We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Gortahork hotels

Ostan Loch Altan

Save
You added Ostan Loch Altan to your Saves list
Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Ostan Loch Altan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gortahork
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gortahork
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    32
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
40
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights during weekdays, was very comfortable quiet room but could do with some modernisation. Room was clean only ate breakfast there food was good and plenty of it. Staff were attentive to any needs I had, even when I arrived at the hotel late the night porter was cheerful and friendly in the early hours of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am pleased that you had a very positive experience when you visited Gortahork and stayed in Ostan Loch Altan. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us. We serve breakfast fresh to each guest. Many of our guests have expressed great satisfaction at being served their breakfast fresh and hot at the table rather than... More 

Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
57 hotel reviews
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked on a B&B basis here because there is little choice in Gortahork. The rooms were fine. The staff initially were OK but unfortunately there was a hiccup with our bill. . After a long day traveling we decided that there was a very limited to nil choice of where to eat locally that evening so decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to Ostan Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I am disappointed that you had to leave with a bad taste, There was obviously some lack of communication between the various departments if you were charged the DBB rate instead of the bed and breakfast rate.The vast majority of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

We held a surprise Golden Wedding Anniversary meal for my mother and father in law and 18 guests. My family and some of the guests stayed there for one or two nights. The rooms were excellent, the food was excellent, the staff and service was excellent. What more can I say !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Gortahork and to Ostán Loch Altan on the occasion of your parents' Golden Wedding Anniversary. We all love to host such a special occasion and we were very pleased to meet with you and other members of you family. To celebrate 50 yeas of marriage is such a special occasion.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

this hotel ticked all the boxes for comfort, service, and food. The evening dinner on Thursday was a great deal and bar food well above average for quantity and quality. All staff very helpful,would definitely stay here again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Ostán Loch Altan. We have excellent staff, all of whom are living locally and they take a certain pride in working in their local hotel. We have acquired a very good reputation for the quality and quantity of our food. Our head chef, Lorraine, has put together... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

A good hotel with a lot of rooms. A few more extra's (inclusive treatments/spa etc) would seriously improve it. It does need a bit of work (stains in roof etc) but generally a very pleasant hotel with GOOD food and friendly, helpful staff. Thank you for a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a very fair and balanced review of your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to have been friendly and extended you a very warm welcome. I am also very pleased that you enjoyed our food.... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Good value for money and excellent windsurfing in every direction. Great breakfast, now improved internet access very friendly staff. Car park copes with vans and trailers. The occasional wedding adds to the fun. Wetsuits welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Gortahork and your stay in Ostán Loch Altan. Yes, we have a particular welcome for the the many windsurfers that come to sample the swell at nearby Magheroarty and the other local beaches. I am delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast. We like to serve the breakfast fresh from the... More 

Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

Probably the best value I have had in a hotel room in a long time. Dinner for two courses in the bar at 13.95 euro was excellent value and what I really liked was the breakfast. All hot food came from the kitchen and indeed we all know this rarely happens these days. Had an enjoyable stay if only for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Ostán Loch Altan and to Gortahork. and that you got good value for your money. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay. We like to serve the breakfast to each guest freshly cooked from the kitchen. and while hey are seated. I... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

An annual visit for the great Donegal windsurfing and fishing (both sea and freshwater), some of the best sand dunes to walk through I've ever seen. The Loch Altan Hotel provides the perfect base location to enjoy and explore this great part of the world, the staff are always friendly and genuinely care, the rooms are always cleaned to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post this very positive review of your stay in Ostán Loch Altan. It is great to see that you come back to us time after time and that you enjoy the hospitality that is provided by the staff. The staff are all living locally and are always very anxious to provide a warm... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Very friendly staff, always welcoming. Been going for many years due to location close to Donegal's world famous windsurfing and surfing beaches. Breakfast always good especially the Full Irish. Will be going back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Another happy windsurfer. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay with us on this occasion. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your full Irish breakfast . Many guests comment on how pleasing it is to be served a freshly cooked breakfast... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Had another great week at the Loch Altan (stayed there last year and will go again next). Location is perfect for windsurfing on the west coast. This hotel is clean and very comfortable. All the staff were very friendly, in that natural Irish way, just the mood for our stay. Extremely good value and highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ostanlochaltan, General Manager at Ostan Loch Altan, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review of your stay here in Ostán Loch Altan. I am very pleased that you will be coming again next year. Thank you also for your kind comments about our hard working staff. They really enjoy providing genuine hospitality, particularly to our many windsurfing guests. Many thanks Kindest regards... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Ostan Loch Altan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostan Loch Altan

Address: Main Street, Gortahork, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Gortahork
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Ostan Loch Altan Gortahork, Ireland - County Donegal

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay