal' opposite lay out. In fact I felt I was in another room in my cosy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More 

Swadlincote, Derbys.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

I travel a lot but this is the worst hotel I have stayed in .. Ok it's cheap but a night in a youth hostel would have been better.. It was supposed to be en-suite but my bathroom was across the corridor.. How is that en-suite.. Room was disgusting needed decorating, smelt of smoke, less than basic furniture .. Wifi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More 

Been to The Royal Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Clarence Hotel

Address: The Seafront | 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Clarence Hotel was built in 1796 and retains much of its historic character. As the only hotel on the seafront in Burnham-on-Sea, guests enjoy uninterrupted sea views across Bridgwater Bay to Wales and the North Devon coast.Our 15 en-suite rooms accommodate guests in a mix of single, twin, double and family rooms, many with sea views.The comfortable Lounge Bar serves a large range of drinks at the cheapest prices in Town. Great food is served too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Clarence Hotel Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Clarence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.