We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel SH Villa Gadea

#3 of 7 Hotels in Altea
Certificate of Excellence
Partida Villa Gadea s/n, 03590 Altea, Spain (Formerly SH Melia Villa Gadea Beach Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    171
    64
    31
    16
See reviews for
153
247
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (514)
  • Mar-May only
    (136)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (196)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (136)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (46)
All months
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at three SH hotels in the area - Villa Gadea, Altea Hills and the one in Calpe. SH knows the hotel business and do everything possible to make their guests happy. Villa Gadea is exemplary in terms of location, rooms, staff and cleanliness. It's next to the beach but visitors need to know that the beach is rocky... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Edmonton, First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave a writing review of your experience on your stay in SH Villa Gadea, SH Altea Hills and SH IFach, so that we can analyze it and see those points that can be improved in order to meet our guests´ expectations. We only have... More 

Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very helpful and pleasant staff at the front desk. The pool area is perfect and gorgeous. Enjoyed the lobby bar. Attik makes the best Gin & Tonics. Great room with a view of the pool area, comfortable bed and pillows Plentiful breakfast buffet. All was very enjoyable!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Lourdes, Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your recent stay in Altea and for your kind recommendation. We greatly appreciate your opinion; your comments, letting us know that you had a great experience, and the positive appreciation of our staff, encourage all the team to continue working with the goal to improve our service every... More 

Barx, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight on our way home after a few days away at another 5 star hotel which was not up to standard. The Villa Gadea is definitely 5 Star. From the time you enter the spacious and beautifully furnished and decorated reception area you are aware that this is a luxury hotel. Large bedroom, good sized bathroom, every detail thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Joanne, Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your recent stay in Altea and for your kind recommendation. We greatly appreciate your opinion; your comments, letting us know that you had a great experience, and the positive appreciation of our staff, encourage all the team to continue working with the goal to improve our service every... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Booked a 1 night romantic special not disappointed. Hotel welcoming and deal excellent value. Spa has everything you need. A couple of bits not working but that seems to be the same in all hotels. The evening meal was a set menu but had 7 courses all excellently made and cooked. Without doubt one if the best meals I have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, Firstly, we would like to thank you for recommending the SH Villa Gadea Hotel and for the time you have taken to write this review about your experience with us. We are glad to know that you had a satisfactory stay, and enjoyed our Miramar Restaurant during your romantic stay. We hope to count with the opportunity to... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

A perfect family break! The staff in this hotel were fantastic! we were half board and the evening meal was fabulous. Unfortunately, the weather was not so good, but this did not prevent us from having a wonderful experience. We will definitely return in the summer and advise anyone to pay the extra for HB. Thank you. Only comment was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your stay in Altea with your family and for your recommendation. We greatly appreciate your opinion; your comments, letting us know that you had a great experience, and the positive appreciation of our staff, encourage all the team to continue working with the goal to improve our service... More 

Altea, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

My partner & I stayed in a junior suite here for our anniversary. Our room was gorgeous and very clean - even had a jacuzzi bathtub - slippers and robes were also provided. There was also free wi-fi and excellent facilities throughout. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We had a wonderful and relaxing stay & I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Karrie, Thank you for having chosen SH Villa Gadea Hotel for your recent stay in Altea and for your kind recommendation. We greatly appreciate your opinion; your comments, letting us know that you had a great experience, and the positive appreciation of our staff, encourage all the team to continue working with the goal to improve our service every... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

Following a quick visit to the bar last year and a recommendation from a friend, we (3 couples) decided to have a winter break of two weeks at the hotel. We were not disappointed, the bedrooms were splendid, a big area with a separate table and settee (superior), private balcony with an excellent view over the sea and surrounding area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Janine, Thank you for stay with us during your holidays in Spain and thank you very much for your feedback about the our restaurant as this will help us to improve our service. Quality is one of our priorities and has nothing to do with the marketing we do, so we will review the procedures with the only intention... More 

Suffolk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Food was buffet style, of a good standard and with some show case cooking for a different dish each evening. The pool areas were lovely. The weather was extremely hot when we stayed here, so finding a bed in the shade was vital. We had a couple of problems with our room initially,but these were soon resolved and we thoroughly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for stay with us during your holidays in Spain and thank you very much for your feedback about the buffet. We only have words to thank you for writing them down so that others can read them and have a better idea of what they are missing. Hopefully we will welcome you back to our Hotel... More 

Los Alcazares, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Only there for 1 night, rooms were nice, but a bit dusty, will put that down to being quieter months but not worth complaining about. But probably should have mentioned it Amazing views from the suite we were in, sunsets etc Friendly staff Buffet breakfast more than ample, but never offered more coffee! Hotel is out of town, so either... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for stay with us during your holidays in Spain and thank you very much for your feedback as this will help us to improve our service. Hopefully we will welcome you back to our Hotel SH Villa Gadea. Yours sincerely, Quality Department. SH Villa Gadea Hotel More 

Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Lovely big bedrooms with whirlpool bath and walk in shower, 3 swimming pools of varying depths and large spacious public areas. Food was very good - buffet style with plenty of choices and hot food cooked fresh for you. Wifi free but poor coverage. Bar small and dominated by TV which ALWAYS had football on Entertainment pretty poor apart from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
shhoteles, Quality Department at Hotel SH Villa Gadea, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for stay with us during your holidays in Spain and thank you very much for your feedback as this will help us to improve our service. Hopefully we will welcome you back to our Hotel SH Villa Gadea. Yours sincerely, Quality Department. SH Villa Gadea Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

607 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (281)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
View from room (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (51)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (42)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (107)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (305)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Beach (7)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (32)
Viewed
Exterior Pool (3)
Viewed
Pool (24)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (60)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (56)
Viewed
Superior Room (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Thermal Pool (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities