We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hemingways Resort

4.5 of 5 P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hemingways Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hemingways Resort
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    46
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
61
67
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (63)
All months
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Pleasant and friendly airport collect and checkin. Wonderful that all rooms face the beach ; try get a ground floor room but NOT near the steps. Try keep kids away from adult pool. Great gym and tennis court with tennis racquets available at the hotel. Obviously play early morning late evening. Must try the fishing extensions, lotsa fun but take... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Looking over the wonderful Indian Ocean from my fabulous room, having spent a day being pampered, served delicious fresh food and savouring the delights of this hotel leads me to wonder if Robert B went to a different hotel!!! He must have because none of his descriptions fit with my impressions and that of the six people I am enjoying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Horrible. Run down, unloved, you're staff were horrible...also run down. We checked in on the 15th of February to extend a few days' stay form a private house just minutes away. Upon arrival we were promptly informed that they had a "dress code" for dinner...non-ripped jeans for men but required to wear some sort of "slacks"...which we have properly left... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Dear Robert B., Thank you for your review and I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your time here with us. I very much regret that you had not been provided with the information that we ask our guests to change into trousers rather than shorts and t-shirts for dinner in the evenings prior to your arrival with... More 

Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I traveled here with my mother so that she could be spoiled while enjoying the wonders of the Kenyan coast. The Hemingway staff are pleasant and kind and have been very helpful during meal times to accommodate my food allergy. The dinners are served on a lovely patio outside to live music and people are encouraged to dance. Breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are delighted that you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will come back to see us again in the future then next time you need a relaxing break. Maybe try the Spa next time as well for that little bit of extra spoiling!... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have been staying at Hemmingways for years over New Year and it goes without saying that it has always been fantastic - incredibly attentive staff, idyllic location... I have a gluten allergy and the head chef Omar has been incredible acommodating me. Every night there was a seperate dish and he would personally walk me around the buffet showing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WatamuMel, General Manager at Hemingways Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I know that Omar very much enjoyed the challenge of ensuring that you always had a wide choice of meals. He also enjoyed getting out of the kitchen and chatting with you! We look forward to having you back us in... More 

Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful way to end our vacation in Kenya. The staff did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable and fun. The food was well prepared and excellent. The views are amazing. The staff can give you a lot of information on the local area. A trip to the Crab Shack is a must.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here and everything was very good - lovely pools and good service - we went on a fishing boat trip and I got a little sunstroke but the staff at hotel got a doctor and he sorted me out - we had a beautiful room with a balcony and it was perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having visited many hotels on the coast from Diani to Malindi this has been the best. It is not cheap but it is excellent value for money. We stayed in a superior room in the north wing that was tastefully refurbished with just the right balance between tradition and bling! Half board included an excellent evening meal, great breakfast and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

Stayed with my wife and children over Xmas. My wife's early concerns over security misplaced as felt completely safe throughout holiday. Don't believe all you read in the papers! The staff were a delight with Melinda deserving of a special mention and we all enjoyed the meals though the music became a bit much at times. A truly lovely hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

I spent many family holidays here when I was a child and have very fond memories. So after 18 years I decided to go with my wife and three young children for 10 days over New Year. The place had not changed at all and the setting is lovely on a white sand beach with coral koppies in the sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hemingways Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Resort

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hemingways Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Hemingways Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#6 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Watamu

142 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay