We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Punakaiki hotels

Paparoa Park Motel

Save Saved
You added Paparoa Park Motel to your Saves list
4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
21
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (7)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Booked for a night few days back, place was deserted except for another family who has waited over an hour. Helped ourselves with the keys but all the room were only partially cleaned up. Phoned a ex staff (number we found in the phone directory), he came up to check on Justin but couldn't find him. We ended up staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mr CX1234 I am so sorry you were not looked after on your arrival i was taken into hospital unexpectally with no phone or diary, and unable to contact you, please accept my appolagies and if you are over this way again you will recieve a free stay. More

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We arrived mid-winter and were the only guests. Initially we thought the room a little expensive but in retrospect it was well worth the money ($132,-). We had the disabled room which was spacious, comfortably furnished and had a lovely feel to it. The view thro' the trees wonderful:-) Unfortunately the water heater wasn't switched on so the shower in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review and i'm happy you enjoyed your stay, i carnt appolagise enough for the lack of hot water, i hope to see you again one day. Justin More

Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Justin (new owner since March) was very helpful. The lodge we were in had 2 rooms, but sofa beds for another 4. Electric blankets on all beds and plenty of hot water in the shower. Coffee tea and milk provided which was useful as we were not set up for self catering just an overnight stop. There is an option... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review really pleased you and family enjoyed the stay, i hope to see you again one day. Justin. More

Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place to stay in Punakaiki. The view from Gordon's Villa over the Pancake Rocks was spectacular in spite of the moslty rainy weatber, great sunrise though and nice to see the changing light and atmosphere. Service was really good, I even got some cereals as all supermarkets were closed on Good Friday, much appreciated as I would have had... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
PaparoaParkManager, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

I'm Really glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future, thankyou for you review. Kind regards Justin More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here twice as there was so much to see. Nikau trees,banana passion fruit, grape vines and so much more growing wild, the fruit was delicious.We loved the gloworm grotto on the garden walk,the weka with her chicks and the bird song in the bush.In the evening we saw the petrels flying in from the sea.We could see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in one of the five log cabins which had disabled access. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped with microwave, hob, fridge, flat screen TV and sat tv. We had free use of a gas bbq which was a bonus. The resident pair of weka birds are entertaining with their four chicks never far behind. Mobile reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
justinjackson1973, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I would like to point out we have renamed Gordens Villa to Blowholes View and Studio 5 is now disabled access. Justin More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We had amazing time here, New owner, Justin, was charming and helpful.The accommodation was spotless and really comfortable. We loved the feeling of being in the bush.The tame wekas and their chicks were delightful.We will certainly visit again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Canada
Top Contributor
600 reviews 600 reviews
193 hotel reviews
456 helpful votes 456 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Good sized comfortable rooms, in a good location. Microwave, fridge, small traveller kitchen. Also good tv but wifi not free. Clean good shower and bathroom. Worth a stop on your way while in area, pub down the road.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Amazing view from Gordon's villa just loved it had two nights here felt right at home & felt like we were the only ones there. And the hosts we had were very friendly & helpful Did a lot of walking there is some neat walking tracks there the blows holes were going off as there were king tides

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Rosedale, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed one night. Room was lovely, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Hosts were so helpful even to lending us a torch to see the glow worms! Great heater and electric blankets. Television needed updating though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Do you own or manage Paparoa Park Motel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Paparoa Park Motel

Enlarge Map
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby
Top-rated Attractions Nearby