We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bunclody hotels

The Millrace Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Off the N80, Bunclody, Ireland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Millrace Hotel to your Saves list
The Millrace Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Bunclody
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed today
cheerfulmeat43 Kildare, Ireland
  • Reviews (385)
  • Photos (98)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (64)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Myself and my partner stayed in The Millrace Hotel on 21st and 22nd of August last. I have stayed in the Hotel on lots of occasions as my partner was from Bunclody orrigionally. My partner enjoyed the guinness and walnut bread at breakfast time and asked if we could buy some to take home. Dermott the Manager made it his... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dublin, Ireland
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This Hotels ticks all the right boxes. It's right in Bunclody.The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is modern, Our room was clean with excellent housekeeping quite and all the mod cons. We had our dinner in the restaurant which was great. Breakfast was fine with everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. So overall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Today as soft damp end of season rain fell we treated ourselves to afternoon tea in the Mill race hotel. Seated in wing backed Queen Anne chairs and looking out on verdant trees we were served a wonderful spread of savoury open sandwiches including chicken Caesar and ham with rocket and a selection of in house baked sweet cakes with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with a large wedding party and can't fault a thing. Despite so many people demanding different things at all sorts of times the attitude and attention of the staff was first class, nothing was too much trouble. They sure know how to host a really good wedding too. The food was superb... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
County Wexford, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed in the Millrace with my family over a month ago. The food was excellent and the staff were very nice, however the room was terrible. There was no access to drinking water, there was a very bad sewage smell from the bathroom, the camp beds were in very bad condition and the TV was antiquated, there was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Was unable to get accommodation for the Saturday night 23/08 but wasnt put off travelled over !60 miles! and booked B&/B wanted to dine in the Restaurant !!is still being advertised!! >>>and guess what restaurant closed<<<<< and despite booking with reception on the Friday was not informed it was not open. When we went to the Hotel during the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine G, Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mahon 1000 Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to hear that your dining experience with us was not to the standard we expect at the Hotel. Our Lady Lucy Rooftop Restaurant is closed at present due to refurbishments which had delayed the opening of the restaurant but this should have been clearly explained when you had... More

3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The people at reception were so lovely and welcoming! The staff were very accommodating and funny! I felt completely at ease and actually felt like I was being treated like royalty! The food was exceptional, and we were waited on hand and foot. The rooms however let the hotel down a bit, the room was spotless, but the beds were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine G, Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lorna D Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to read overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that all staff made you feel very welcome during your stay in the Hotel. We have certainly noted your points with regards to the rooms and as well as our Mill Bar going through a transformation at present... More

Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have only one comment ..... I have no idea how this hotel has a 4 star rating ....it's beyond belief the rooms are 2 star standard and the food is awful , the breakfast is all over the place with everything at different ends of the room , evening dining was not a good experience , the bar is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lorraine G, Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sean L Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at The Millrace Hotel. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would welcome the opportunity to speak to you in person. I would be grateful if you could email your contact details to me on lgalvin@millracehotel.com or contact me on 053 93... More

Naas, Ireland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great deal offered for this generic hotel. Food, rooms and bar, Pool all acceptable and average, But the the Spa deserves all the credit. I am only surprised the wall wasn't covered in awards for this excellently run and luxurious spa. Skip any pool use as its the main pool on a different floor which could well be busy with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine G, Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thatbyrneone Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted to read your very positive comments on our Danu Spa. Both Saraan and Laura were delighted with your kind words and they also both remarked on what lovely guests you all were during your time in the spa. We are especially proud of the... More

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just back from a weekend stay and its a lovely place, food was 5star and the staff excellent all in all a fab time. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it was also very good value for money also.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lorraine G, Front Office Manager at The Millrace Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 18 Alan Thank you for your lovely comments and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Millrace Hotel. We are very happy to hear your comments regarding the food as we have made some changes to our menu and it is great to see they are going down well. I look forward to welcoming you... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Millrace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Millrace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millrace Hotel

Address: Off the N80, Bunclody, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Wexford > Bunclody
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Millrace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Millrace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Millrace Wexford
Hotel Carlton Millrace

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (94)
Room/suite (32)
View from room (2)
Bathroom (12)
Hotel & grounds (28)
Dining (4)
Videos (1)
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (5)
Room/suite (2)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Other (1)


Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Millrace Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer