We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Clarence Hotel

2.5 of 5
31 Esplanade | The Seafront, Burnham-On-Sea TA8 1BQ, England
Hotel amenities
The Royal Clarence Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #13 of 13 Burnham-On-Sea B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
amy h
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    12
    17
    16
See reviews for
11
44
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (81)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (28)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went here for the night with my partner and my sister and her partner had a different room. We both had lovely rooms and was good for the price. In the evening they had a take that tribute act which were amazing and the drinks were cheap. Staff were friendly and very welcoming. Hotel is in a very good location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Brilliant Customer Service, aswell as being so kind and generous. I would 100% highly recommend The Royal Clarence Hotel to anyone. They provided an outstanding 5* service, Anna-Marie, Mansfield Woodhouse

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had cancelled our stay at the hotel on the previos evening,because of car trouble.i send an email and phoned the hotel with this information,abount twenty mins later we resolved the car problem,i phoned the hotel and explained,and the person i spoke to rebooked the same room for us.we arrived the next day to be told our cancellation had not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Paul C, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Let us get the details correct.......YOU emailed at 8.00pm on the Thursday night to cancel your booking. As we hadn't replied quickly enough YOU rang us at 8.09pm (yes, after just 9 minutes) and AGAIN asked us to cancel your booking. Your room booking (made in January) allowed you to cancel by noon, 2 days before arrival for a full... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel. Our room was very clean and freshly refurbished. Lovely shower, modern sink with waterfall tap and hand soap provided. Tea and coffee making facilities were also included in the room. The hotel is obviously being refurbished gradually, we left one morning and returned in the afternoon to find all new... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martos, Spain
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been coming to the Clarence for years and the welcome is always warm, the food good and the beer excellent. Situated opposite the beach, the pub has live music at weekends sometimes and I cannot believe some of these reviews regarding noise. It's a PUB for heaven's sake, what did you expect? I recommend the RCH to anyone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We have just had our second holiday here at the clarence and again a lovely time . Room was small needed a chair to sit on or to put clothes on other wise it was great it as been all done out since we last went looked very nice . Rooms are clean and tidy and cleaned everyday even the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

Staff need retraining on communication. Was told check in was till 12pm on Fridays as we called being concerned we would miss 10pm check in. We then called them on the Friday and left message, advising we were on way but running late due to car difficulties. Got there at 11.30, the place was still full of staff on reception... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. We are extremely clear that check-in is open from 2pm to 10pm daily - this is shown on every website we advertise and is shown on all paperwork you receive from us. Staff do not inform guests that checkin stays open until midnight as they have often left by that time - if it is quiet we may... More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

Had the worst stay in my life! Stayed 2 nights and it was just awful! Karaoke till 1 even tho its states music will off at 11.30pm. Room was right above the bar so all we heard were drunk people and bad bad singing! Fans and drilling sounds all night! Door wasn't safe either. One hard push and it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheRoyalClarence, Owner at The Royal Clarence Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Melissa. You booked a double en-suite room with us for £17 per person. When you booked, you received an email providing details relevant to the hotel and your stay - the same details as shown on the website you booked with - but explained a little further. Within that email, it states that music can be heard in some... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

we have just come back from spending a few days here and we were so impressed with how clean the hotel was, staff were friendly and helpful. the view from our double room with seaview was breathtaking, was lovely and quiet. we will be coming back to stay again soon. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

Had a great time tribute to Sinatra and Elvis free drinks friendly staff great rooms what more can you ask, took friends this visit and they were very impressed. Would return! Plenty of places to eat and drink in area buses to western super mare Hotel is overlooking sea front just down from pier no good if you have children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question