We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingways Resort

#12 of 24 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hemingways Resort
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Hemingways Resort
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    46
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
62
67
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (214)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If money's no object this is hard to beat. It's not too large, tasteful in it's simplicity, the service and attention to detail is exemplary, unbelievable fresh roses every day with a rose and quote of the day on each pillow, the food is to die for decadent and having dinner by candle-light on the water's edge is one of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right from the get go, as You step out of the terminal into Malindi’s heat, wondering if it was a good idea coming at all, You get ushered into an air conditioned airport transfer van with a cold drink and towel and you know you are in or a treat. Smooth check in genuine smiles all round, and it being... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant and friendly airport collect and checkin. Wonderful that all rooms face the beach ; try get a ground floor room but NOT near the steps. Try keep kids away from adult pool. Great gym and tennis court with tennis racquets available at the hotel. Obviously play early morning late evening. Must try the fishing extensions, lotsa fun but take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Looking over the wonderful Indian Ocean from my fabulous room, having spent a day being pampered, served delicious fresh food and savouring the delights of this hotel leads me to wonder if Robert B went to a different hotel!!! He must have because none of his descriptions fit with my impressions and that of the six people I am enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015 via mobile

Horrible. Run down, unloved, you're staff were horrible...also run down. We checked in on the 15th of February to extend a few days' stay form a private house just minutes away. Upon arrival we were promptly informed that they had a "dress code" for dinner...non-ripped jeans for men but required to wear some sort of "slacks"...which we have properly left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Dear Robert B., Thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your time here with us. I very much regret that you had not been provided with the information that we ask our guests to change into trousers rather than shorts and t-shirts for dinner in the evenings prior to your arrival with... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2015

I traveled here with my mother so that she could be spoiled while enjoying the wonders of the Kenyan coast. The Hemingway staff are pleasant and kind and have been very helpful during meal times to accommodate my food allergy. The dinners are served on a lovely patio outside to live music and people are encouraged to dance. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will come back to see us again in the future then next time you need a relaxing break. Maybe try the Spa next time as well for that little bit of extra spoiling!... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

We have been staying at Hemmingways for years over New Year and it goes without saying that it has always been fantastic - incredibly attentive staff, idyllic location... I have a gluten allergy and the head chef Omar has been incredible acommodating me. Every night there was a seperate dish and he would personally walk me around the buffet showing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I know that Omar very much enjoyed the challenge of ensuring that you always had a wide choice of meals. He also enjoyed getting out of the kitchen and chatting with you! We look forward to having you back us in... More 

Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

What a wonderful way to end our vacation in Kenya. The staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and fun. The food was well prepared and excellent. The views are amazing. The staff can give you a lot of information on the local area. A trip to the Crab Shack is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here and everything was very good - lovely pools and good service - we went on a fishing boat trip and I got a little sunstroke but the staff at hotel got a doctor and he sorted me out - we had a beautiful room with a balcony and it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

Having visited many hotels on the coast from Diani to Malindi this has been the best. It is not cheap but it is excellent value for money. We stayed in a superior room in the north wing that was tastefully refurbished with just the right balance between tradition and bling! Half board included an excellent evening meal, great breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

149 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question