We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sands Macao

#33 of 90 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
4.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel packages
Largo de Monte Carlo, No. 203, Macao Sar, P.R. China, Macau, China
The Sands Macao
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #33 of 90 Hotels in Macau
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015
AnnaPirker Bad Sankt Leonhard im Lavanttal, Austria
Add Photo

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    31
    36
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
13
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (79)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were so excited about our visit to Macau and let me tell you that we never ever expected such lousy service from such a hotel. My friends and I boarded their shuttle with 6 luggages and their staff never ever offered to help with our luggage at the Ferry terminal. They were on their phones or talking to each... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear Elv07, Warmest greetings from Sands Macao! We would like to thank you for your feedback and deeply regret that you had a mixed experience. Please let me assure you that your experience is not indicative of the service we provide to our guests. The shuttle and staff do not belong to the hotel and it is managed by AA... More 

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

The reception lobby is very small, the staff no smile and unpassionate. The decoration items in the room very old and not clean. Do not expect any 5 star service or positive food experience. There are so many three star hotel service is much better, stay somewhere else!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear CC, Warmest greetings from Sands Macao! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us as such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards, and allowing us to rectify any shortfalls. Your observations and constructive comments are genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that we pride ourselves in providing a high level of... More 

Bad Sankt Leonhard im Lavanttal, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I really enjoyed the service in the Sands Macao a lot. Jason at the front desk checked me in very smoothly and professional. He made sure that I got a room witha great view at the ocean. I really enjoyed the big bathtub and the comfortable. In comparison to Hong Kong you get a log more space for your money.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear AnnaPirker, Thank you for sharing your great experience at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service at the front desk and room service. I am sure this information will further motivate both Jason and Conquer to strive for service excellence. Rest assured that we will share your valuable feedback to them directly.... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
210 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

It's not the biggest or the most luxurious but it is one of the most user friendly casinos. The layout is very good. The gambling main floor is easy to find your way around and the large bar alongside is fantastic for those who wish to have a drink and watch the lovely Chinese dancing girls...The Sands Angels. The food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear InquisitorX, Thank you for your sharing your comments. We are pleased to know that you have in general enjoyed your stay at Sands Macao and we were able to meet your expectation. We will continue to explore ways to make Sands the best place for everyone. Rest assured, this wonderful facility is getting the attention it deserves. We look... More 

Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

This historic American hotel/casino is only a decade old but it's starting to show wear and tear. I've asked for a non-smoking room, but it was unavailable. The regular room still has a slight smell, but still clean and decent. The elevator though is slow and smells like an ashtray. The hotel has nice restaurants. From fancy Copa steakhouse to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear OuijaAble, Thank you for sharing your comments. After 10 years, this classic beauty is undergoing a significant update. We are in the process of refreshing the entire casino floor. Adding new entertainment options. We have remodeled two of our most popular restaurants and have plans to update our other restaurants as well. We are also in the middle of... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

i have stayed here a few times due to there being live acts in the casino which is a welcome break from the gambling. There are no complaints about the room which is large and clean. It did cost over 2000HKD for a king sized bed room for a week day stay (and this was an discounted rate) with no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear William L, Thank you for sharing your comments. I am pleased to hear that you have in general enjoyed your stay at Sands Macao and that we were able to meet your expectation. We are also in the middle of remodeling all of our hotel rooms and other facilities to refresh our property. Please do let us know on... More 

Hanmer Springs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We arrived at The Sands on the morning of the 28th of September by way of taking the wrong shuttle from the ferry. I showed one of the staff at the door our booking slip to check we were in the right place and lo and behold we were meant to be at the Sands complex on the Cotai strip.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear ozamber, Thank you for taking your time to share your exceptional experience at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you are pleased with our service at the Concierge. We have identified the team member who help you on that day and will share this valuable feedback to them. As a Travelers’ Choice winner, we are always looking... More 

Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Of course in a luxury hotel like this, you would not expect any problems on the hardware, I guess you would possible know what I am going t say. It is all about service, first, the hotel standard check in time is 3pm and we arrived at 3.30pm, however, we were told that the room was still not ready. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear LiloPelekai, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us as such information enables us to monitor the application of our service standards, and allowing us to rectify any shortfalls. We have noted the constructive feedback after your disappointing check-in experience. I wish to sincerely apologize for the shortcomings and regret for the inconvenience and discomfort... More 

Ibaraki, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

In this hotel, it is not possible to say was great, a bad word about it! Great, food was the staff, and service was great. One of the Sasaki of friends who travel together, to come back to the fact, you want to book again with sands.one staff member name Randy but with a story that came out is Japanese,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear Unikanika O Thank you for taking your time to share your great experiences at Sands Macao. I am delighted to hear that you have in general enjoyed every moment with us especially with the great food and service. It is great that you singled out our team member Randy for his outstanding service; I will personally share your positive... More 

Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is quite big so can easily get lost and wander for a bit before finding your desire destination. The hotel has a lot of restaurants to pick from so food won't be an issue from budget to high end. The rooms on the other hand is less than the others, the rooms are quite sizeable but the decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kent L, Manager at The Sands Macao, responded to this review

Dear Tristan_Anthony, Thank you for your feedback with regard to your recent visit in Sands Macau. Your observations and comments on our room décor, amenities, TV and bed are genuinely appreciated. Please let me assure you that your experience is not indicative of the product and service we provide to our guests. We will continue to be receptive and will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (96)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay