We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort

Dauin, Dumaguete City, Negros Oriental 6217, Philippines
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    41
    13
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
7
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (65)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (15)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2015

I may say that the price was a bit high for Dauin's standard and breakfast was kind of poor. Its says breakfast included but what you really get as an inclusive was toast,coffee/tea,fruit juice (whatever is available and only one flavour) eggs (sunny side up,hard/soft boil,scrambled) omelette is consider additional with additional price charge same as bacon sausages etc. and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
silkedevos, Inhaber at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback and we will of course consider your suggestions for improvements in the future. However, please let me comment on some points: you came without reservation as walk-in guests with 12 people and we had to make everything possible to prepare your rooms within very short time although some staff had to report back for work... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015 via mobile

I needed a place to unwind... I thought based on the pictures & the location of the place, it's a perfect place for me. I wasn't wrong. This place is pure serenity. The room was perfect for my needs; the staff were wonderful; the owner is very accommodating; the dives are amazing; food is divine; the massage is purely addicting.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

I'll start by saying that the rooms were comfortable, the pool refreshing, and the staff accommodating. I especially enjoyed the food, since eating freshly prepared Filipino food in the Philippines is a different experience than eating it at family gatherings. My parents took ocean front rooms and the view were fantastic. We didn't stay for very long, but I definitely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
amontilladoresort, Owner at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review

First of all I would like to thank the reviewer for writing a generally positive review even though her stay was almost one year ago, We were especially happy about her positive remarks on the rooms, the pool, the staff, the food and our diving operation. Sadly enough the reviewer had one negative remark; we had apparently not told her... More 

Turku, Finland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

Place was beautiful. Nice garden and small pool, which water were from the hot springs. Beach wasn't "from the day dream of Asia beaches" if you think about those white sand beaches. Water wasn't so clear there and the sand is colored black, but it was still good. Staff were really helpful and friendly and we liked a lot of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Maassluis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We returned to Amontillado resort because this small resort is great. The rooms are nice, the food is super, the pool is great, snorkeling is very nice (when there are no waves), scuba diving with Ian and Peter is among the best in the Phillipines: lots of small critters, Apo Island, Whale shark diving and hot springs out of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Birkerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I think this place is one that you either really like a lot - or as in our case - would never recommend nor go back to. And I think that is very subjective and personal whether this resort is your kind of thing. In all fairness I also have to mention that we met another guest there who was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
amontilladoresort, Manager at Amontillado Beach and Dive Resort, responded to this review

First of all we wish to thank the reviewer for her many compliments about our friendly staff, the nice garden and pool, the good rooms and our excellent dive centre. Unfortunately the reviewer also had some criticism, but we are surprised that the few points that are mentioned, should lead to such a low review rate. We would like to... More 

Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

An excellent stay for the whole family . A Very Nice resort with great access to swimming pool or to the sea.we particularly enjoy the breakfasts with a nice view on the sea.The cuisine is very good and the staff is extremly smily and friendly. Thanks again Regina and Peter for that good time in your lovely resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boulogne Billancourt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We decided to spend our honey moon trip on Philippines visayas islands. Looking at this hotel good marks, we decided to spend 2 nights at first in this resort. And it lovely met our expectations. The food is nice, its clean, the bangalows are confortable and the service is excellent. Regina and Peter are very friendly and never say no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a beautiful surprise! I am a former diver and international traveller for work. I was working in Manila and unexpectedly needed to come to Dumaguete to conduct a training session at SPI for a team that works for us there. As an American that lives overseas, I do like to explore when I can and stay off the beaten... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

If you are undecided where to stay, then this is a resort for you- whether traveling as a couple, family of just traveling alone. A boutique resort conveniently located between Dumagette and Dauin. This resort offers all the amenities one would expect. The owners Peter and Silkie are friendly and will provide you with any assistance needed during your stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dauin
0.5 mi away
Mike's Dauin Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
El Dorado Beach Resort
8.9 mi away
Hotel Essencia
Hotel Essencia
#13 of 29 in Dumaguete City
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Atmosphere Resort
Atmosphere Resort
#3 of 13 in Dauin
4.5 of 5 stars 311 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantis Dive Resorts Dumaguete
5.3 mi away
Thalatta Resort
Thalatta Resort
#1 of 2 in Zamboanguita
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay