We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Samara Private Game Reserve

5.0 of 5
Hotel website
Samara Private Game Reserve | Petersburg Road, Samara Private Game Reserve 6945, South Africa
Offers & Announcements
Mother's Day Offer
Samara Private Game Reserve
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bev494 Wilderness
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
45
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (131)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (39)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (38)
All months
Wilderness
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Samara Private Game Reserve is my most favourite place. It reminds me of how our wildlife should live and that there are now so few people that have the moral and ethical will to actually put the wildlife first. Samara is one of those places. I have had nothing but courtesy, exceptionally good service and friendliness from all at Samara.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Karoo has always been a magic place - aeons of history, vast landscapes,dramatic rock formations. Samara is a gem in this landscape. A stay in this magnificent old farmhouse with its wide cool 'stoep' (veranda) surrounded by trees, bush veld, rugged kloofs and mountains is to be transported into the age of the ostrich and sheep barons. Whilst you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you so much for visiting Samara and for taking the time to write this wonderful review for us! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Samara and that we could make your experience here a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

We came for 3 days and 2 nights and had a fantastic stay in one of the lodge suites. The staff was super attentive and personalized the stay -- they knew our names before we even introduced ourselves. During our stay there were only two other couples at the property. The amenities at the lodge are unsurpassed in the area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for the fantastic feedback Ryan, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Samara and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon! Best Regards Team Samara More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We booked into this overpriced lodge with high hopes and expectation inspired by their website. Well it turned into a setting for a horror movie. Place is falling apart, dirty, poorly maintained, neglected, dilapidated, derelict, need I go on. This is not what to expect after travelling for half a day to get to Samara Manor House. The Staff is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is with great regret that we acknowledge that in your case we have really fallen short of all expectations. We apologise that you did not experience the Samara of which we are very proud. We do not want to give you empty excuses, but rather acknowledge that we need to focus on the weaknesses... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

The facilities are all they claim. The staff were excellent. We arrived latish but they laid on a special evening game drive for us. Service was terrific, just the right amount of attention without overdoing it. The rooms were all you could ask for and more. And the meals definitely matched the luxurious standards of the reserve. So far 5... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Pete, Thank you for your feedback, we will take all your comments under advisement and hope you'll return again soon for another visit. All the best Team Samara More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We booked three nights over New year's eve at Samara to escape the hustle and bustle over this time - and what an escape it was! Beautiful setting, welcoming staff, excellent accommodation and great food. Margie arranged a local jazz trio on new year's eve for the perfect ambience. We hope to return soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Martin, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed spending New Years Eve at Samara, we are so happy we could make your stay memorable and hope you'll return again soon. Thank you for the great review! Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Sittard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

What should we write to describe Samara ? Should we highlight the great staff, which gave us a warm welcome when we arrived, marvellous service during our entire stay, or gave us a hug when we said goodbye like old friends? Or should we provide you details of the lovely suite we stayed in, beautifully decorated and very comfortable? Or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Jan-Tiny, Thank you so much for visiting and for taking the time to write this fantastic review for us! We are so happy that we could make your stay with us a memorable one and we hope you'll be back again soon! Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

Ok, it is a far drive from the garden route to Samara private game reserve but what a pleasure to be there! From the first moment you enter the ground you get the real ‘out of Africa’ feeling. Through the entrance gate it is still a nice ride on unpaved roads which are good to ride on even in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Adriaan, Thank you so much for the lovely review and for they great feedback, we will certainly look into broadening our breakfast options. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we could make your experience with us a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Bornheim, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Ever wanted to stay in a place where you can unwind the minute you arrive? This is the place! The staff is wonderful and very welcoming, the place itself is magnificent. The outstanding game drives with Tendai where the highlights of the day, with lunch on top of the mountain and close encounters with the cheetahs pepper and chili. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Dear Thomas & Lucienne, Thank you so much for the lovely review and for visiting Samara. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we could make your experience with us a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

We had two nights at Samara. We had no idea how our days would be spent but it surpassed our expectations. Our day started at 7am ( not as early as I had been told, thank goodness!) out on the jeep with Justin, our ranger & then again at 4pm. Justin seemed to have as much enthusiasm for finding given... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
SamaraReserve, Manager at Samara Private Game Reserve, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review Jeanette and for visiting Samara. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we could make your experience with us a memorable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best Wishes Team Samara More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (135)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
4:32
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question