We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kanani House

plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Kanani House
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (8)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (0)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (18)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

We stayed at Kanani House between 27th and 31st of December, 2014.I personally had such an amazing time there (being my first time staying in Watamu).The staff were amazing,most notably Elvis! He is friendly......and is such a great cook!!! The fact that he was able to put together an amazing meal even outside the menu was quite impressive. I really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 10 days at Kanani House from the 15 Feb 2014 and have nothing but praise for the place. It was hot but a very brisk wind saved us from feeling that it was too hot. We saw no unpleasant insects of any kind and have nothing but praise for the staff. The huts ( and yes, they are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Kanani House sits on a beautiful coral cliff, boasting breathtaking views of turquoise seas dotted with fleets of dhows, bountiful birdlife and a cool ocean breeze. The house is at the northern point of the popular Watamu coastline, away from the hustle bustle of the village, Turtle Bay and noisy Italian resorts on Blue Bay. There are three bedrooms cottages,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here in October and loved the place. We were the only guests and received great service from its staff. Elvis was very friendly and cooked us delicious food. You just need to think what kind of food you want or choose from menu, and he would cook it for you for the price of raw ingredients. In August... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kanani is, as you say an eco hotel and it's great to have it's unique qualities appreciated by our guests. Do feel free to email me through the website about the experience you had with Gertrude, the manicurist - We don't want to recommend anyone who... More 

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The thought of this place is lovely but the reality is so different - if you are looking to get away and be close to the nature, sleep pretty much in the open air that could be a the place for you. I must say I found sleeping in the open hut quite difficult because you can hear every noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with your partner on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and were... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This could have been a really excellent hotel, but unfortunately it is not properly looked after. On our second to last night, the weather changed to be a lot colder. Because of this, a lot of little creatures entered the room. We understood that the huts are open air, and that mosquitos, ants, etc could enter. However, we expected that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with you at length on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and... More 

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only had 2 short days but we thoroughly enjoyed the place. Elvis the caretaker cooked up a storm specially for us 3. The place has only three huts, but more would take away the nature of the place. Expect a place that is somewhat out of town (by tuk tuk a couple of minutes), which means you are right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here in August after a busy and exciting week on safari. Kanani is so relaxing with the sea breezes and sound of the sea. The food is amazing and Elvis is a brilliant cook. His fish in coconut and chicken curry were especially good. We spent a lot of time beside the lovely pool. In August the sea... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hockessin, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kanani House for three nights in January 2013. During a fabulous trip planned by Royjan and Clare Taylor of Kenya Snake Safaris / Bio-Ken, we used Kanani as a "base" for expeditions into the Arabuko-Sokoke Forest and Mida Creek. Kanani is very peaceful. The view from the pool deck overlooking the Indian Ocean is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salerno, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Kanani was exactly what we needed between one safari and the other. Here we have learned a special lesson: the less you have the more you relax! It's hard to describe how relaxing this place can be, how well the staff and Elvis (a great cook) can take care of yourself, how you can forget about the rest of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

44 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question