We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&Bs / inns

The Royal Clarence Hotel

The Seafront | 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Royal Clarence Hotel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
39%
Ranked #13 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
tracey m Birmingham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    11
    15
    12
See reviews for
8
33
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the moment we stepped into this so called hotel we knew how bad it was going to be, reception was the foyer with a bell. on ringing the bell one of the barmen came out of the bar and took us to room 14, to get to the room we had to negotiate several flights of the oldest carpeted stairs.we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I read the reviews on this place before we went and was dreading it. But I guess you really do have to judge things for yourself and that's what we did. We had a great time at their Friday night karaoke. Staff were friendly atmosphere was rocking. Drinks were very cheap too. Tia Maria and coke and a bottle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

exeter
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here with my Dad in room number 1 last Sunday. I am not sure what people are expecting and from the reviews it appears people are expecting more. The room was unexpectedly large for a twin and the beds were not in the 'normal' opposite lay out. In fact I felt I was in another room in my cosy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

Swadlincote, Derbys.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I travel a lot but this is the worst hotel I have stayed in .. Ok it's cheap but a night in a youth hostel would have been better.. It was supposed to be en-suite but my bathroom was across the corridor.. How is that en-suite.. Room was disgusting needed decorating, smelt of smoke, less than basic furniture .. Wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived to no parking which wasn't very clear. Only 2 spaces for the hotel so we had to use the pay and display. We had to pay until 6pm the. Go back and pay from then to the following morning and so had to leave by 9 to avoid paying any more. The room wasn't very good. Toilet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

OMG what can i say,no bedside light had to go out and buy 1,no headboard,1 small chair,broken lock on bathroom door,shower shot water everywhere,no lights from midnight 1 night then cleaner told us how and where trip switch was,breakfast was cornflakes,cos i don,t do cocoa pops or branflakes,toast with frozen bread,banana or apple,jam or marmalade,yogurt,where was all the other items... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

North of Sydney
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
48 hotel reviews
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This is a good basic hotel no frills so don't get your hopes up.Everything works a little bit tired but staff are friendly.Hotel is a bit of a "rabbit warren". Breakfast was adequate.Parking available in street out the front and a good bar downstairs.Sometimes it's good to rate your b&B's with something out of left field as staying at same... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel is worth staying at but you have to be ready for an average hotel. The staff are friendly. The rooms are quite clean, although our shower room did not smell nice. The breakfast was basic consisting of toast, cereal, hot drinks and fruit juices. We stayed on Friday and Saturday nights, the music was ok, and finished at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

only stayed one night but if you go on the weekend ( fri - sat ) be prepared as there is music downstairs in the pub till late at night . we stayed on a Friday night and was noisey till midnight. The staff were nice , had a nice view , close to beach , and short walk to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

We do not respond to individual reviews on Tripadvisor as this website does not provide factual details for the hotel. We therefore cannot be held accountable for any facilities or options this website lists. We purchased The Royal Clarence Hotel in March 2013 and Tripadvisor refuses to remove reviews prior to that date ie when we had zero control or... More

Halesowen, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

When we tried to book in the star had to serve the customers in the bar before they saw to us and then they hadn't got a key tour room! They did eventually let us in with the master key to leave our stuff and freshen up. The room itself was clean, the bathroom was a nice size, the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Been to The Royal Clarence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Clarence Hotel

Address: The Seafront | 31 Esplanade, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Burnham-On-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Burnham-On-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Clarence Hotel was built in 1796 and retains much of its historic character. As the only hotel on the seafront in Burnham-on-Sea, guests enjoy uninterrupted sea views across Bridgwater Bay to Wales and the North Devon coast.Our 15 en-suite rooms accommodate guests in a mix of single, twin, double and family rooms, many with sea views.The comfortable Lounge Bar serves a large range of drinks at the cheapest prices in Town. Great food is served too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Clarence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Clarence Hotel Burnham-On-Sea, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Clarence Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.