We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Punakaiki hotels

Paparoa Park Motel

Save
You added Paparoa Park Motel to your Saves list
4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Hotel amenities
Paparoa Park Motel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Punakaiki
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Punakaiki
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
23
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (44)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (12)
All months
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of the studio units (#2) and it's located about 700m from the Pancake Rocks I-Site. The studio is quite large, is clean and comfortable, and also incl. a small kitchenette. The kitchenette incl. a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, electric frying pan (which we used for boiling pasta!!), microwave (but NO hot plates)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again one day. More

Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent one night there in November and was greeted by a friendly host and got a cozy cabin with a great view. The only but I have is that it seemed that the carpet had been vacuumed probably everything else was good. The motel is close to the Pancake Rocks a 15 min walk if you don't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Blowholes View accommodation and were exceptionally impressed with this cosy and comfortable bach. The view from the deck was stunning and the kitchen well equipped. The motel owner was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, i am really glad you enjoyed your stay in blowholes view and look forward to seeing you both again some day. Justin More

Auckland NZ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

My son and I had the pleasure of staying at this motel as we drove up the West Coast. The views from our room were AMAZING. The manager of the motel was warm and friendly and very accommodating. Would strongly recommend staying. Handy to Pancake Rocks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the views from blowholes view, hope to see you again, thankyou, Justin. More

Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Booked for a night few days back, place was deserted except for another family who has waited over an hour. Helped ourselves with the keys but all the room were only partially cleaned up. Phoned a ex staff (number we found in the phone directory), he came up to check on Justin but couldn't find him. We ended up staying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Hi Mr CX1234 I am so sorry you were not looked after on your arrival i was taken into hospital unexpectally with no phone or diary, and unable to contact you, please accept my appolagies and if you are over this way again you will recieve a free stay. More

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We arrived mid-winter and were the only guests. Initially we thought the room a little expensive but in retrospect it was well worth the money ($132,-). We had the disabled room which was spacious, comfortably furnished and had a lovely feel to it. The view thro' the trees wonderful:-) Unfortunately the water heater wasn't switched on so the shower in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review and i'm happy you enjoyed your stay, i carnt appolagise enough for the lack of hot water, i hope to see you again one day. Justin More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Justin (new owner since March) was very helpful. The lodge we were in had 2 rooms, but sofa beds for another 4. Electric blankets on all beds and plenty of hot water in the shower. Coffee tea and milk provided which was useful as we were not set up for self catering just an overnight stop. There is an option... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
justin j, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review really pleased you and family enjoyed the stay, i hope to see you again one day. Justin. More

Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Great place to stay in Punakaiki. The view from Gordon's Villa over the Pancake Rocks was spectacular in spite of the moslty rainy weatber, great sunrise though and nice to see the changing light and atmosphere. Service was really good, I even got some cereals as all supermarkets were closed on Good Friday, much appreciated as I would have had... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
PaparoaParkManager, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

I'm Really glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the future, thankyou for you review. Kind regards Justin More

Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed here twice as there was so much to see. Nikau trees,banana passion fruit, grape vines and so much more growing wild, the fruit was delicious.We loved the gloworm grotto on the garden walk,the weka with her chicks and the bird song in the bush.In the evening we saw the petrels flying in from the sea.We could see the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in one of the five log cabins which had disabled access. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped with microwave, hob, fridge, flat screen TV and sat tv. We had free use of a gas bbq which was a bonus. The resident pair of weka birds are entertaining with their four chicks never far behind. Mobile reception... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
justinjackson1973, Owner at Paparoa Park Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. I would like to point out we have renamed Gordens Villa to Blowholes View and Studio 5 is now disabled access. Justin More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Paparoa Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paparoa Park Motel

Address: 4136 Coast Road | Punakaiki, Punakaiki 7873, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Punakaiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Paparoa Park Hotel Punakaiki

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay