We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Carouge B&Bs / inns

Auberge de Carouge

Save
You added Auberge de Carouge to your Saves list
39, rue Ancienne, Carouge, Switzerland
Hotel amenities
Auberge de Carouge
Ranked #1 of 3 Carouge B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carouge
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
5
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was at this hotel a couple of weeks ago. It's actually a B&B. Everything went smoothly (clean room, elevator, breakfast, etc.) Nothing really special about the place except the room is wonderfully decorated (I was in the room with the "architect" theme). What I liked most is the price. The only competitors (same price) hotels in Geneva are Ibis... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Mr AbounaPatrick, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our rates, the room decor and the cleanness of our rooms. Carouge looks even nicer now with the Christmas Market, lights and decorations. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing... More 

Lafayette, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The neighborhood of Carouge is absolutely charming, and the hotel's location allows for easy exploration of the local shops and restaurants. In addition, it is right on a tram line that makes travel to other parts of the city very convenient. The hotel, while charming on the outside, is fairly basic on the inside. Rooms were plain but spacious enough;... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Zurich/London
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This small hotel is very nicely situated in the medieval old town of Carouge, just outside Geneva. We have stayed here many times since 2006. But if it were not for the lack of alternative hotels in old Carouge, we would certainly not come back. It is clearly overpriced for what you get. The small rooms are sparsely equipped and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. The hotel was closed for about 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014 under... More 

Travelers are raving about these Carouge hotels

Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in May. The location is absolutely wonderful. The hotel itself is very simple but well kept and clean. Service was nice. The breakfast was the most disappointing aspect - it was exact same stuff every morning - not even minor variations. But overall I was happy with my stay and would choose... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. Apart from the breakfast we are happy you had a positive experience. The hotel was closed for about 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014 under... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights ( visited for a conference), traveled from New Delhi, India. (22-24th of May) I mostly agree with the comments given by @lyricdude, except two things 1. Hotel staff is very nice and warm. They tried everything to make my stay comfortable. I asked for room-heater they gave it to me in 2... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are happy you had a positive experience. The hotel was closed for 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014. We now have an experienced Food... More 

Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a disappointment!!! From the outside, it looks like a nice and cosy Auberge in the countryside. The hotel is very well located in the old city of Carouge, along the tramway line, it is easy to reach downtown Geneva. On paper it sounds nice. As you enter the building, this is where problems start. A rarely unfriendly welcome from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for staying at the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. The hotel was closed for about 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014 under... More 

Hertfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

The room on 2nd floor had no fire alarm or evacuation instructions (old building, 2nd floor). The window had been left open and no heating on so we had to wear jumpers and socks in bed (duvet must have been....oh, at least 1 cm thick..). The breakfast was something else. Firstly, there was a flickering light bulb. When asked the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. The hotel was closed for 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014. I sincerely... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This is really a restaurant with rooms. The ground floor restaurant is highly popular and has a big terrace out back. The building has a charming old frontage, much as the area of Carouge is famed for, this gives the impression of an old inn. However, the inside seems to be a modern characterless building from the 1970's. There rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. The hotel was closed for 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started welcoming guests again from the first week of October 2014. I sincerely apologize... More 

Norway
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
78 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The Auberge is located at the Ancienne stop of the #13 tram line, meaning it is easily accessible less than 20 mins from the main railway station. The Auberge has a very nice exterior, but its interior has an 80s look - clean and maintained, though. Nice room under the eaves, no airconditioning. Quite a bit of noise from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a wholly positive experience. The hotel was closed for about 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014.... More 

New York
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Auberge de Carouge was the worst part of my experience in Switzerland. When we arrived, the hotel staff was rude and acted as though we were an annoyance. The cost of the room is not worth the size of the room. Breakfast was dry croissants with packets of jam and bottled (not fresh) juice. They even served packets of instant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Auberge Communa... C, Manager at Auberge de Carouge, responded to this review

Dear Sir, Thank you so much for staying with the Hotel Auberge Communale de Carouge. We are very sorry that you did not have a positive experience. The hotel has just been closed for 4 month due to a massive restoration, renovation and refurbishment exercise and we will started to welcome guests again from the first week of October 2014... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Auberge de Carouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de Carouge

Address: 39, rue Ancienne, Carouge, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Carouge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Auberge De Carouge Canton Of Geneva, Switzerland

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay