We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Gili Trawangan hotels

Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (53)
  • Photos (46)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (2)
  • Location
  • More
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 19 hotels in Gili Trawangan
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    18
    5
    13
    6
See reviews for
5
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I am writing this on behalf of me and my partner. We stayed at Balikana for 3 nights as a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of Central Gili T. Positives: fabulous pool, clean room, great beds, cool outdoor shower in the ensuite bathroom, good sunset location, yummy breakfast on the beach. The 3 huts upstairs at the front... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest thank you so much for taking the time to write a critic on our facilities. We appreciate all input. We can only say how sorry we are that the roomboy did not provide on spot service for your toilet paper and soap requests. He is very diligent on the norm but we will speak to him about how... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is dirty run down. You do not get the value for your money. There are no beach chairs to lie on and the pool is filled with bugs, smells bad and we would not recommend swimming in it. We stayed in the standard room our first night with a promise to be moved to an upgraded room the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, sorry for your nightmare experience. We appreciate your review because it gives us a chance to respond. We did profusely apologize for your unhappiness with your stay and personally paid for your ride out, a value of 75,000 rupiah. Your first room was 600,000 rupiah, and your upgrade room 650,000 rupiah per night inclusive of tax, service,breakfast, free... More

Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

From the photos and outside looks very nice but all place look like after epidemic catastrophy... -lost in a past... receptionist sometimes working and usually no Room is big but not well maintained-toilette didn't work.shower had almost no water.long way from the city but beach is super pretty and not many people around.definatly need renovation,attention and Caring staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, a very big apology for any slight you might have felt while staying at Balikana. I have contacted Made at balikana and addressed this issue. Toilets and water are a tricky situation on the island and always is maintained and remainted. It is an on going problem for the island without infastruce. To update you on the situation... More

Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay at the resort but it looked sweet and cozy, mininum stay 3nights, little warned out. Might be a bit far for those looking for crowd and party. At the end of the day its a retreat place - feels like perfect escape place. There were more luxury, fancy or central places but we kept returning to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our restaurant and feedback on your feeling of our hotel and location. The three night minimal was enforced for high season only and we do accept one night bookings. Extensive renovations have been in effect to beautify our gardens and to secure our property for the rainy season. We are... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is not a boutique resort - we booked here thinking it would be really nice but its not. The beach out the front is terrible, I ended up at the medical centre as I cut my feet on the coral. There was no hot water for the showers The door to the outdoor bathroom is difficult to use There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your review of our hotel. It gives us an opportunity to update you and your group that stayed at our resort in September. You have mentioned so many issues so I will respond briefly, sorry about the coral on the beach, but it is an island surrounded by a coral atoll and September... More

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

To start with the positives..... 1. good pool 2.Made was very welcoming, friendly and helpful 3.nice breakfast included each morning and unfortunately this is about where it ends....... The negatives....... 1.over the 4 nights we stayed we did not once get a hot show, only a cold dribble from the outdoor shower, one day no water. 2.The bikes available for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback from our guests, because it is only with your response that we can know where we excel and where we have room or improvement. To respond to your remark about our pool, thank you very much and we are glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourself at Balikana.... More

Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have been coming to Bali now for 25 years, we have been 3 times already this year, so we have stayed in many hotels here, so after staying at Balikana we were very disappointed. The photos on their website were taken a long time ago as it is in dire need of repairs. The beach area especially as all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that the experience at Balikana did not meet your expectations. We have taken all your comments under consideration. There are now workers on site repairing all the damages to the property received during the high season, and if you give us a chance to show you how much we care about you and all... More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very laid back place and beautiful rooms/bathroom AMAZING!!!!!! Wonderful swimming pool and beautiful beach just across the path/you have breakfast on the beach!! Its not a big razmataz place with fancy umbrellas, its just a place to chillax on the beach and brilliant snorkelling. The great thing is about Balikana is you can lie on the beach while your children... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for positive comments. We are always striving to give the guests a memorable holiday. We are glad your stay with us was a good one. You have a charming family and it was a pleasure to have you as our guests in our home at Balikana. We are always striving to improve and now after the... More

Paris, France
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Positive : location, nice owner, availability (we understood why after checking in...) Negative : room not neat, overall need of major renovation everywhere in the hotel, breakfast (awful, we ended up going elsewhere to have one) The pool is nice, just be careful not to get a shard on your feet while accessing it...

Was this review helpful? Yes
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, we are so sorry that your experience was a disappointment. We have noted all your comments and are now addressing all your issues. Our guests positive experience is most important to us, and there is no small detail mentioned that goes unnoticed. We hope that if you give us another chance we will excel in all your desires... More

Amherst, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The indoor/outdoor bathroom are beautiful. We were running around Bali and when we found the Balikana we stopped and spent the rest of our vacation there. Mr. Bamz and Mr. Allie were incredibly helpful and made the experience very memorable.. We were all sitting in the cabana and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
easygoingtraveller16, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank your for your positive comments. Your reviews are so important to us, not only the negative, which open up areas where we must improve but for the positive ones that let us know that we did something right. We will always strive to do better, to give you an amazing holiday. We thank you for your feedback... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Balikana Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

46 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan #11 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
10

See which rooms travelers prefer

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Balikana Boutique Beach Resort to your Saves list