We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Talardy Hotel

The Roe, St. Asaph LL17 0HY, Wales
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Talardy Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Talardy Hotel
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    64
    30
    24
    26
See reviews for
59
57
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (30)
All months
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with my two kids while away for the weekend, when the nearby Premier Inn was fully booked. The kids loved it, much better than the Premier Inn. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the food well priced (discounted for residents of the hotel) and portions generous. Standard pub type fare, but quite reasonable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited the Talardy for my Sister's Hen Night on a Saturday night in April!! There were 23 of us and the service was amazing!!! Nothing was too much trouble! The food was lovely and it all arrived together, considering there were 23 of us, I was very impressed! Kat the waitress and Frank were amongst the staff, absolutely brilliant!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room smelt of smoke, radiator had huge piece of paint missing, net curtains filthy, view of a car park, dusty everywhere, no mattress protecter, hole in pillowcase, only 1 pillow each (flat one!) evening meal was ok, breakfast not so nice, bacon floppy, cheap sausages, did enjoy the muller yogurt and juice. Lol. When we checked out we were NOT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit here and the food is a disappointment ,combo starter was very greasy and cold ,main meal was bland no taste and had just been thrown on plate ,was expecting much better and the only thing which was good was the waiting on staff !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned home from a wonderful meal and great service. From the moment we entered liane was so professional on the door and rob couldn't do enough for us .and a big thumbs up to the team in the kitchen . Well done all cant wait until I come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic feedback - I shall share your comments with Lianne, Rob and the kitchen team and we shall look forward to your return. More 

Denbigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

They now accept bookings for parties of less than 10 so we booked this time because last time we'd arrived and they were too busy to fit us in straight away. We've been several times before because we like the choice of food and the room: high ceilings, very airy. On this visit we were shown to our table within... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments and apologies if a couple of your dinners were not warm enough. It is unusual to receive negative comments regarding our roasts and It is a shame that you did not mention this to us on the day as we could have rectified it for you but I appreciate your reasons for not doing... More 

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a friendly warm welcome on arrival by the manager frank, was served coffee by keith and a friendly server called kat sat us at a lovely table near the window and explained that carol would be our waitress for the afternoon. all staff were smiling, cheerful and well informed of what the talardy has to offer, was shown all menu's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am delighted that your dining experience was such a pleasurable one. Our customer experience is of the utmost importance to us and it is extremely rewarding to receive feedback such as yours. I shall share your comments with the team and we shall look forward to your next... More 

Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

One night stopover, welcomed by pleasant staff member with clear explanation of breakfast etc. Room very basic, shower over bath worked fine but no anti slip in bath, a bit dodgy. Shower curtain badly stained in lower half. Road noise outside intruded into room because the old sash window was only sealed by the efforts of a previous occupant who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback although I was naturally shocked and disappointed by your comments. I would be grateful if you could contact me on 01745 799314 or talardyhotel.stasaph@marstons.co.uk so I can investigate this further. More 

Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

lovely waitress,very polite and attentive. Food for the price was enjoyable. Will definately be eating there again. Decor fantastic,very comfortable atmostphere. I had a wander around outside,remembering how it used to look,wow what a turn around, great

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. I shall share your comments with the team and we hope to see you again soon. More 

Rhyl, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

3 of us went to the talardy a few Sundays ago....we ordered the Sunday roast lunch...the veg was hard and undercooked the meat was absolutely tasteless and the potatoes were cold....I can honestly say ive never had such a terrible meal in my life......the chef needs to retrain......disgusting.....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Frank G, Manager at Talardy Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback although I am sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. I would be grateful if you could give me a call on 01745 799314 as it is unusual for us to receive such negative comments regarding our roasts and I would like to investigate this further. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question