We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Add Photo

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    31
    3
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
45
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (108)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (30)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (32)
All months
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

well me and my friend were basically only guests :D so we had pool for ourselves and peace, thats enough to make me happy . booked twin room, were given family room (with 1 kingsize bed and one for a child) LOL but we got it sorted. There was no wi-fi at all and no air con and no soaps... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

We had a delightful experience staying at this resort more so because it has a family touch to it with the owners genuinely concerned as to whether we're enjoying our stay and doing their best to make it worthwhile. The place is spotlessly clean with beautiful gardens and one cannot forget to mention the staff who were very patient, kind... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

My perception of the beautiful and serene ambiance changed as soon as i experienced the crappy customer service from guess who..........the proprietors. For those planning to visit Watamu, steer clear of Tembo Village Resort Watamu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your review and the compliment about Tembo Village. You rented a 2 bedroom apartment as 2 couples. It was very strange for us, finding out, that you invited another couple the second night to join you, without informing us. The reasons for us to take this very serious, I already explained to your friend in the review... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015 via mobile

The management/owners of Tembo village are very arrogant.They are very rude to guests and considering you pay on admission you cannot take your money and go elsewhere. I did not like the stay though the apartment was nice and clean

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and the compliment about our apartment. We are highly concerned to make our guest surtisfied and to feel comfortable throughout there stay. So we did with you, after booking the 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. We waited up to late night serving you dinner and arranged your checking in. Our impression was you enjoyed the... More 

West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

Relaxation. Exhaling stress and inhaling peace; this beautiful resort was excellent because of the people who were there to greet us and make us feel as family. Matias cooks the most delicious meals; speaking four languages; and putting guests at ease with smooth humor, while ensuring a safe experience. Lillian created masterpieces of the flowers and made every room look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Basel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

On my son's mid term holiday we decided to do a short trip to Watamu. After checking on TA i found the Tembo Village which looked smart to me. I contacted the owners via FB chat and placed our reservation for two rooms HB straight away. We stayed two days/one night at Tembo Village and all of us enjoyed our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

We walked into this lovely Kenyan decor private home/resort with an amazing garden and fresh juice awaiting us. The staff were so polite and provided exceptional service. The food was simple A-la-carte, freshly prepared with great detail. We enjoyed 3 days with the beach 10 minutes away by walking. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the room cleaned everyday. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I stayed at Tembo for 3days and I enjoyed every bit. Bettina Nguje offered such great customer services during our stay, she went further and recommended some sight seeing places, and activities we could enjoy around Watamu. Being my birthday and valentine weekend it was worthwhile.. You will never regret your stay at Tembo Village Resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We spent 4 days in Tembo Village and it has been good experience. The small resort is located on the main road connecting Watamu and Malindi just on the edge of the Watamu Town, about 500m from closest beach, 1,5 km from the centre of the town. It is relatively small place with beautiful garden and common areas, decorated with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I stayed with my husband in watamu on last august and for the third time I chose Tembo Village. It seems to came back at our african home!!!! Tina, the owner, was so frendly with us. The resort is simple but at the same time so pretty and relaxing. I read previous review and probably a misunderstanding happened because now... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (99)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (33)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay