We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Watamu B&Bs / inns

Kanani House

Save Saved
You added Kanani House to your Saves list
plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (30)
  • Photos (43)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (2)
  • More
Kanani House
Ranked #8 of 11 Watamu B&B and Inns
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed 10 days at Kanani House from the 15 Feb 2014 and have nothing but praise for the place. It was hot but a very brisk wind saved us from feeling that it was too hot. We saw no unpleasant insects of any kind and have nothing but praise for the staff. The huts ( and yes, they are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Kanani House sits on a beautiful coral cliff, boasting breathtaking views of turquoise seas dotted with fleets of dhows, bountiful birdlife and a cool ocean breeze. The house is at the northern point of the popular Watamu coastline, away from the hustle bustle of the village, Turtle Bay and noisy Italian resorts on Blue Bay. There are three bedrooms cottages,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed here in October and loved the place. We were the only guests and received great service from its staff. Elvis was very friendly and cooked us delicious food. You just need to think what kind of food you want or choose from menu, and he would cook it for you for the price of raw ingredients. In August... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your lovely review! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Kanani is, as you say an eco hotel and it's great to have it's unique qualities appreciated by our guests. Do feel free to email me through the website about the experience you had with Gertrude, the manicurist - We don't want to recommend anyone who... More

london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The thought of this place is lovely but the reality is so different - if you are looking to get away and be close to the nature, sleep pretty much in the open air that could be a the place for you. I must say I found sleeping in the open hut quite difficult because you can hear every noise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with your partner on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and were... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This could have been a really excellent hotel, but unfortunately it is not properly looked after. On our second to last night, the weather changed to be a lot colder. Because of this, a lot of little creatures entered the room. We understood that the huts are open air, and that mosquitos, ants, etc could enter. However, we expected that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sashakamen, Owner at Kanani House, responded to this review

While I'm very sorry that your stay at Kanani did not meet with your expectations, it does seem that what you wanted was a sterile hotel, not an eco lodge... As I've discussed with you at length on email after your stay, the insects you saw came into your room from outside because it was a rare rainy night and... More

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We only had 2 short days but we thoroughly enjoyed the place. Elvis the caretaker cooked up a storm specially for us 3. The place has only three huts, but more would take away the nature of the place. Expect a place that is somewhat out of town (by tuk tuk a couple of minutes), which means you are right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here in August after a busy and exciting week on safari. Kanani is so relaxing with the sea breezes and sound of the sea. The food is amazing and Elvis is a brilliant cook. His fish in coconut and chicken curry were especially good. We spent a lot of time beside the lovely pool. In August the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hockessin, Delaware
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Kanani House for three nights in January 2013. During a fabulous trip planned by Royjan and Clare Taylor of Kenya Snake Safaris / Bio-Ken, we used Kanani as a "base" for expeditions into the Arabuko-Sokoke Forest and Mida Creek. Kanani is very peaceful. The view from the pool deck overlooking the Indian Ocean is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Salerno, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Kanani was exactly what we needed between one safari and the other. Here we have learned a special lesson: the less you have the more you relax! It's hard to describe how relaxing this place can be, how well the staff and Elvis (a great cook) can take care of yourself, how you can forget about the rest of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Munich
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
66 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed with two of our sons following a trip to Masai Mara. We had the place to ourselves and it was fabulous. The setting is great, the pool had great views, and the cooking by host Elvis was superb - he would go to the market every day and get whatever we wanted for dinner. The fish was amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kanani House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kanani House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanani House

Address: plot 399, Fire Road, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Kanani House Hotel Watamu

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Watamu with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Kanani House is set on six acres on a cliff overlooking the Indian Ocean. We have 3 double bedrooms, which can be rented individually, or the whole house can be rented on an exclusive basis. Kanani is fully staffed, with a great chef and two house stewards so our guests can relax completely.Kanani House was designed and built by an English couple with a passion for Kenya - we wanted to give guests a real taste of Africa at the coast. We have a strong environmental commitment, local and sustainable materials are used wherever possible and almost everything is handmade by local workers. We were inspired by the upcountry private safari lodges as well as the local architecture to build a house more like an African Village than a conventional western house. Each bedroom is a private cottage with en-suite bathroom set in the landscaped indigenous garden. The rooms are screened for privacy but open to the sea breezes. Kanani is a Robinson Crusoe experience - we have no landline, TV or computers, so you can get away from the stresses of modern life and unwind. Access to a small private beach is at low tide through our tunnel - hand carved through the fossilized coral rock, and securely gated, or you can walk or take a tuk tuk to the public beaches. If you're feeling less adventurous, you can just laze by our infinity pool overlooking the ocean. There are lots of great things to do in and near Watamu: snorkeling, diving, dolphin watching or sailing in the Watamu Marine Park; walks in the Arabuko Sokoke forest and the Gede Ruins, canoe trips, fishing, horse riding and windsurfing can all be arranged. We hope you can come and stay at Kanani House soon! ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kanani House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer