We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Turtle Bay Beach Club

#9 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    159
    45
    10
    10
See reviews for
225
274
31
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (684)
  • Mar-May only
    (127)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (162)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (188)
All months
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A lovely hotel right on the beach. Although luxurious don't expect European levels of luxury, you're in Africa! The staff are attentive and the food is great. The rooms are nice and clean and have everything you need. Not much to do outside of the hotel unless you travel on safari. However the diving is very good. A lovely place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Over the Easter Holidays my family and I travelled to the Maasai Mara and ended our vacation off with a weak on the coast at Turtle Bay Beach Club. What a disappointment! Our stay here was dismal to say the least. My family occupied 3 rooms and in all 3 rooms the aircon did not work. The beds were incredibly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that your stay with us was such a disappointment and we are looking into all the issues you have mentioned and seeing what might have caused the maintenance issues you listed to have occurred and remain without being sorted through out your stay. We do have a register for... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just after our wedding, it was our "pre-honeymoon" In a nutshell, it offers everything that you would want on a beach hotel outing Clean sandy beaches, awesome staff, Great atmosphere.. Stayed 2 nights but it was a great experience. We got upgraded to a sea-view room as we were the honeymoon couple.. Got a free souvenir from the gist shop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Let me start by congratulating you on your recent marriage and we are very pleased that your stay with us was a pleasant one. We are sorry about the weakness of the wifi signal and we are working to improve this as we speak. We would like to also take this opportunity to wish you and your wife... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything about Turtle Bay Beach Club is mediocre. The rooms are alright, but the air conditioning leaves puddles all over the bed. Safe doesn't work. Meals are okay, but nothing to get too excited about. No bottled water, sodas seem watered down and the juices are the cheap, sugary packaged stuff. Services was slow, and particularly the man at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We are so sorry that our hotel and services were not as you would have liked and we shall take look into all the areas that you have highlighted and see how we can use them to improve our product, Thank you as we do really appreciate the feedback. Kind regards Damian GM Everything about Turtle Bay Beach... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was the first beach holiday that my wife and I had been on for over 25 years and the Turtle Bay did not disappoint. The food at all mealtimes was very good with lots of choices. The service was excellent and the minor problem that we had with our room air conditioning was sorted quickly and efficiently. Although mainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer. we are so glad that having waited so long since your last beach holiday we did not disappoint you, As you pointed out we do have a lot laid on for families but we have also set aside areas, such as the adult quiet poo,l for those who want a more tranquil environment. We apologise for the aircon... More 

2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have had an unfortunate luck of being booked at Turtle Bay Beach Club for two days on my Kenya visit in April 2015. The all inclusive promise was totally over rated as the food and service of the resort was very very poor. The accommodations are probably a 1 Star when over rated. The food rating would go in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your detailed analysis of your stay with us at Turtle Bay and we are sorry that it brought back memories of a boarding school existence. We did endeavour to address the issues that you had raised at the time and brought the chef to speak with you and come up with a menu plan for... More 

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What stood out was the service. Outstanding attention to the clientele and great facilities for the outdoors-y type. The family would also love it!! Choice of three restaurants, a wide range of options on the menu's that will delight. Snorkeling, wind-surfing, scuba-diving...take your pick.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us, We are pleased that your experience was a pleasant one and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next up here from Moza mbique. Safe travels and take care, Damian GM More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We faced huge challenges with the air-conditioning in our bedroom. The first night it worked only fitfully. The next day after being attended to, it almost froze us to death and the third night it iced up and stopped working! If in spite of this we immensely enjoyed our holiday there, it was because the rest of it so absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, We are so sorry about all the problems you had with your air conditioning and we are very grateful for your patience and good humour with regards to the problem. We are also glad you enjoyed the Dhow experience with us and we hope the number of 'daws' consumed had no íll effect'. Kind regards and we look... More 

Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We love this resort and have stayed at Turtle Bay Beach Club 9 times. Its a wonderful place for kids - kids activities are great. Beautiful beaches. Lots of activities - sailing, kayaking, windsurfing, snorkling. Its fabulous and we highly recommend it. We started staying here when are kids were 3 and 5 years old and now they are 10... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your very loyal patronage over the past 7 years. We love to see familiar faces returning year after year to Turtle Bay. We are so happy that the formula works so well for your family and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 10th visit. Kind regards Damian More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Turtle Bay Beach Hotel was a pleasant surprise. While i felt the deco/look-and-feel was kinda outdated, this was overshadowed by the Service (esp. the restaurant & kids club staff) which was outstanding, the tasty pizza from the Pizza Garden...and the Kids Club which was always well coordinated & very engaging. We also absolutely loved that kids could get performance points... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DDGM63, General Manager at Turtle Bay Beach Club, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your very positive feedback on your recent stay with us. We are glad that the kids club worked so well for you and your family and we will pass on your comments to the team. We now look forward to welcoming you back for more fun family holidays at Turtle Bay, Kind regards Damian More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

556 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (545)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (83)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (160)
Viewed
Room/suite (37)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
View from room (26)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:13
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (222)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay