We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Santon Bridge Inn

Santon Bridge, Holmrook, Seascale CA19 1UX, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Santon Bridge Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Santon Bridge Inn
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    60
    25
    12
    4
See reviews for
29
105
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (215)
  • Mar-May only
    (45)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (50)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (52)
All months
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is one of the most difficult reviews to write. From booking it was laborious. Do you have two family rooms we can share ... no ... 2 weeks later of emails several phone calls to date. ?.. lo and behold there were 2 family rooms all along. negotiated price with date which he charged £20 more than ya. On... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went away for 4 days . This is a very old inn, it was comfortable, great pub food and breakfast. the staff were great and made us very welcome. A great location close to Scarfell Pike. What we really liked was you go out walking all day then back to the Inn for a shower drinks and evening meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jason Thank you for your great review. we are close to scarfell pike, and only a stone throw from wastewater were mother nature is at her best. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and can't wait for you to visit us in September. David More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was our third attempt to get to our favourite place in The Lakes on this visit but, there was an issue with our booking 'going missing'. We called to extend our break by one day, getting 'Tom, The Director' on the phone. He told me the booking wasn't there but immediately sorted things out favourably. It was all about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Comfortable and clean en-suite room with tea-making facilities and biscuits, but the meals were disappointing. It is in a lovely area, a good centre for exploring the exciting but less well-known western part of Wasdale. Unfortunately we can't recommend the food, which is a shame as the ambience is great. Even the best cook is on a loser with cheap... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Roger T Thank you thanking the time to review us. In regards to your meal we are not sure what has gone wrong we use local products and fresh ingredients were possible , if you could please phone us on 01946726221 and tell us what you had then we can address the matter, for future guests. we are now... More 

Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

We got the room last minute ( as we often do) on booking.com so paid £55 instead of £90. Based on the price paid this was an excellent deal. Breakfast and service were absolutely spot on. Rooms are functional and comfortable. Hotel very busy and so understandably more noise than some may like. Service very good. Bar was very bust... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jon E Thank You for your great review. Hope to see you again soon David More 

Northwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

My stay started off reasonably well with my request for a room that wasn't above the bar area being dealt with swiftly and pleasantly. Rooms are compact and the two en-suites I saw were a tight and a bit of a mishmash with shower cubicles only. Dinner was disappointing with over-priced and incorrectly described dishes which were rather basic mass-produced... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Simon G Thank you for your time and reviewing us at the Bridge Inn Firstly I would like to Apologize for you not enjoying your stay. we do try and deal with any complains or request as fast as we can to make your stay more enjoyable. I have spoken to the chef who cooked your dinner for you... More 

Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

There was a kind, friendliness from the moment we stepped in through the door.The bed rooms were clean and adequate. The bed was very comfy with lovely bed linen. We enjoyed the bar with it's fire, the men were happy with the selection of beers and the ladies were impressed with the red wine! The breakfast was pleasant. The staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Val H Thank you for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you have again booked with us in August. I glad you that all the staff made you feel welcome we like to go that extra mile even with the weather report!!! we have just changed our wine menu so we are... More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

Work colleague and I went in last night for a quick bite to eat. Decided on Home Made Beef Burger, chips and salad. Burger was poor quality meat and didn't appear home made, chips were not nice and quite a number were jet black so I assume they've been stuck in the fryer for some time. Worse to come was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

A bit dated. Good staff very helpful. Rather expencive. Room was very small. Door to the toilet had a window not very private. Breakfast selection was o/k. Wedding venue was o.k. Bar staff during the evening quoted different prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi Phillip s Thank you for taking the to time to review us. We will be having a 'make over' in the near future. Thank you for tell me about the different prices the bar staff gave you, i have looked into this and with having new staff on and not knowing the tills system and this is why i... More 

England
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Firstly this is 100% genuine and our experience. We have stayed here recently and have found the hotel although quite small to be a decent old e world country hotel. The room was decent enough with a nice comfortable bed.Breakfast was decent too. Perhaps the hotel could do with a lick of paint or two especially in the entrance foyer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David_Mill_2014, Manager at The Santon Bridge Inn, responded to this review

Hi MrT98 Thank you for your review. I have spoken to the member of staff in question and he has apologized for coming over 'a bit arrogant' . The oxtail main course which was on our special board was a great seller, and hope to have it back on again soon. we do agree that the foyer does need a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities