We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingways Resort

#11 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hemingways Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hemingways Resort
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    46
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
67
12
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (220)
  • Mar-May only
    (59)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the airport pickup to the hotel, the service was impeccable. Very friendly and made us feel most welcome, it was like a home away from home. From the driver to the front desk staff and management, all very welcoming. The room sizes were very spacious with big king size beds. The views are breathtaking and gorgeous. It is indeed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Amazing few nights stay at Hemingways. The staff went out of their way to look after us. The quality of the rooms was amazing. You wake up to an amazing sunset everyday. Pool and nearby areas were clean. Food very good too. Definitely coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed the nights of April 12th and 13th. Excellent and easy check in by very friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. Our morning view was spectacular. Sunrise over the ocean and fleet of fishing boats. Big game fishing on April 13 with Captain Mohammed was really good. Resulting in sore arms and backs from all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for catching such a great supply of fish on your day out! Our chefs very much appreciated it as did our other guests. We look forward to having you back with us... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just fro m the reception with the awesome view you are so deligthful.but once you step in the restaurant and have the food ...complete disappointment...at some point the Thai soup was replaced by tomato soup ....got gastro after every food I had there...wanted to share a table with friends but was told have to sit at the table allocated at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WatamuMel, Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review; we do very much appreciate hearing from our guests so that we know where and how we can improve our services for you. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy our buffets over this Easter weekend. We received very good comments on our food from the majority of our guests and... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was such a welcome change from the corporate chain hotels so ôften found. The trip from airport to resort was by private minibus and the cold bottles of water much welcomed en route. The room was large, peaceful and comfortable and right at the waters edge.The location is idyllic and well worth the not inexpensive cost. The Oceanside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
113 hotel reviews
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hemingways is a brand name and linked closely with Watamu and vice versa. Transformed in the mid 80's from the former Seafarers into a 5 star resort it always had a reputation for excellent food and service AND for excellent fishing, apart from sitting on top of one of Kenya's best beaches. I only spent a night at the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If money's no object this is hard to beat. It's not too large, tasteful in it's simplicity, the service and attention to detail is exemplary, unbelievable fresh roses every day with a rose and quote of the day on each pillow, the food is to die for decadent and having dinner by candle-light on the water's edge is one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Right from the get go, as You step out of the terminal into Malindi’s heat, wondering if it was a good idea coming at all, You get ushered into an air conditioned airport transfer van with a cold drink and towel and you know you are in or a treat. Smooth check in genuine smiles all round, and it being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

Pleasant and friendly airport collect and checkin. Wonderful that all rooms face the beach ; try get a ground floor room but NOT near the steps. Try keep kids away from adult pool. Great gym and tennis court with tennis racquets available at the hotel. Obviously play early morning late evening. Must try the fishing extensions, lotsa fun but take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

Looking over the wonderful Indian Ocean from my fabulous room, having spent a day being pampered, served delicious fresh food and savouring the delights of this hotel leads me to wonder if Robert B went to a different hotel!!! He must have because none of his descriptions fit with my impressions and that of the six people I am enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question