We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingways Resort

P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hemingways Resort
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    47
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
66
67
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (223)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Kaltenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived...and nobody was there to help us with our cases.....thanks...than the question at the reception...did you booked a room ......yes....can I have your name....I said my name...and she was starring at me.....ok, after this check in....we went to the room......but...no hot water, now water pressure.....also not after three days.....thanks for the good service.....the breakfast was very poor this time...not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for the Easter weekend. From the airport pick up to the hotel check in the service was just top notch.The rooms were tastefully furnished with swahili designs and i loved their daily fresh cut roses bundled with small notes with random quotes. The staff were just the best, very friendly and knowledgeable especially Baraka who gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Kenyan coast is one of the most beautiful coastal areas I have every been to. The water is warm, snorkeling is easy and you can see lots of different fish. The sand is soft (although sometimes very hot!) and there are all kinds of shoals to explore. At Hemingways the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are beautiful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

From the airport pickup to the hotel, the service was impeccable. Very friendly and made us feel most welcome, it was like a home away from home. From the driver to the front desk staff and management, all very welcoming. The room sizes were very spacious with big king size beds. The views are breathtaking and gorgeous. It is indeed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2015

Amazing few nights stay at Hemingways. The staff went out of their way to look after us. The quality of the rooms was amazing. You wake up to an amazing sunset everyday. Pool and nearby areas were clean. Food very good too. Definitely coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spicewood, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We stayed the nights of April 12th and 13th. Excellent and easy check in by very friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and well appointed. Our morning view was spectacular. Sunrise over the ocean and fleet of fishing boats. Big game fishing on April 13 with Captain Mohammed was really good. Resulting in sore arms and backs from all the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Dear Jerry, Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would also like to thank you for catching such a great supply of fish on your day out! Our chefs very much appreciated it as did our other guests. We look forward to having you back with us... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

Just fro m the reception with the awesome view you are so deligthful.but once you step in the restaurant and have the food ...complete disappointment...at some point the Thai soup was replaced by tomato soup ....got gastro after every food I had there...wanted to share a table with friends but was told have to sit at the table allocated at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WatamuMel, Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review; we do very much appreciate hearing from our guests so that we know where and how we can improve our services for you. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy our buffets over this Easter weekend. We received very good comments on our food from the majority of our guests and... More 

Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
9 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2015

This place was such a welcome change from the corporate chain hotels so ôften found. The trip from airport to resort was by private minibus and the cold bottles of water much welcomed en route. The room was large, peaceful and comfortable and right at the waters edge.The location is idyllic and well worth the not inexpensive cost. The Oceanside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kampala, Uganda
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
113 hotel reviews
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Hemingways is a brand name and linked closely with Watamu and vice versa. Transformed in the mid 80's from the former Seafarers into a 5 star resort it always had a reputation for excellent food and service AND for excellent fishing, apart from sitting on top of one of Kenya's best beaches. I only spent a night at the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

If money's no object this is hard to beat. It's not too large, tasteful in it's simplicity, the service and attention to detail is exemplary, unbelievable fresh roses every day with a rose and quote of the day on each pillow, the food is to die for decadent and having dinner by candle-light on the water's edge is one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay