We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Gili Trawangan hotels

Hotel Ombak Sunset

Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK HERE FOR BEST DEALS
Save Saved
You added Hotel Ombak Sunset to your Saves list
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
62%
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Gili Trawangan
A recent review
  • Overview
  • Reviews (190)
  • Photos (187)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (35)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    30
    15
    26
See reviews for
25
91
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel was highly recommended by a good friend of mine who has great taste. Therefore, it became my choice of stay after 3 days strenuous mountain trekking & trail racing at Mt. Rinjani. I had to agree that sunset here was like no others, breathtaking view directly from hotel's private beach, that was the best moment during my 2-nights'... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear yySing, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. We are glad that you had choose our property for your short brake after your mountain trekking, yet we are truly sorry that some of our facilities did not meet your expectation. We had been inform as well in... More

Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Coming to this island, we expected to be right in the thick of everything. This resort is a 10 minute horse ride or a 30 minute walk away (all restaurants, diving places etc). This made it very annoying to do anything other than hang by the pool where the beers are not cold and the drinks are expensive. We ordered... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear ebonyrempel, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. Your review is indeed a positive one for us and it will be for our improvement to make sure that our guest needs meet their expectation. Again we are very sorry for the inconvenience. Hopefully, we will still be... More

London UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We actually liked the location on the island. It was far enough away from the crowds and using the horse and cart taxis was only ten minutes away from the strip! The good: - Villa rooms with outside bathrooms are excellent - staff always cheery and pleasant to deal with - location by the private beach and beach bar really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear yoghurt_monster, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. Your review is truly a positive feedback for our team here, however we are very sorry to learned that some of our facilities did not meet your expectation. We hope that we will still be able to welcome you... More

Boston
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few days in early August - I was looking for peace, quiet and a beach on which to doze and read, so it worked out well for me. But there are some caveats. First the positives: Great location. The western location means you have brilliant opportunities every evening for sunset watching, and there's a nice bar/pub... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear MC_Bos, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write your feedback about your recent experience. Our property is indeed a very suitable place for those who seeks quietness, peaceful, and relaxing treats. As for your feedback about our convenience store, we will forward it to the concerned department for their improvement as you said... More

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Whilst the island of Gili Trawangan is absolutely beautiful, this hotel is far from it, and is one of the worst I have come to stay in. Before continuing its worth mentioning, that my wife and I are fully aware of what ‘life’ and ‘service’ can be like on the Gili Islands, and what you can come to expect from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear marktwalls, Thank you very much for your time to write what you had experience during your stay with us. We would like to take this opportunity to apologies to you for the inconveniences. We are aware that every guests has their own expectation level of services, therefore we did trying very hard to fulfill what is expected. Your review... More

Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked and stayed 2 nights for Hotel Ombak Sunset - this was enough for me! Initially we had seen the TripAdvisor comments and initially dismissed them a little because we felt people might have been not accounting for "island time" & "island attitude." But nope!!! To start with the positives. The grounds are all fairly well maintained and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear samthiele, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. We are very sorry that there has been a lot of lack of information and services during your stay. it is not in our standard to serve our valuable guest like that. Your review is really a positive feed... More

Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked this place only as there wasn't much accommodation left available, as it was the holiday season for Indonesia. My travel agent was supposed to have booked us a 2 bedroom pool villa into Kokomo, but had messed up dates and there was no accommodation left... so just I booked what I could online. It was a great experience... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear roaming_review, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. We are very pleased to learned that you really enjoyed your stay despite the missed towel arrangement, and we are very sorry for that. This matter has been passed on the our concerned department for their immediate improvement and... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My impression is that this is a hotel that looks amazing on the surface and doesn't follow through after that. It seems that they are trying to be a fancy hotel but don't know how to do it other than by building good-looking grounds. The hotel grounds are beautiful. The rooms are nothing special. Ours had a large crack running... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear Kevin W, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you for your time to write a review about your recent experience. Please do accept our apology for the inconvenience you had during your stay with us. Kindly be inform that all of that was not in our standard to serve our valuable guest like you. Rest assured that we have inform... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros We stayed in one of the sunset villas which was very nicely appointed, we loved the outdoor shower. It was beautifully quiet at night, given the hotel is completely on the other side of the island from most restaurants and bars which suited us fine. Cons They ran out of towels at the pool, ran out of bikes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear WanderingDavy, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. We would also thank you for your compliment about the room and the location, however we are sorry to learned that your stay was not as you had expected. Rest assured that your review has been forwarded to our... More

Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the price we payed for Agung sea view we got most of the pool view and the sea was blocked by coconut tree.room is not as nice as picture on website.reception was slow and gave wrong info on tourism things such as the distance from trawangan to meno he told us its 30 mins by boat.the fact was it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Ombak Sunset, responded to this review

Dear Shanty P, Greetings from Gili Trawangan... Thank you very much for your time to write a review about your recent experience. We are truly sorry to learned that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Agung Ocean View room was a partial garden, pool and sea view. However, we are sorry that the sea view was blocked... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hotel Ombak Sunset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hotel Ombak Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ombak Sunset

Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ombak Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ombak Sunset Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

187 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (177)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Gili Trawangan with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan #8 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Ombak Sunset is the sister hotel to the popular Hotel Vila Ombak and a new addition to the Island inspired hotel group, The Ombak Group. This idyllic beachfront, garden resort features 152 rooms in 6 categories each with it's own mixture of Indonesian flavors fusing traditional Balinese, Javanese and Lombok Sasak architecture and crafts with modern western facilities. It's fusion concept that makes the Island of Gili Trawangan and the Hotel Ombak Sunset such a unique and refreshing experience ... more   less 
Number of rooms
152

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Ombak Sunset staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer