We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel El Hidalgo

Autovia De Andalucia Km 194, 13300 Valdepenas, Spain
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel El Hidalgo
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Norfolk
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were travelling from France to Cadiz to catch the ferry to Lanzarote, with our three dogs. We were not expecting much, but were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are in a bungalow format, scrupulously clean, and despite being on the motorway, we could not hear it. The staff were very friendly,meeting us have breakfast at 7 am despite it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dikky
Burnsville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

On the way to velencia from Granada we stayed one night at the hotel. Pretty basic hotel. Room was large. It seems hotel has seen better days. Breakfast buffet was very basic with no service of any kind. Not one waiter or anybody came to ask while we quietly had the breakfast. It was strange.

Helpful?
Thank azlari
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear azlari, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of the problem with the breakfast buffet. We always have a waiter taking care of the breakfast and the clients. We hope it won't happen again... More 

Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
391 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2015

We have stayed here before and find it very convenient for various reasons. Furstly the rooms are little cottages with their own parking so we find that really secure. The back of the rooms open out directly on to the landscaped gardens and pool area. The rooms are really large but very dated and tired. In the oast we have... More 

Helpful?
Thank perle369
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear perle369, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of setting chairs in the garden and improve the seating outside the bar. We´ll be happy to see you again, with best regards, More 

Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2015

We were traveling to Andalusia. To avoid the crowded route leaving Madrid on a Friday 31 July, we decided to leave Madrid the previous night around 22.00 hours. It was a good decision. The hotel staff were great and welcoming. This is a road motel nicely setup around swimming pool in the green. Rooms are big and well furnished although... More 

Helpful?
Thank PARISIANSPANISH
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

PARISIANSPANIH good morning, glad that you have been comfortable in our hotel. We are working hard on the adequacy of the furniture. Our cafeteria, as has been proven, is the most visited of the Motorway of Andalusia and because of these holiday dates, usually full. As you said, for hotel guests is advisable at the buffet breakfast, closed the rest... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2015

This was my second stay here, this time with the family. I was expecting to be in one of the rooms with the bathrooms from 1970 but was pleasantly surprised. Our room had actually been refurbished, the bathroom was much better, the aircon positively modern and the beds comfortable. I am being told this is not the case for all... More 

Helpful?
Thank Liv V
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear Liv Thank you for you comments because the help us to make our best. As you can see we are refurnishing the rooms trying to give our clients more confortable space. Times are very hard,as you know but we are trying to do our best. The next time you visit de hotel you will check that we are improving,... More 

WORCESTERSHIRE
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2015

We stopped here one night on our way down to spain.the hotel is clean and tidy,good carparking right at the side,the food was in the bar ok for snack,we had eaten on way down from bibao ferry.the barman was polite and if you order a night cap whisky etc; they are big. Downside it's close to busy highway but the... More 

Helpful?
Thank blackknight2
Dolores B, Gerente at Hotel El Hidalgo, responded to this review

Dear blackknight2, Thank you so much for your comments. We certainly appreciate your suggestions of our Hotel El Hidalgo and already trying to do our best to improve our service. We take good notice of setting chairs near the pool! We´ll be happy to see you again, with best regards, Dolores…. More 

Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This hotel is so convenient, just slipping off the main highway as you travel along the autovia andalucia. We have stopped off here several times, and always enjoyed a good night's rest. Food has always been consistently good, breakfasts and substantial and well cooked. We found the restaurant staff to be most attentive and obliging. The spacious bedrooms are situated... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Jean T
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed here twice a year for nearly 20years and that says a lot for the standard of the hotel!it is so convenient to the route to and from The South.The facilities are first class.The staff so helpful and friendly. The bedrooms are built around the swimming pool on two floors.And are very well equipped.the restaurant first class.Also a... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Carolwatts
Suisse
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked this hotel as the only one we could find on the way across the interior of Spain that took dogs. It was terrible. The grounds have not been kept up. Weeds growing all over the place. The swimming pool was not full but maybe it was the season. It looked abandoned. One building seemed abandoned. The carports were... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MusicalArt
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent value for money, great location just off the motorway but very very quiet. All rooms are bungalow style; very large, comfortable and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurant is very good, good food variety and well cooked and presented. Breakfast excellent. We would recommend this hotel for a one or two nights stopover. We will definately go... More 

Helpful?
Thank JohnGabi
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valdepenas
4.3 mi away
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
Veracruz Plaza Hotel & Spa
#2 of 4 in Valdepenas
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 4 in Valdepenas
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
11.2 mi away
Parador de Manzanares
Parador de Manzanares
#1 of 1 in Manzanares
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Salles Hotel La Caminera Golf & Spa Resort
3.9 mi away
Hospederia Museo de Valdepenas
3.9 mi away
Complejo Los Delfines
Complejo Los Delfines
#4 of 6 in Valdepenas
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay