We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Macao

#32 of 91 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Largo de Monte Carlo, No. 203, Macao Sar, P.R. China, Macau, China
Special Offer
Up to 30% off-8 days only
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Sands Macao
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    34
    38
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
15
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (20)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (26)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Sydney AUS
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2015

We caught the ferry to Macau and tried to make our way around, but didn't anticipate how big this place is! We caught the hotel transfer from The Venetian to The Sands and Koko helped us to arrange a driver to take us sight seeing before our evening ferry back to Hong Kong. He arranged for the driver to take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear JulieBSydneyAUS, Thank you for sharing your experience with us It was glad to know that our Concierge, Koko helped you with the sight-seeing arrangement and it all went well. Nowadays, there is so much to do in Macau with all the attractions and eatery around. So you are absolutely right that one should give plenty of time here. We... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2015

Great! The service at the restaurant was very good. The staff was excellent and very helpful. The food was clean and good. I would like to go back again with my family for sure! All the same, I recommend some way of getting some music into the place, as the music from the casino can be very loud and interfering... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear Sohani S, Thank you for sharing your great experience at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service and food at our restaurant. Rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback to all the staff. We also worked with our AV team to make some adjustment to the floor music and hopefully... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

We were so excited about our visit to Macau and let me tell you that we never ever expected such lousy service from such a hotel. My friends and I boarded their shuttle with 6 luggages and their staff never ever offered to help with our luggage at the Ferry terminal. They were on their phones or talking to each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear Elv07, Warmest greetings from Sands Macao! We would like to thank you for your feedback and deeply regret that you had a mixed experience. Please let me assure you that your experience is not indicative of the service we provide to our guests. The shuttle and staff do not belong to the hotel and it is managed by AA... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The reception lobby is very small, the staff no smile and unpassionate. The decoration items in the room very old and not clean. Do not expect any 5 star service or positive food experience. There are so many three star hotel service is much better, stay somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear CC, Warmest greetings from Sands Macao! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us as such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards, and allowing us to rectify any shortfalls. Your observations and constructive comments are genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that we pride ourselves in providing a high level of... More 

Bad Sankt Leonhard im Lavanttal, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I really enjoyed the service in the Sands Macao a lot. Jason at the front desk checked me in very smoothly and professional. He made sure that I got a room witha great view at the ocean. I really enjoyed the big bathtub and the comfortable. In comparison to Hong Kong you get a log more space for your money.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear AnnaPirker, Thank you for sharing your great experience at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service at the front desk and room service. I am sure this information will further motivate both Jason and Conquer to strive for service excellence. Rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback to them directly.... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

It's not the biggest or the most luxurious but it is one of the most user friendly casinos. The layout is very good. The gambling main floor is easy to find your way around and the large bar alongside is fantastic for those who wish to have a drink and watch the lovely Chinese dancing girls...The Sands Angels. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear InquisitorX, Thank you for your sharing your comments. We are pleased to know that you have in general enjoyed your stay at Sands Macao and we were able to meet your expectation. We will continue to explore ways to make Sands the best place for everyone. Rest assured, this wonderful facility is getting the attention it deserves. We look... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This historic American hotel/casino is only a decade old but it's starting to show wear and tear. I've asked for a non-smoking room, but it was unavailable. The regular room still has a slight smell, but still clean and decent. The elevator though is slow and smells like an ashtray. The hotel has nice restaurants. From fancy Copa steakhouse to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear OuijaAble, Thank you for sharing your comments. After 10 years, this classic beauty is undergoing a significant update. We are in the process of refreshing the entire casino floor. Adding new entertainment options. We have remodeled two of our most popular restaurants and have plans to update our other restaurants as well. We are also in the middle of... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

i have stayed here a few times due to there being live acts in the casino which is a welcome break from the gambling. There are no complaints about the room which is large and clean. It did cost over 2000HKD for a king sized bed room for a week day stay (and this was an discounted rate) with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear William L, Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased to hear that you have in general enjoyed your stay at Sands Macao and that we were able to meet your expectation. We are also in the middle of remodeling all of our hotel rooms and other facilities to refresh our property. Please do let us know on... More 

Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We arrived at The Sands on the morning of the 28th of September by way of taking the wrong shuttle from the ferry. I showed one of the staff at the door our booking slip to check we were in the right place and lo and behold we were meant to be at the Sands complex on the Cotai strip.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear ozamber, Thank you for taking your time to share your exceptional experience at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service at the Concierge. We have identified the team member who help you on that day and will share this valuable feedback to them. As a Travelers’ Choice winner, we are always looking... More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Of course in a luxury hotel like this, you would not expect any problems on the hardware, I guess you would possible know what I am going t say. It is all about service, first, the hotel standard check in time is 3pm and we arrived at 3.30pm, however, we were told that the room was still not ready. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear LiloPelekai, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us as such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards, and allowing us to rectify any shortfalls. We have noted the constructive feedback after your disappointing check-in experience. I wish to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and regret for the inconvenience and discomfort... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Macau hotels
0.5 mi away
StarWorld Macau
StarWorld Macau
#20 of 91 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wynn Macau
Wynn Macau
#12 of 91 in Macau
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Lapa Macau
Grand Lapa Macau
#26 of 91 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Lisboa
Grand Lisboa
#23 of 91 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Emperor Hotel
Grand Emperor Hotel
#19 of 91 in Macau
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Landmark Macau
Landmark Macau
#47 of 91 in Macau
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay